RSS

Art on the Fly:Photography While Driving

06 May

The list of things that you shouldn’t do while driving keeps growing with more technology advances and desire for multi-tasking. People want to feel that their every moment is being used well.

Ever since I got my new camera in January I carry it with me wherever I go. I find myself trying to looking through the view finder while driving to get a shot of something while I am driving. Definitely not a good idea. I haven’t had an accident yet but the potential for one is possible.

On our trip to Florida I got this shot while my husband was driving.

It’s amazing what you see along the road when traveling. Whoever made this chicken has a lot more imagination than me for sure.

One of my greatest temptations while driving is a shot of a sunset or sunrise. I confess I took this shot while driving in Illinois near Rockford.

One of my favorite things to photograph are bridges. They are rarely in a good place to stop especially on a freeway. I’ve seen this bridge from my car window in Tennessee and tried taking pictures while driving with limited success. Some day I will have unlimited time to wander and photograph bridges.

You can tell that this is from the inside of my car from the window tinting near the top of the photo.

I’m not sure what this is growing along the roadside in Tennessee but the beautiful yellowish-green color caught my eye.

This last photo is of an old barn near St. Joseph, Minnesota. It is only about 30 miles from home. I’ve seen it often and want to take some pictures but not from my car. The only problem is I can’t figure out what road it is on in the country to get to it. I think I will have to find someone with a GPS in the their car so I can drive to it. This shot is out of focus but I still love the old barn.

I played with the framing of the picture in Photoshop to try to make it look a little more interesting even though it is out of focus.

Have a great weekend everyone and Happy Mother’s Day.

Every woman can have a positive impact on the life of a child whether you gave birth to him or her or choose to be a part of their life in an encouraging way. Our local librarian is a fine example of nurturing children in a positive way though she has none of her own.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Art on the Fly:Photography While Driving

  1. carldagostino

    May 6, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Good thing you did not come to Miami. You would have returned without your camera. Or your wallet. Or your sanity. Or all of the above.

     
    • nrhatch

      May 6, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Dear Mr. D’Agostino ~

      Please cease and desist. We rely on tourism to keep your taxes low. Stop chasing prospective visitors away.

      Thank you.

      The Miami Chamber of Commerce

       
  2. flyinggma

    May 6, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I’ve never been to Miami before. I take it you wouldn’t recommend me visiting there. Not safe??

     
  3. carldagostino

    May 6, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I have lived here 57 of my 62 years and I am very unhappy but kind of stuck here. What you would consider that ghetto dope/drive by shooting stuff has spread everywhere. Cops are pretty trigger happy too. Dade County is probably 75% foreign born and natural Americans find it impossible to deal with negligence and no work ethic as they have all the jobs in the private and public sectors and nothing gets done or if it is it is always shoddy. Third world people = third world quality.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 9:35 am

      I’m sorry to here that things are going well where you live. I can’t imagine living in fear where I have to live. The only thing I know about Dade County is the election stuff from a few years ago and what I have seen on CSI:Miami which I haven’t watched in a very long time.

      I complain about the cold winters here but it really is a great place to live.

       
  4. 1959duke

    May 6, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Tennessee is full of bridges in which you can take great pictures.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 9:36 am

      Thanks Duke. I told my husband that I would like to vacation in the Tennessee and Kentucky areas someday soon and not just drive through there. Just beautiful!

       
  5. pearlsandprose

    May 6, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Oh, I want to photograph that amazing barn so badly! Please do it for me. 🙂

    Have a wonderful Mother’s Day, Jeanne!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 10:06 am

      I hope to find it’s location soon and take a lot of photographs. I will have plenty to share 🙂 Have a wonderful Mother’s Day!

       
  6. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    May 6, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Wonderful photos. I am amazed you have tried to use your camera while driving! Naughty, naughty! :-F Please be careful – not just for your sake, but for everyone else on the road too! Now that I have properly chastixed you I will say that I probably would try it on occasion too if I had both hands – but driving and hiolding the camera and snapping the shutter all with one hand is beyond my capabilities! 😀

    I have taken photos through the window glass when Hubs is driving. He is terrible about not stopping when I ask, saying things like, “Well, I can’t just stop in the middle of the road!” I tell him that’s what the shoulder is for; anyway, he drives along looking for what he thinks is a “safe” spot to stop, and by the time he does, the place I wanted to photograph is way too far behind me! 😦

    I got some fairly decent photos of a rainbow through the car window one day. Ashley had to keep turning on the windshield wipers to clear, momentarily at least, the windshielf so I could get a clear shot. I think you can find those photos on my photo page.

    I’ve got some more roadside photos to take soon – the wayside flowers are spectacular now. After the bulbs finished blooming, the larkspur and poppies and daisies are coming out in spectacular array!

    Isn’t photography the best?

     
    • Paula Tohline Calhoun

      May 6, 2011 at 10:09 am

      Good grief! Forgive the typos. . .

       
      • flyinggma

        May 6, 2011 at 10:28 am

        No problem, I love that you take the time to comment.

         
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 10:26 am

      I love photography and just can’t seem to get enough of it lately.

       
  7. Carol Ann Hoel

    May 6, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Great photos! The frame around the barn makes it special. I like it! The metallic chicken is something unusual! Blessings to you…

     
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      I hope to get back to get to photograph the barn soon. i love the metallic chicken. My husband pointed it out to me because I was busy reading while he was driving.

       
  8. bookreader

    May 6, 2011 at 11:50 am

    OK. Now I am crying. It has been fun to watch you raise your family. By the way, snapping turtles are again walking up the bank from the river to lay eggs in ‘our’ yard.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Wanda. Oh how I miss those days of being neighbors. I can’t believe we moved almost 18 years ago already. I miss Woody and Virginia as well and searching for Curtis and finding him watching TV and eating chips with Craig.

       
  9. nrhatch

    May 6, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Dear Jeanne:

    Please cease and desist. Although your photos are lovely, we are concerned when motorists view traffic through the lens of a camera, rather than the lens of their eyes.

    Both hands on the wheel ~ at 10 and 2, please.

    Thank you.

    The Department of Transportation
    Motor Safety Division

     
    • flyinggma

      May 6, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      I will, I promise! Today I pulled over to the roadside to take some shots of a barn and cows. 10 & 2….Love that I prefer 8 & 4. Have a great weekend.

       
  10. writerwoman61

    May 6, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    My favourites are the bridge and the barn…beautiful!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      May 7, 2011 at 2:08 am

      They are my favorites as well. I love old barns and bridges.

       
  11. Kathy

    May 8, 2011 at 7:51 am

    I like this on-the-fly photography, too! You did a good job. The photos aren’t even shaking (guess you weren’t driving on any of those bumpy northern roads with frost heaves, lol.) Thanks for visiting my blog awhile back.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 8, 2011 at 7:56 am

      Thanks for stopping by Kathy. I should cease and desist as Nancy put it in her comment but when you see something you want a photo of its hard to resist.

       

Leave a Reply

 
