RSS

Selah, A Time to Breathe

27 Sep

In the Psalms of the Old Testament you will find the word Selah within the individual Psalms.  I had to do some checking into what that really means.  There are different interpretations depending on where you read for a definition.

One definition of Selah that I found was this, “The Selah is there to signal the believer to ‘measure’ carefully the meaning of what has been said. i.e., here is some deeper wisdom, reflect on it and understand its true meaning.”

Another definition of Selah is to pause…consider…take time.  This is the one that I think of when I look at this picture of Bond Falls that I took last fall.

 

Life has been busy this past year.  This weekend I’m looking forward to a time to pause.  Selah!  A change in scenery, location and schedule.  Nothing as grand as a vacation but a time to enjoy my surroundings and people in my life outside of work and home.  The weather is supposed to be great so I am looking forward to taking some pictures along the way and some time to rest, read and revive to finish the year well.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in Inspiration, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Selah, A Time to Breathe

  1. liv3free

    September 28, 2012 at 12:08 am

    I love this!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 28, 2012 at 12:12 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting and also for thinking it worthy to reblog. Looking forward to checking out your blog. Jeanne

       
      • nrhatch

        September 28, 2012 at 9:51 am

        Enjoy your breather!

         
      • flyinggma

        September 28, 2012 at 11:50 am

        Thanks Nancy. Looking forward to it. Now just trying to decide whether or not to ride the motorcycle to Alexandria for the weekend. The weather is supposed to be fabulous. No matter what I drive the time away will be worth it.

         
  2. liv3free

    September 28, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Reblogged this on Liv3Free and commented:
    Its better to listen, than to speak. Selah

     
  3. liv3free

    September 28, 2012 at 12:26 am

    You’re welcome. Likewise 🙂

     
  4. dhphotosite

    September 28, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Lovely…I can feel, smell, and hear the freshness of the falls. Have a super weekend!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 30, 2012 at 5:21 pm

      Thanks! Bond Falls is a wonderful place to spend in the fall.

       
  5. Patti

    September 28, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Love the textures that are visible in the falls. I know a little girl named Selah!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 30, 2012 at 5:19 pm

      What a precious name for a little girl. I loved my time at Bond Falls last year. This weekend I spent the time next to a beautiful lake in northern MN with the most incredible fall colors.

       
  6. pattisj

    September 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    Lovely falls. I like the darkness of the rocks. Enjoy your time. Selah.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm

      Thank you Patti. Everyone should take some time away even if they don’t feel like they have the time to do it. It was a wonderful refreshing weekend.

       
  7. barb19

    September 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    I love the meaning of this word, and your photo says it all – Selah to you, my friend!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 30, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      Thanks Barb. It was a wonderful time away this weekend and the fall weather was outstanding. I’m ready to attack my to do list again. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
