RSS

Ballet Shoes

28 Nov

As a child I remember wanting to take dance lessons. My best friend had dance lessons every Saturday morning. Some Saturdays I would go with and watch while she and the other girls danced. I attended their recitals and watched as the danced in their pretty costumes to the music.

My parents bought a piano and I learned how to play it, not well but I can pick up a not too complicated piece of music and it will sound recognizable to the untrained ear. I find playing the piano relaxing at times when I need a break from bookkeeping or other mundane tasks. I think that my parents made the wiser choice given the fact that I have an overall dislike of physical exercise. Playing the piano is more of a life skill for me. One that I can put down and pick up over time.

This morning I took my camera down to the lake to capture a pink sunrise. The sky had a pink glow to it and I thought it might lend itself well to some interesting pictures.

Saturday evening the winds blew so strong out of the north that the windows were making noises and we could hear the tree branches all night long. When we woke up Sunday morning the ice that had starting forming around the edges of the lake were gone because of the strong winds.

This morning I found branches along the shore of the lake with icicles hanging from them but my favorite find was the above picture that looks like ballet shoes. I love how the icicles formed evenly to look like a pair of shoes hanging from ribbons.

Sometimes when you are searching for one thing, like a beautiful sunrise, you find something better.

It pays to look a little closer.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Nature, Photography, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Ballet Shoes

  1. nrhatch

    November 28, 2011 at 10:47 am

    They look just like ballet shoes. Very cool. 😎

     
    • flyinggma

      November 28, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      It was a fun find this morning.

       
  2. pearlsandprose

    November 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I can’t believe how much they look like ballet shoes! Great shot, Jeanne.

    I too wanted to take ballet, but was told I was “too tall.” Wish I had persevered. Playing the piano is a good substitute, though, especially when the knees start to go. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      November 29, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      It was fun to find the “ballet shoes”. I went back at lunchtime to see if I could capture them in a different light but one icicle had dropped and it no longer looked like a pair of shoes.

       
  3. Meanderer

    November 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    How beautiful. What a wonderful find!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 29, 2011 at 4:16 pm

      Thanks Meanderer. Today I went for a walk with my grandson and all evidence of the “ballet shoes” were gone. It had warmed up enough to melt most of the icicles that I saw yesterday.

       
  4. pattisj

    November 29, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Good find!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 29, 2011 at 4:17 pm

      Thanks Patti. I love finding the unexpected:)

       
  5. dhphotosite

    November 29, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Indeed you did find natures ballet shoes! It is wonderful to come across the unexpected!

     
  6. flyinggma

    November 29, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I love when I can find something in nature that looks like a real life object. The “shoes” were a fun find.

     
  7. CMSmith

    November 30, 2011 at 10:22 am

    I always wanted to take ballet lessons too, but it wasn’t in the cards. My mom did teach me the fundamentals of the piano and as an adult I took lessons for a couple of years. I haven’t played it in a while, and I suspect our skill levels would be quite similar based on your description. But I too enjoy it for the relaxation.

     
    • flyinggma

      December 6, 2011 at 11:06 pm

      I haven’t taken out my Christmas music yet but I think it’s about time as fast as this month is going. Maybe it will help alleviate some of the stress.

       
  8. Linda

    December 5, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Oh that is adorable. What an amazing little find. I always wanted to take ballet also. So when I was seventeen I did. Gee only to find out that my hips were not quite aligned properly therefore I could not do the stretches and most of the poses and looked like storky dorky idiot!

     
    • flyinggma

      December 6, 2011 at 11:07 pm

      I tried ballroom dance in college but found that I’m just not cut our for dancing like I thought I would be. I was always too much of a tomboy to look dainty in a ballet outfit.

       
  9. writerwoman61

    December 6, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Gorgeous, Jeanne…love this shot! I started playing the piano by ear when I was three, and took lessons for about three years when I was young. I haven’t played for many years now…wish I still could!

    Hugs,
    Wendy

     
  10. flyinggma

    December 6, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    So nice to see you are back in circulation. I didn’t play piano much after about 7th grade and then picked it back up about ten years ago. I bought an old used upright piano during one winter that was getting to be way too long and it helped pass the long dark winter evenings.

     

Leave a Reply

 
