RSS

I May Be Coming Around to His Way of Thinking…

02 Jan

After spending most of my treasured day off from work peeling, scraping and scrubbing a border off my kitchen walls to make way for new paint and wallpaper I was reminded of a remark my husband has made often that goes something like “If it weren’t for women, men would be still be hunting for their dinner, cooking it over an open fire and living in a cave.”

I put the border in my kitchen nearly twenty years ago and it definitely needs some updating but after I complete the projects I always start looking at what needs it next. We extensively remodeled and added to our home when we purchased it in 1992. The time has come when many things need updating and I’m thinking a smaller home with less to do sounds pretty good.

Most days of the week we don’t use a third of our home. It has been a great home for raising our four kids but now that they are all moved out the upstairs three bedrooms and 2 bathrooms go unused. A couple of years ago we finished off a family room in the basement which doesn’t get used either. We planned well, looking forward to our empty nest years, by placing everything we would need on the first floor but having all the extra space to heat, cool and clean leaves me thinking a lot about how it could be better used.

That one room cave is sounding pretty cozy with an open campfire and no walls to scrub.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2012 in Home Improvement Projects

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “I May Be Coming Around to His Way of Thinking…

  1. planejaner

    January 2, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    So…move. 🙂 Maybe you can downsize and find a smaller place?
    We will be doing that…soonish.

    Blessings on your New Year…
    Jane

     
  2. Thomas Stazyk

    January 2, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    You make a good point–it’s not just all the stuff you have to do and the unused space but you could also free up a lot of time for enjoyment rather than keeping up with all the chores! Good luck with your decision.

     
  3. barb19

    January 3, 2012 at 2:36 am

    Sounds like you are ready for a smaller, cozier place with less upkeep!

     
  4. Carl D'Agostino

    January 3, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Yes I am reducing portfolio and downsizing too. But with your big house you may care to keep one thing in mind. I trust your children are doing well economically but with job losses and no new job opportunity still increasing here and there , millions of empty nesters are providing the home for unfortunate family members. Millions of families have had to double up to make ends meet.

     
  5. harrisonjones

    January 3, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Diane and I are in the same situation, Jeanne, but our grandkids have started a new movement called “Occupy Paw Paw’s house.” We love it when they set up camp upstairs. They arrive with musical instruments and laptops and I have purchased a striped shirt that I wear to serve as referee when the fights break out. Priceless!

     
  6. dhphotosite

    January 3, 2012 at 10:57 am

    We have thought about changing homes also but we will have to wait till the market gets better. Homes take forever to sell where we live.

     
  7. nrhatch

    January 3, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Sometimes LESS is MORE. 😀

     
  8. Booksphotographsandartwork

    January 3, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    I have thought the same thing a lot lately in these last few years. I did not inherit my grandmother’s love of cleaning. She really did enjoy it! Our house is only a thousand square feet so I sure don’t where we could cut back but this seems like more than I want to clean on most days.

     
  9. pattisj

    January 3, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    After removing wallpaper, I had second thoughts about ever putting it up again! I’d just like to get everything done, once; but there always seems to be something needing attention aside from the current “project.”

     
  10. pearlsandprose

    January 5, 2012 at 8:24 am

    I’m a big fan of downsizing, Jeanne. We are getting rid of everything we don’t absolutely love or need so we can move into a smaller place. Now that the last child is graduating from high school, there’s no need for the big house.
    Good luck with the painting and wallpapering.

     
  11. CMSmith

    January 6, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    That sounds like a lot of work. I stopped doing wallpaper a few years back because of the work.

    When we moved here two years ago, we went to a bigger house in size, but better in room arrangements with more open living space on the first floor and everything else the two of us need so that stairs aren’t a necessity anymore. We wanted enough room for when our out of town kids come home. And it’s quite a nice space when they’re all here like they were last week. But when they’re gone, it’s a lot of space for just the two of us.

    I hope your project goes smoothly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
