RSS

Wildflower Wednesday Revisited

01 Jun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Memorial Day when my husband and I were out for a motorcycle ride I spotted some wildflowers on the roadside of a nearby country road. Since taking pictures from the back seat of a motorcycle rarely goes that well I decided to take my camera and drive to the country road last evening after work to find the wildflowers I had spotted.

I was pleased to find the Wild Geranium and the Columbine that I was looking for along the roadside. After I parked my car to take pictures I wandered along the road and found some Pussy Toes and Wild Strawberry plants. The Pussy Toes that I found in my yard earlier this spring were not as large or the pastel pink color of the flowers I found today.

There was a nearby gravel road that meandered off the road I had parked on and I decided to walk up the road a bit to see if I could find anything new. I was excited to find a Nodding Trillium along the side of the road. I almost missed it because the flower for the Nodding Trillium is under a triple set of leaves. I recognized the leaves but thought I might find a Jack-in-the-pulpit under the leaves but when I moved them I discovered the Nodding Trillium.

I have looked for wildflowers for the past four or more years in our area ever since I took a class at the local arboretum. This is the first year since my class that I have found the Nodding Trillium. It makes me want to look under every leaf to see what hidden treasure might be there.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Wildflower Wednesday Revisited

  1. nrhatch

    June 1, 2011 at 9:36 am

    I’m glad that you discovered a Nodding Trilium . . . instead of something sinister (like a snake!). 😀

     
  2. flyinggma

    June 1, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I didn’t find any snakes but I did find a green eyed spider in my garden at home that I took a picture of but haven’t posted yet.

     
  3. pattisj

    June 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Thanks for sharing the pictures. Wow! That one certainly resembled a cat’s paw. You have such unique flowers.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 1, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      It’s been a lot of fun searching for something new each time I go out looking. Pussy Toes is certainly a unique wildflower.

       
  4. CMSmith

    June 1, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Amazing. I pay good money to plant those flowers in my garden. . .

     
    • flyinggma

      June 1, 2011 at 5:24 pm

      I pay for some plants others may find in their area naturally too. I wish more tropical flowers would grow in Minnesota.

       
  5. pearlsandprose

    June 1, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Beautiful shots, Jeanne! My favorite is the bleeding heart.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 1, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      I love the bleeding heart too but I think I took a lot more pictures of the Columbine because I find their shape interesting like the Bleeding Hearts.

       
  6. Carol Ann Hoel

    June 1, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    I like the fuzzy looking lilac colored ones. Are those the pussy toes? Thank you for sharing. Beautiful photos of wild flowers. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      June 1, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      They are Pussy Toes Carol. In my yard they grow more in a silvery white color and much smaller. It was fun to find such large ones and in the color I found.

       
  7. Booksphotographsandartwork

    June 1, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I especially like the pink ones. Beautiful.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 1, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      After the long winter here in Minnesota I was thinking anything a color other than white snow is great. I love the pink flowers especially the Columbine. I just bought some large purple and white Columbine for my garden.

       
  8. planejaner

    June 2, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Watching your beautiful slide shows is always a wonderful part of any day.
    I love what you capture…
    I praise God that he surrounds us with so much visible evidence of Him.

    🙂
    keep them coming!
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      June 2, 2011 at 11:56 am

      Thanks Jane. My attitude is colored for the better when I stop to appreciate my surroundings and am grateful.

       
  9. writerwoman61

    June 4, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Love it, Jeanne…thanks for sharing!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      June 4, 2011 at 11:47 pm

      Glad you liked the wildflowers this week. It’s gotten to be like a treasure hunt for me each week to see what I can find. I found a couple more new ones this weekend that I can’t wait to post.

       

Leave a Reply

 
