RSS

Looking Back At St. Pete’s Beach

13 Nov

 

 

This evening after an afternoon working out in the cold winds finishing up a few fall projects my mind wandered back to last February and our trip to St. Pete’s Beach.

One afternoon while we were out walking around St. Pete’s Beach we wandered past this old car parked in a driveway. It looked like something off an old postcard advertising Florida, palm trees and all.

I was uploading some photos for my husband when I located my photos from our trip. I played with the photo in Photoshop and this was the final result. I was looking for a picture that had a vintage feel to it.

I think it would make an interesting canvas photo for framing or a jigsaw puzzle. Learning Photoshop in the past year has made photography more fun. I love taking pictures with my Nikon D3100 and all the possibilities with Photoshop.

This is the photograph that I took in St. Pete’s Beach before post-processing.

I love the original photograph just as it is but the post-processing makes it something fun and whimsical.

Enjoy your week.

 
30 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in Photography, Vacations

 

Tags: , , ,

30 responses to “Looking Back At St. Pete’s Beach

  1. nrhatch

    November 13, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    The before is good . . . the after is so whimsical! Love it!

    Come back this February. 😎

     
    • flyinggma

      November 13, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      Thanks Nancy. I had fun playing with the photo. I just love Photoshop especially since I took the community ed class to learn the program. I don’t know if we will make it back down this winter but if we do I’ll let you know when we’re in town. Love to see you both again.

       
  2. belleofthecarnival

    November 13, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    It’s two different pictures and views! I love it!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 13, 2011 at 11:44 pm

      Thanks Darcie! I’m still considering ordering a canvas version of the Photoshop picture to frame for my guest bedroom. Fun memories of a great trip.

       
  3. JoDee Luna

    November 13, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    I really like this. Did you apply a Photoshop art filter?

     
    • flyinggma

      November 13, 2011 at 11:53 pm

      I used the posterizing filter in Photoshop. There are so many fun possiblities in Photoshop.

       
  4. pattisj

    November 13, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    I do love what you did with that!

     
  5. flyinggma

    November 13, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    There are so many post-processing possibilities in Photoshop that I am just scratching the surface of what can be done with photos. I still have a lot to learn about what the program can do even after taking a community education class.

     
  6. planejaner

    November 13, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    LOVE IT! How cool…

    Lady…God has really given you an eye. 😉
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 12:21 am

      Thanks Jane. I wish I had more time for creative pursuits. It seems all life’s urgent demands take that time. If I am to have any time for creativity it seems I am stealing it from my sleep. I do hope to have time for reading Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller as you recommended. I’ve ordered it but it hasn’t arrived yet.

       
  7. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    November 14, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Love the Photoshop “posterization!” I especially like what it did for the plants underneath the house window! Cool! Ain’t photography grand? 😆

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 7:59 am

      I do have a love affair with photography these days. A new way to look at life.

       
      • Paula Tohline Calhoun

        November 14, 2011 at 7:40 pm

        My camera has been one of the gifts that has kept me alive in the last few months! I am so grateful for the opportunity to learn and grow, and I love every minute of it! If there were more hours in each day, I know exactly what I would do with them!

         
      • flyinggma

        November 14, 2011 at 7:56 pm

        I know just what you mean Paula. The winters are so long for me and last winter having my new camera gave me something to look forward to each day.

         
  8. Patti

    November 14, 2011 at 1:37 am

    Both versions are great!

     
  9. Thomas Stazyk

    November 14, 2011 at 1:41 am

    I like both pics but I agree the first one has an interesting mood to it. Really cool car, too!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Thanks Thomas. What you can’t tell from this photo is that the car is actually a station wagon. When I was growing up I always wished that we could have a station wagon and that car brought back some of those memories.

       
      • Thomas Stazyk

        November 14, 2011 at 2:10 pm

        I always wanted a station wagon too. And I wondered why they called them “station wagons.”

         
  10. barb19

    November 14, 2011 at 1:48 am

    This is so cool what you did with the photo. You are doing good with Photoshop!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 8:02 am

      Thanks Barb. If you haven’t tried Photoshop or something like it, it is really worth checking out.

       
  11. harrisonjones

    November 14, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Wow! That’s amazing. We need you to work on the image at FAA and Washington in general.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 8:54 am

      If only it were that easy….

       
  12. graphics designer

    November 14, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Nice post
    Thanx for sharing
    For all kinds of tutorial related to photoshop, dreamweaver please visit trickydesigning

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 9:40 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I will have to take some time to explore your site. It looks like you have a lot of info there.

       
  13. pearlsandprose

    November 14, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I love Posterize and this is wonderful, Jeanne. I’d definitely have it printed on canvas.

    We took many a trip in our station wagon when I was a kid, so this brings back memories for me. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      November 14, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      I have enjoyed learning Photoshop and playing with the photos. Not only can I take more photos because of digital photo technology but I can post process them too. It has been so much fun.

       
  14. dhphotosite

    November 15, 2011 at 9:18 am

    This is way cool! I like the watercolor effect on the first photo…and I would live to own that car!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 15, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      It was a fun photo to take. We were just out on an afternoon walk when around the corner I saw it and couldn’t resist.

       
  15. Linda

    November 16, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Both images are beautiful. Photoshop is so much fun. Now you have to try Phototools. Find it on facebook and like it and you can download it for free. At one time thats how it went anyway. I hope it wasn’t a day long thing.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 16, 2011 at 11:16 pm

      I’ll have to check out Phototools. I’m not on Facebook so I will have to try to find in somewhere else.

       

Leave a Reply

 
