RSS

Shooting at the Whole Flock

07 Dec

 

Credit photo blamcast.net

Shooting at the whole flock is a favorite expression of my husband.  It is not because he is an avid hunter.  He uses it to describe his feeling of being overwhelmed with too many projects on his list.  Today I can sympathize with shooting at the whole flock.

I have a day at home with my grandson.  I’m trying not to squander it with a little more than two weeks until Christmas.  There is decorating to do but before that is done I really should clean.  There is the never-ending pile of laundry to deal with and bathrooms that need cleaning.

There is that box of papers piled high on my dresser that I cleared off the counter in the kitchen the day before Thanksgiving that I need to sort through to make sure there are no bills in there that need to be paid.

And what am I doing instead of any of the above.  I’m typing a blog post.  Just where are my priorities.  Okay in my defense at this time I have a load in the washing machine, one in the dryer, the dishwasher ‘ ready for the next load and I put away yesterdays laundry and most importantly I played ball with Jack and did a puzzle or two with him.

My constant battle is to keep Jack away from my sewing machines.  It seems they are a constant fascination beyond any of the toys in the livingroom.  Believe me he is not lacking for toys since he is the first nephew, our first grandchild, and the first great-grandchild on both sides of the family. 

I thought naïvely that this year if I would just bake one type of cookies for Christmas each day for a couple of weeks I would have no problem getting them done.  At this point in time there are none baked.  Maybe this afternoon I could one batch done while Jack is sleeping but wait that is when I planned on cleaning the bathrooms.

As my daughter left for college this morning she hinted that it sure would be great to have lasagna for supper.  If that is to happen it means a trip to the grocery store and time to prepare.  Maybe I could do that before Jack naps or scrap the entire idea of lasagna and opt for something I have all the ingredients in the house for like a big pot of chili.  Sounds like a plan.  Lasagna tomorrow instead.

My dryer just dinged…Another load to  fold.  Another load to start.  Time to go shoot at the whole flock.

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Shooting at the Whole Flock

  1. Joe Clark

    December 7, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Great post! I thought I was the only one working port and starboard…

     
    • flyinggma

      December 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      Add a little first mate to the mix that undoes everything and more that you had done and you have my day.

       
  2. writerwoman61

    December 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    I have those days too, Jeanne…if it makes you feel any better, I have not one Christmas cookie baked yet, and the laundry I did on Sunday is still piled on a chair in the family room waiting to be folded!

    Enjoy Jack while he’s little…

    Wendy

     
  3. flyinggma

    December 7, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Remember the laundry I mentioned being folded? I didn’t get all of carried upstairs and by the time I got back to it Jack had climbed up on the couch and thrown it to the floor. Refold, regroup, restart…..

    I am enjoying Jack a great deal but I know why most 50 year olds aren’t parents of 16 month olds, we just get too tired of trying to keep up.

     
  4. sunshineinlondon

    December 7, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Thank the Lord you are skilled at multi-tasking … sounds like you’re doing pretty well at shooting at the whole flock. I like that expression.
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      December 7, 2010 at 2:58 pm

      I hear that phrase almost daily from him at work. His other expression that he uses often is “It’s like trying to jump on a train that’s already moving.” He uses that when he feels like he can’t catch up. Things keep getting added to his to do list when the previous list is not done yet. Blessing, Jeanne

       
  5. 36x37

    December 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    “I thought naïvely that this year if I would just bake one type of cookies for Christmas each day for a couple of weeks I would have no problem getting them done.” – Just how many types of cookies are you planning to bake? 🙂

    Your Jack is adorable. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      December 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      I usually try to bake between 7-8 different kinds and some quick breads. I try to make up some trays to give to a couple of our retired mechanics and some other local people. You hate to give up a tradition but the number of hours available seem to be shrinking. We think Jack is adorable but then again we are a little prejudice. Blessings, Jeanne

       
  6. planejaner

    December 7, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Jeanne–
    I can so relate…days upon weeks upon months like that…
    your little man is beautiful…
    my mom’s advice? “Don’t SHOULD on yourself. Do what feels good to you.”
    Maybe your daughter can make the lasagne. 🙂
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      December 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm

      Thanks Jane! I took the easy way. I made the chili instead of lasagna. It will be just fine for dinner.

       

Leave a Reply

 
