RSS

Mission Accomplished

01 Jan

It’s been a while since I’ve kept these old bones up until midnight on New Year’s Eve. The last couple of years I’ve headed to be early relishing the extra sleep instead of welcoming the New Year.

Tonight I stayed up and watched the ball drop with Dick Clark announcing the last few seconds countdown. It seemed rather anti-climatic after staying up late sacrificing sleep.

The wind is howling around our home this evening which sounds and feels violent. We are under a Wind Advisory until tomorrow evening. Perhaps some foresight into the New Year???

I’m looking forward to another year to to try new things, get better at old things and mostly try to live life a little better than I have in the past year.

Blessings to All in 2012!

 
28 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2012 in Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

28 responses to “Mission Accomplished

  1. planejaner

    January 1, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Hunker down under your comforters!

    Blessings to you in the new year.

    Jane

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 1:36 am

      Heading there now. I haven’t heard the winds howl the way are this evening in a very long time. I wish we still had a wood stove like our old home. A nice warm fire would feels great and a cup of cocoa too.

      Blessings to you in the New Year too 🙂

       
  2. Thomas Stazyk

    January 1, 2012 at 2:44 am

    All the best for a wonderful 2012!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Same to you Thomas. Hope all is going well at Cue Haven. Love reading about the progress and viewing the photos.

       
  3. barb19

    January 1, 2012 at 5:13 am

    Stay safe into the New Year!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Thanks Barb. Hope to enjoy some of the “Nice” Minnesota winter weather but it won’t happen today. Brutal cold winds blowing. Still howling since last evening. Blessings to you in the New Year.

       
  4. Carl D'Agostino

    January 1, 2012 at 5:27 am

    Happy New Year. My friends Orville and Wilbur also send their regards.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      I wish that I were enjoying more of Orville and Wilbur’s invention these days. More work than play. Oh well must work to afford playing…..

       
  5. Meanderer

    January 1, 2012 at 6:01 am

    Wishing you a Wonderful 2012 Jeanne. All the very best to you and your family.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      All the very best to you in 2012 as well. Looking forward to many more of your fabulous photos and a glimpse at another part of the world.

       
  6. Steve Pierce

    January 1, 2012 at 6:05 am

    Happy New Year!

    I discovered your blog a few months ago, when I was reparing for my private pilot checkride. I Googled “Private Pilot Checkride prep” and it took me to the story of your own checkride. I liked what I read and read some more.

    I passed the test, and at age 53 I have fulfilled my childhood dream of being a pilot.

    Here’s wishing you and your family a wonderful 2012 with lots of tailwinds, blue skies and sunny days!

     
    • Linda Anderson

      January 1, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      Good for Steve – as Jeanne and I know, that checkride is one of those milestones you never forget!

       
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Congrats Steve! I and every other pilot knows the dedication and work it takes to accomplish learning how to fly. Wishing you and yours a wonderful 2012 as well. Hope you get plenty of flying time this year. I can’t believe it is almost time for my biennial already. It doesn’t seem possible that it is almost 2 years since I got my certificate. Time to hit the books again and schedule a few lessons for review.

       
  7. sunshineinlondon

    January 1, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Well done for seeing in the New Year! Every good blessing to you and your family for 2012, and I know you will achieve what you set out to in the new year – you always do. Much love, and keep safe and warm in that howling wind xx

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:43 pm

      It was quite an accomplishment this year to stay up since I have been up too many late nights this week. Blessings to you and your family this New Year. The winds are still howling. Time to settle in with a blanket, good book and a hot cup of coffee for the afternoon.

       
  8. CMSmith

    January 1, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Good for you! I made it to midnight too, and considering that many times I don’t see 10 pm, I think that was pretty good.

    I, too, and going to “mostly try to live life a little better than I have in the past year.” What a great plan.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      Trying to live life a little better than before is something that seems obtainable in the New Year.

       
  9. Linda Anderson

    January 1, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, Jeanne and Dean! Hope this new year is one full of all God’s blessings!
    It’s been super windy here too – crazy, wild wind. Glad we’re on the ground!

    A new year is a blank page – ready to be written or drawn on and enjoyed! What pictures will we take, what drawings will appear on the canvas of our lives? Only the Lord knows and only our participation in life will bring about the differences that need to be made!

    God bless this new year!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 7:09 pm

      Happy New Year to you and Glen as well. It is a good thing we can leave last year in the past and at least attempt some new beginnings even if we don’t succeed. Blessings to you in the New Year.

       
  10. pattisj

    January 1, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Happy New Year! I made it to midnight, then remembered there was a load of towels in the washer that needed to be dried!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      You weren’t the only one with towels in the dryer. At least I can let them dry without worrying about having something more to iron. Blessings to you in the New Year.

       
  11. dhphotosite

    January 1, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Happy New Year Jeanne to you and your family!!!

     
  12. flyinggma

    January 1, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Happy New Year to you and your family in 2012. I am looking forward to many more photography posts in 2012. I always learn something new on your blog.

     
  13. nrhatch

    January 1, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    We made it to midnight too! And rang in the New Year with fireworks at the beach. Here’s to enjoying a magical, mystical, miraculous year . . . as the path unfolds before us! 😀

     
    • flyinggma

      January 1, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      Fireworks would have been great to see. The winds howled all evening long and well into tonight. I am so looking forward to what will come our way in the New Year. i sure miss having time to spend with all my blogging buddies.

       
  14. Booksphotographsandartwork

    January 1, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    I think I was just falling asleep as the new year came in. I hope we all can do better this year than last. I know I need too. Best wishes to you and your family!

     
  15. JoDee Luna

    January 1, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    It was so nice to receive the notification for this post. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I like your New Year resolution and will try to apply it to my life as well.

     
  16. writerwoman61

    January 2, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Happy New Year to you too, Jeanne!

    Hugs,
    Wendy

     

Leave a Reply

 
