RSS

Two Seasons

07 May

In Minnesota we often joke about there only being two seasons, winter and road construction. In our home we have our own version. Our seasons are winter and racing.

Last evening the racing season officially began which means winter must finally be over. Each Friday evening after work we load up the race truck and head north for about 90 miles for three hours of racing. At the Fergus Falls Racetrack they have five different divisions of racers. My husband races in the Short Trackers division which features 4 cylinder vehicles. He drives an S-10 pick up truck.

HIs truck was built and raced originally by our oldest son Curt. At one time my husband and two sons each raced a truck each weekend. The boys have moved on to other interests like home ownership and hobbies.

This is a typical scene at the racetrack each Friday evening. It is an interesting mix of food smells and race fuel.

Out behind the pit area at the track is a small lake or pond. I don’t know it’s name but have always been drawn to it because of its serene look which is such a contrast to all the noise and activity going on nearby with the racers coming and going out of the pit area.

Tonight before the races began I walked down by the lake and took out my camera. I tend to shoot in the auto mode on my camera but tonight I turned it on manual and kept playing with my settings until I got the exposure that I liked best. I took me about twelve different settings to get this shot. The colors look much richer than those I tried in auto mode.

 

I will definitely have to keep trying different shots in manual mode.

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “Two Seasons

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    May 7, 2011 at 8:00 am

    I love fiddling with the manual settings – but I’m still in the learning mode. . .which means that by the time I’ve gotten the best setting, the scene has changed – light is gone, shadows retreated. etc., etc.! Oh well – it is all in the learning, and I’m still having a ball! What kind of camera do you have? I think I read that you said you got it in January? I’d love to do some “camera speak” with you one of these days!

    BTW, in Vermont we had two seasons, too – only we called them: 9 months of winter and 3 months of hard sledding. 😀 (I still loved it, and I miss it!)

     
  2. flyinggma

    May 7, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Hi Paula! I’m definitely still in the learning mode. I bought a Nikon D3100 in January and love it. It was a toss up between that and the Canon Rebel. The main difference that I figured between the two is the Canon has the anti-vibration built into the body of the camera and the Nikon has it built into the lenses. That would make the Canon the better of the two for that reason but I went with the Nikon because of how it fit my hand . It just felt right. Whether that is a good criteria or not I don’t know but that is what I went with for my choice.

    I love to talk “camera speak” with you if you think my limited knowledge would be of some help.

    I’ve never been to Vermont but it’s on my list of places to visit.

     
  3. nrhatch

    May 7, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Enjoy the races!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 7, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      Thanks, Dean got a first in his heat and a third in the feature.

       
      • nrhatch

        May 7, 2011 at 3:39 pm

        Cool! Do the same people race each week . . . or are there lots of different faces each week?

        I expect I would enjoy being in the races better than watching them.

        I got to ride in a pace car once at Charlotte Speedway. Even with no one else on the track . . . exhilarating. 😀

         
      • flyinggma

        May 7, 2011 at 3:54 pm

        They have a lot of the same racers each week but sometimes there are new faces. About two years ago I drove Dean’s truck in a special fundraising event at the track. Unfortunately I finished dead last because I was afraid of hitting another car. Your visibility is VERY limited in a race car.

         
      • nrhatch

        May 7, 2011 at 3:58 pm

        I’d be a terrible race car DRIVER . . . my sponsor would have to be MO LASSES.

        Being a race car PASSENGER would be fun. Maybe. If it wasn’t too scary, noisy, hot, or smelly. 😉

         
  4. Carol Ann Hoel

    May 7, 2011 at 11:38 am

    The pond looks beautiful and peaceful.

    Races – Wow! Your husband picked the right business for a man that loves to race cars. I can almost feel your excitement when the season begins for you. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
  5. flyinggma

    May 7, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    The pond was peaceful the races not so much but fun

     
  6. sunshineinlondon

    May 8, 2011 at 10:46 am

    How lovely, Jeanne! I love the blog post and the photos – very special. My sister and her husband would settle into your kind of life in a heartbeat! Did you ever read this (silly) post I wrote, but it included something about racing? http://wp.me/p11yuf-8h (Forwards, sideways and blogwards).
    Hugs from London
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      May 8, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      I never read that post but will have to check it out. Good to see a comment from you. I thought you might have got caught up in all the royal celebration and forgot to blog.

       
  7. Mark Petruska

    May 8, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Great shot! Racing fuel and food…mmm…what a combination.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 8, 2011 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Mark. We love it at the race track but avoid purchasing the mini donuts and corn dogs because we figure once we start it will be impossible to stop. My husband figures he wouldn’t be fitting in his firesuit at the end of the racing season before long.

       

Leave a Reply

 
