RSS

Garden Party Hat on Black Friday

25 Nov

This morning before work I took a walk through my garden not expecting to find any color but surprised to find some blue. Even in the summer when I have a lot of flowers blooming I rarely have blue in the garden.

This photo is what is left of my Echinacea plants. The seeds have blown off the plant leaving only the stem and a few seeds. I love the beautiful blue color around the edges and the few seeds on top giving the look of a birthday party hat.

I love the texture where the seeds attached to the plant. It looks like a basket weave to me.

This morning I went out to take some pictures of an eagle perched in a tree down on our shore.Before I got to the lake the crows chased the eagle out of the tree. The eagle headed east back to the nest area from earlier this summer. It was fun to see the eagle still around the lake.

It was overcast but springlike weather this morning. I was hoping to maybe get a little flying time but the weather didn’t clear enough for safe VFR flying. I wasn’t tired this morning like so many others because I didn’t partake in the Black Friday madness. We came home yesterday after spending time with family on both sides of the family. Three out of four of our kids came back home last evening and spent the evening just visiting.

Much better than shopping any day of the week in my book.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2011 in gardening, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

19 responses to “Garden Party Hat on Black Friday

  1. nrhatch

    November 25, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Very pretty shot. Glad you had a chance to visit with your kids yesterday. We did NOT go shopping today . . . I did go to water aerobics. A bit chilly, but worth it.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 26, 2011 at 9:22 am

      I am definitely not a shopper and you won’t find me out in the chaos. Exercise would be an excellent Idea for me these days.

       
  2. barb19

    November 26, 2011 at 12:26 am

    You’re right, it just looks like a party hat Nancy! The Echinacea flower head is stunning in it’s simple beauty, it’s a great shot
    Shame you didn’t get any pics of the eagle before the crows chased him away – but at least you know he is still around and well.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 26, 2011 at 9:24 am

      I will be watching for the eagle to try and get another shot this winter.

       
  3. CMSmith

    November 26, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I think it’s very cool that you live where you can see eagles.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 26, 2011 at 11:28 pm

      It is a treat to see eagles both young and old. Tonight I almost hit a raccoon with my car. Plenty of wildlife where we live. Last week I had a deer, possum and gray fox cross in front of my car on the way home from work. It’s only a 3 1/2 mile trip home.

       
  4. dhphotosite

    November 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Being outside and with family far out weighs the chaos of shopping!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 26, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      I totally agree. I’d rather be outside most days and the more family and friends around all the better.

       
  5. pattisj

    November 26, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Looks like your garden is still celebrating! Glad you captured it. No shopping for me, either. Just not worth it. I like going during the day, on weekdays while everyone else is at work.

     
  6. flyinggma

    November 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    I keep walking through my garden wishing we were at the beginning of the summer and then I find something new to look at that makes it interesting again.

    The shopping can wait a while longer. I still don’t have my list together and I won’t shop without one.

     
  7. Meanderer

    November 27, 2011 at 5:07 am

    What a lovely image! The flower has such an amazing structure. How lovely to find it – still blue – in the garden.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 27, 2011 at 9:05 pm

      I love that I found it the garden. It pays to look a little closer or at something you’ve already looked at before and see it in a new way.

       
  8. Joe

    November 27, 2011 at 7:45 am

    We agree with your last sentence wholeheartedly. This Black Friday concept really has to go. I can’t believe the number of people actually hurt trying to buy something when it is so much easier (and at or near the same cost) as buying over the Internet and having it shipped to your house. By the way, your photography is becoming breathtaking. Keep up the good work.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 27, 2011 at 9:03 pm

      Thanks Joe and Ardis. I hope that our travels head south sometime this winter so we can catch up on life. Dean is all about shopping on Ebay. He has said that it is sometimes easier to find things on the internet than in our own shop inventory.

      I hope to add another lens to my photography bag this year. The love affair with my new camera has not worn off yet.

       
  9. Steve Schwartzman

    December 8, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I’ve been fascinated by the remains of other members of the sunflower family, but I’ve never seen echinacea when the seed head is so far advanced. I’m glad you did so that you could describe it, aptly, as a party hat.

     
    • flyinggma

      December 10, 2011 at 8:14 pm

      Thanks Steve. I’ve been trying to find something to find delight in each day. Sometimes even on the cloudy days you can find treasures.

       
  10. Patti

    December 9, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Nice shot! I want to peek around to see the face of the pixie that’s wearing it.

    I avoid the Black Friday craziness as well – though this year we did buy a car that day – but at least we didn’t have to go to a mall to do it.

     
    • flyinggma

      December 10, 2011 at 8:16 pm

      Thanks Patti. It would be fun to find a pixie underneath or imagine one living in my garden.

       

Leave a Reply

 
