RSS

A Little Frosted

09 Nov

This morning as I left for the work the sun was shining and the air was cool and crisp. It was the coldest night we’ve had so far this fall with temperatures dropping to 18 degrees but somehow it was okay with the sunshine.

With daylight savings time ending over the weekend in Minnesota we are now blessed with a little more light in the morning but less light in the evening.

I love how the frost coats everything on the cool fall mornings. The sun shining from the east makes everything sparkle as it’s rays hit the frost. Magical…

Even ordinary grasses in the field look elegant.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Fall, Nature, Photography, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “A Little Frosted

  1. Meanderer

    November 9, 2011 at 3:26 am

    Really pretty image. I love a crisp cold and bright morning!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 9, 2011 at 7:39 am

      Thank you Meanderer. This is only a prelude to the soon to be here snow. I’m not sure if I’m ready for it.

       
  2. Carl D'Agostino

    November 9, 2011 at 7:36 am

    We are freezing in Miami.
    Good God, it was 82 the other day.

     
    • flyinggma

      November 9, 2011 at 7:40 am

      I would love a little bit of those 80 degree temps here. Stay warm Carl 🙂

       
  3. nrhatch

    November 9, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Beautiful shot, Jeanne. Did you get the e-mail I sent you about the flying car? Pretty cool, eh?

     
    • flyinggma

      November 9, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      Thanks Nancy! I did get the email that you sent me and I actually saw it at AirVenture last summer. Pretty cool. I wish I could find a way to get more flying time in.

       
  4. dhphotosite

    November 9, 2011 at 10:18 am

    A lovely composition and cool crisp mornings are such a relief after a hot summer!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 9, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      I think I would take the hot summer back again!

       
  5. belleofthecarnival

    November 9, 2011 at 10:50 am

    Beautiful!

     
  6. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    November 9, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Love the photo, but one thing:

    We just flipped over into Standard time here. How come Minnesota is 6 months behind (or ahead?) 😆

     
  7. flyinggma

    November 9, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    We are the same as you are but I misspoke…We just ended Daylight savings time…OOPs!

     
    • Paula Tohline Calhoun

      November 9, 2011 at 5:59 pm

      You are forgiven. . .it took me forever to finally get it right on our clock: Spring forward, fall back. . .

      I would love to start a campaign against Daylight Savings Time. It makes no sense to me, and because of it, for 6 months of the year I am completely out of sorts. My mood starts to improve almost immediately when we return to Standard Time. Long Standard Time – it should be the eternal standard! 😆 I wrote a poem about it a couple of years ago. I think I’ll go post it again. . . 😆

       
  8. Booksphotographsandartwork

    November 9, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Oh my gosh, 18 degrees already. That is hard to take. Thank goodness you can see the silver linning in the situation. Stay warm.

     
  9. barb19

    November 9, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Great shot!

     
  10. planejaner

    November 9, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    What a beautiful photograph, Jeanne. No matter what in life assails us, in Christ we yet can stand…

    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      November 10, 2011 at 12:27 am

      Thanks Jane for the words of wisdom.

       
  11. pattisj

    November 10, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Just beautiful. Now if it didn’t have to be cold to enjoy that!

     
    • flyinggma

      November 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      I couldn’t agree with you more on the cold. I like it less each winter.

       
  12. pearlsandprose

    November 10, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Beautiful shot, Jeanne. I love the frost looks too. We’re still in the 60s here, so have a while to wait, but that’s OK.

     
    • pearlsandprose

      November 10, 2011 at 8:47 pm

      I changed my avatar, but it’s still not showing up on a few blogs for some reason.

       

Leave a Reply

 
