RSS

Why I Don’t Deadhead

22 Nov

Yesterday morning everything was frosted in our yard. We got our first snow on Saturday. The morning was overcast and foggy, no sun peeking through.

I started my morning with sitting in my recliner reading some books before work watching the birds come and go from the feeder when I noticed even the birds were frosted. Now that is cold.

Later when I left for work I noticed that the Butterfly Weed plant was also frosted along with the remaining dead heads of my Echinacea plant. Each year I have great intentions of deadheading my plants in my garden but never quite get around to it. Perhaps the chance at another view of the same plant in a different way is what keeps me from deadheading. Nope, just lack of time or interest in doing it at the time I should.

The Echinacea has a different look to it with the snow in the background. It makes the Echinacea in the background look as though they are shadows of the ones in the foreground

I love that there are still a few petals from the flower clinging to the bottom of one of the Echinacea. When I first showed my husband the picture he thought is was a picture of bacteria or something like it.

This morning as I look out over the lake I noticed that it is almost covered in ice. I don’t think we will be walking on ice on Thanksgiving Day this year like we have in past years but it won’t be long.

 

 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2011 in gardening, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Why I Don’t Deadhead

  1. CMSmith

    November 22, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I have a lot of plans for fall garden-cleanup that I rarely get too. I’m still hoping I can manage to trim the boxwoods before a heavy snow (actually a long put-off summer chore). No excuses.

    I read in a gardening book somewhere that leaving dried flower stalks up actually “provides winter interest” in the garden, and often food for birds.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      I like the idea of leaving something for winter interest. Somehow that gives me permission to leave things until spring. I did manage to trim the shrubs that needed tending to this fall beyond that not much.

       
  2. pattisj

    November 22, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Brrr. That looks way too cold for my taste! I deadhead to increase flowering early in the season, but let it go to seed toward the end, cutting back just before spring. Your pictures are beautiful, even if I had to don a sweater to look at them! lol

     
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      Sorry to chill you to the bone…I’ve decided to try and have a positive attitude about winter this year hopefully seeing things in a new light. I need to do some serious work in my garden next spring, too many perenials have overgrown their space.

       
  3. nrhatch

    November 22, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Brrrr . . . pretty but cold.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm

      I knew you would find it a bit chilly! It has been a pretty fall this year although I could use a little more sunshine. Looks like we should get some sunshine soon.

       
  4. Thomas Stazyk

    November 22, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Great pics–you manage to make winter look appealing! Happy Thanksgiving!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm

      Thanks Thomas. How goes it with the bird attacks on your nursery? I hope you have found a satisfactory solution.

       
      • Thomas Stazyk

        November 22, 2011 at 11:27 pm

        Looks like a temporary truce! This weekend I’ll clean up the mess and hope that they’ve gotten it out of their systems–in every sense of the term! Thanks for asking.

         
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:16 pm

      Thanks Thomas. How goes the battle with the birds? I hope you have found a suitable solution.

       
  5. barb19

    November 22, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Pretty to look at but not to be there! I feel sorry for that poor little bird.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:18 pm

      The bird kept fluffing up its feathers to keep warm I imagine. I watched some birds that put their back to the wind as this one did and others faced into the wind. I found it interesting that they faced different directions. I couldn’t believe that there was actual frost on the bird’s head.

       
  6. Steve Schwartzman

    November 22, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I like the low-key minimalism of the last image. As you said, the Echinacea heads in the background really do look like shadows of the ones in the foreground.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 22, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      The last image is my favorite although it has a look that is different than most of my photographs. Now that I see what effect a snow background can have I will probably try more like it with different subjects.

       
  7. belleofthecarnival

    November 22, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    I love your pictures! They are always beautiful!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm

      Thanks Darcie. I always appreciate your kind comments. Happy Thanksgiving!

       
  8. dhphotosite

    November 23, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I know what you mean about deadheading…I never seem to get around to it, but afterwords I am glad that I didn’t for the winter interest.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 24, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      I always seem to think I have more time each season to do what needs to be done. Never quite accomplishing the things I had planned.

       
  9. mpat75

    November 23, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Lovely capture of the season. I can feel the chills sitting here in mumbai 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      November 24, 2011 at 11:00 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. You could send a little bit of your warmth from Mumbai here to Minnesota.

       
  10. KatiesCameraBlog

    November 24, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    So glad you didn’t deadhead the plants. Pretty photos! 🙂 And Happy Thanksgiving!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 24, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks Katie. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
