RSS

A Few of My Favorite Things: Sunshine on Dry Pavement and Gurgling Water in My Gutter

16 Feb

Sunshine on dry pavement and gurgling in my gutters

Warm spring breezes and possible rain showers

Green grass peeking out atop of my septic

These are a few of my favorite things

Mud puddles forming and snow disappearing

Motorcycles rolling and snowmobiles not moving

Dairy Queen is Open for the new Summer Season

These are a few of my favorite things

Sunroof is open and heaters not heating

People out walking and finally meeting

Children out running and dogs barking after them

These are a few of my favorite things…

When the snow flies

When the temps drop

When I feel depressed

I simply remember my favorite things

And then I don’t feel so bad!

THE REASON FOR MY SINGING……

Current Conditions

Weather Station
Elevation
1122 ft
Now 2pm 2-16-2011
Clear
46 °F
Feels Like 42 °F
Clear
Sunrise / Sunset
7:18 AM
5:44 PM
Today is forecast to be Much Warmer than yesterday.  Happy Wednesday!
 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in Nature, Reflections

 

Tags: ,

16 responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things: Sunshine on Dry Pavement and Gurgling Water in My Gutter

  1. planejaner

    February 16, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    46! Well, you’re almost at summer!
    fun post…it was like getting up…and going for a skip down a sunny lane.
    🙂
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      February 16, 2011 at 3:40 pm

      Thanks Jane…I feel like skipping in weather like this and it brings out the little kid in me!

       
  2. 36x37

    February 16, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    After the winter you’ve had, I’m sure 46 feels downright balmy. It’s 56 here; I hardly know how to contain my delight!

    Enjoy the weather!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks Maura! I bet your boys are enjoying a few less layers. I love it when we get a taste of spring. I know we will have colder weather yet but a break in the cold does such wonders with my attitude.

       
  3. writerwoman61

    February 16, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Send some of that warmth our way! It’s crazy cold here! BRRR!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      February 16, 2011 at 6:59 pm

      I’ll do what I can but will be back in the crazy cold by the weekend.
      Jeanne 🙂

       
  4. Carol Ann Hoel

    February 16, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    It won’t be long now! I can hardly wait. It was 65 here today. My hubby and I went out for a drive and enjoyed the sunshine and warm breezes.

    I like your poem. I found myself singing the words. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      February 16, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      I’m so happy that you got out for a drive today. I imagine that some days can get pretty long. I love going for rides with my husband. I had to look up the words for the song today to refresh my memory but I ended up humming the tune this afternoon while at work. Blessings, Carol..

       
  5. nrhatch

    February 17, 2011 at 12:01 am

    I sang along with you . . . Happy Wednesday!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 8:05 am

      It’s nice to know there was a choir out there yesterday of happy people!

       
  6. sunshineinlondon

    February 17, 2011 at 7:33 am

    Lovely lovely, Jeanne! I can feel your excitement and renewed energy although I don’t understand what 46 deg is.
    I have sniffed spring in the air in London and have seen glimpses of colour as crocuses poke their heads out of the ground – it’s remarkably exciting! I have always loved spring, but I have only understood the huge contrast from winter now that I’m living in a cold climate.
    Sunshine xx

     
    • writerwoman61

      February 17, 2011 at 7:56 am

      46 is about 8 degrees C., Sunshine…

       
      • flyinggma

        February 17, 2011 at 8:35 am

        Thanks for doing the math for me so I didn’t have to look it up!

         
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 8:34 am

      You will just love seeing the world come alive after winter. The crocuses are only the beginning.

      There is a hill in the distance near my home that I see everyday as I come home from work. I love watching the changes in color of that hill in the spring as the snow disappears and the trees start to bud out and add a bit more green to the landscape each day.

      It is equally exciting to watch the trees change colors in the fall but then I know that winter will follow.

      Love your Happy Feet post today…so fun!

       
  7. Todd Pack

    February 17, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    You had me at Dairy Queen.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 17, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      I didn’t realize that Dairy Queen was open until a co-worker informed me this week. I am known to occasionally bring back DQ treats to work after I transfer titles. I think that was a major hint for treats.

       

Leave a Reply

 
