RSS

A Single Drop

18 Nov

A single drop captivated my attention this week. As I walked out the door to go to work I noticed that it had sprinkled leaving everything damp. I went back inside and grabbed my camera for a few photos before work, well about 30 minutes worth to be honest. I went to work later than planned.

I walked out into the field just south of our home and saw drops of water hanging on a few branches. The morning was overcast from the rain but the sun kept trying to peek through the clouds never quite making a full appearance but creating some interesting views.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I was heading back inside I loved the way the sun was hitting the butterfly plant pods. It is from the same family as the Milkweed plant. All the is left of it is the shell. All the seeds have flown away in the fall winds.

Have a great weekend!

 
24 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Fall, Nature, Photography, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

24 responses to “A Single Drop

  1. shellriver

    November 18, 2011 at 9:46 am

    I love the pictures! They’re beautiful!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 10:01 am

      Thank you. My camera has made the long Minnesota winters more enjoyable by looking at life through a different set of eyes, my camera lens.

       
  2. nrhatch

    November 18, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Love the simplicity of the full moon shot. 😀

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 8:44 pm

      Thanks Nancy! The picture is actually the morning sun trying to shine through the clouds.

       
  3. planejaner

    November 18, 2011 at 10:31 am

    that first one is stunning…well, they all are.

    but something about that single drop, clinging to the branch…

    Lovely
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 8:47 pm

      I loved looking at that drop. I wished that I had a better lens at the time because I could see reflections on the drop of water of the surrounding field that I wished I could capture.

       
  4. dhphotosite

    November 18, 2011 at 10:58 am

    These are all super images! It’s hard to pick a favorite and work can always wait when there are photo ops!!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      I love getting out in the morning for shots. Getting to work a little late some mornings definitely has it’s advantages.

       
  5. pearlsandprose

    November 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Lovely shots, Jeanne. I hope your weekend is nice too.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 8:52 pm

      Thanks Carole. I loved your shots of the doorways and windows. Beautiful colors!

       
  6. barb19

    November 18, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    There is something about the early morning light that gives photography more depth and feeling don’t you think? It’s kind of a magical period of time, and you have captured it so well in these beautiful photos.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      Thanks Barb for the lovely comment. Mornings are my favorite time of the day.

       
  7. tedgriffith

    November 18, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Beautiful shots, Jeanne! My favorite is that last one. I love the composition and colors, and that border really makes it stand out. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      November 18, 2011 at 8:56 pm

      Thank you Ted. The last photo is one of my favorites because even though it is past its prime is beautiful in a new and different way especially in the morning sunlight.

       
  8. pattisj

    November 19, 2011 at 1:29 am

    Great pictures, I’m glad you make the time to take them.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 21, 2011 at 12:21 am

      Thank you Patti. I love having a reason to venture outside and enjoy my surroundings otherwise my chair becomes too comfortable most days.

       
  9. CMSmith

    November 19, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    I love the simplicity of these shots. Well done.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 21, 2011 at 12:24 am

      Thanks Christine. My copy of “Dancing in Heaven” just arrived this week. I’ve read chapter 1 so far. I’m juggling reading several recommended books right now. Hope to read one chapter a day. You have so much to be proud of in accomplishing the writing and publishing of your book.

       
  10. Mark Petruska

    November 20, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    There’s a stark beauty to these shots that is simply stunning. Good job, as always!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 21, 2011 at 12:25 am

      The overcast morning helped create an interesting mood to the photos. Thanks for stoppping by Mark. Having fun catching up on your blog as time permits. Your book is one of the next on my list to read.

       
  11. Booksphotographsandartwork

    November 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I like the warm glowing colors of the bottom one.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 21, 2011 at 12:27 am

      The first and the last photos are my favorites but I like the glowing colors of the last more.

       

Leave a Reply

 
