RSS

In A Fog

17 Feb

This morning my mind is literally and figuratively in a fog. 

I stepped outside this morning in my plaid flannel nightshirt and black snow boots to capture this photo. We are socked in with heavy fog this morning. In the background of this picture is a snow-covered lake that you can usually make out the shorelines even with snow on the lake but not so this morning.

As I was walking down to the lake to take a few pictures I heard sounds of birds singing which amazed me because before I went outside I had watched my bird feeder this morning for birds to come and none had before I went out and none since I came back in. The other prevalent sound was the dripping of water. I could hear it falling from the trees and roof of our home.  As I walked through the snow it had a crunching sound and not the almost silent sound of walking through fresh snow.

The figuratively nature of my mind’s fog this morning is in preparing for an upcoming trip. I don’t know if you are like me when you plan for a trip, you start adding things to your to-do list that have needed to be done for years and somehow you think you will finally do them just because you plan to leaving town. My husband looked at me like I was crazy when I said that we needed to load up and deliver the crib that we had borrowed from his brother and wife almost a year and a half ago. It has only been sitting against the wall in our bedroom for the past month. 

Do I have a fear that I will not return from this trip so everything I have ever borrowed must be returned to its proper owner?  Certainly not, but why not use the reason for leaving town to get some of those things accomplished. I’ve concluded that if I only had less stuff it would be easier to leave more often.  Too much of my day is caring for all the things we have accumulated. I have downsized a lot in the past year but there is so much more that can go but I want to do it in a responsible way.

I don’t want to fill the landfill with useful items so I need to find places to donate. I need to assess just how many pots and pans I really need.  Afterall I only have four burners on the top of my stove and my oven can only hold so many baking dishes at one time. Clothes are a problem around my home. I am not a clothes hound by any means but because of the different seasons we need to have a variety of clothes for the different seasons and all the winter clothes take up more space.  I was thinking that if we didn’t live where there was a winter how much less storage I would need.

Time to emerge from the fog and head to work in the fog with renewed energy to carry out great things today or at least a few important things on my list knowing that some time off awaits me soon. 🙂

 
18 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in Life Happens, Nature, Photography, Vacations

 

Tags: , , , , ,

18 responses to “In A Fog

  1. 36x37

    February 17, 2011 at 10:33 am

    The water droplets on your evergreen are stunning!

    I hope you have a lovely trip, Jeanne, with no literal or figurative fog to speak of. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 10:37 am

      Thanks Maura! I am so looking forward to a few days away and meeting some fellow bloggers in person. How fun!

       
  2. planejaner

    February 17, 2011 at 10:35 am

    oh, the fog will clear–inside and outside…
    I know that craziness of which you speak regarding the preparations for a trip. Usually by the time we end up actually leaving…I am exhausted–so much to plan and do and accomplish before locking the door and pulling away.
    beautiful photo, too–
    I will hold you up today…pray that the fog clears.
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 10:38 am

      Thanks Jane for the prayers…I had fun taking some time for the things I love this morning even though there are so many other things that are calling for my attention.

       
  3. Cheryl Andrews

    February 17, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Great POV on this impressive image. But I can’t shake the mental image flannel nightgown, winter boots, wandering across crunchy snow, with camera in hand (giggle)! Good luck with the pre-trip to do list!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 11:07 am

      Thanks Cheryl…I probably could have left out those details but I thought it might enhance the idea that my mind is not exactly where it should be this morning…heading out in my pjs. It was actually pretty decent weather with no jacket. I underestimated the depth of the snow and ended up with some inside the boots.

       
  4. nrhatch

    February 17, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Clearing clutter -> CLARITY!

    Wonderful post, Jeanne.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 11:40 am

      I couldn’t agree more about clarity and getting out of the fog!

       
  5. Todd Pack

    February 17, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Clutter or not, a cold, foggy morning sounds like a good excuse for going back to bed. Have a safe trip.

     
  6. flyinggma

    February 17, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Hope you are feeling better Todd! We will probably pass through your way back to Minnesota. A trip back to bed sounds good on a day like today with a good book to read.

     
  7. Carol Ann Hoel

    February 17, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    I think I understand your having a feeling that everything must be just right before leaving home for an extended time. We don’t want to leave unfinished business. It really doesn’t make much sense, does it?

    I will not leave home if I haven’t washed the dishes and made the bed. I don’t care how early the appointment is that we must meet, I will get up early enough to do these things. I’m not sure why. There have been a few times my hubby urged me to forget making the bed and get going. No, I just cannot. It hurts me. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      I know what you mean about leaving the bed unmade or dishes undone. In my case it really doesn’t matter because while we are gone my oldest son, youngest daughter and grandson will still be home to take of the things that need to be done even if we aren’t not to mention mess things up that I may have had clean before I left.

       
  8. sunshineinlondon

    February 18, 2011 at 7:03 am

    Beautiful photo, Jeanne. Thanks for going out in your pyjamas to take it! I know those days of literal and figurative fog.
    Have a wonderful trip, enjoy your break and time away with your husband – I look forward to hearing all about your adventures.
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      February 18, 2011 at 7:35 am

      Thanks Sunshine! I’m looking forward to a little time away and seeing new sights. I’ve got some new people to meet along the way and excited to give my camera a workout.

       
  9. Thomas Stazyk

    February 18, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Nice story and a great reminder to slow down, take time to enjoy sights and sounds and to lead a sane life!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 18, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      I couldn’t agree with you more. My poor husband needs a break worst than I do so I am happy for him that we are getting away for a few days.

       
  10. writerwoman61

    February 19, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Glad you guys are going to have some time away, Jeanne. I do the same thing: say I have to do this and this and this before we leave…for a procrastinator like me, it’s good to have a deadline!

    Have a great time!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      February 19, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Thanks Wendy! Looking forward to meeting a few blogging buddies in person.

       

Leave a Reply

 
