RSS

Frosty Fall Morning

15 Sep

This morning we woke up to the first frost of the fall. Last evening my neighbors were all busy covering their gardens to protect their produce. It was a chilly morning only 30 degrees with some areas including our area with temperatures below freezing over night. It warmed up to a chilly but 55 degree sunny day.

This is what Pine Lake looked like this morning from the shore in front of our home. Steam rising from its surface in waves from one end of the lake to the other. I watched its ever changing shapes for about ten minutes before my cold feet told me it was time to move on.

I headed up the hill to our house and then out to the field behind our home to see what the field looked like frosted. I’m not a fan of colder weather but I love to the frost on the plants. It gives them a whole new look and of course something new to photograph.

One of my favorite finds this morning was this frosted clover in the roadside ditch along our driveway.

I also loved how this grass looked in the early morning light.

It’s hard to think that soon the ground will be covered with snow once again and the lake frozen solid in just a couple of months. Until then I will just have to enjoy the daily beauty in the few remaining flowers blooming and the soon to arrive fall colors.

I still have a few Hydrangeas blooming. Most of them have changed to a soft mauve color but I still have a few that are white colored.

I love this spider web that graced my porch in the morning light.

Enjoy your surroundings where you live and try to find some beauty each day.

 
28 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2011 in Fall, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Frosty Fall Morning

  1. natureshot

    September 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Really neat blog and great shots. I’d love to see that lake shot in black and white. Bet it would be even more awesome. Hey, I’ve just started a macro/photo blog this past week. I’ve not yet loaded my pics onto wordpress, but there is a link to my website with all of my pics. Bunches of flowers from my garden, macros on flowers, bugs, dragonflys, etc. I really like for you to check em out and tell me what you think. I need all of the guidance that I can get. Take care, and keep up the great blog. natureshot.wordpress.com

     
    • flyinggma

      September 15, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and the kind comments. I haven’t done much blogging lately, too busy with life and work. I couldn’t resist today with the obvious changes in the world around me. I will definitely stop by your blog and check out your link to your photos. I will have to play with the lake shot in black and white.

       
  2. nrhatch

    September 15, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Beautiful shots, Jeanne. (But I am so NOT jealous). 😀

     
    • flyinggma

      September 15, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      I totally understand! Must be time to start checking the airfares for warmer places this winter.

       
  3. Thomas Stazyk

    September 15, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    Great pics! I love the mist coming up from the lake. Does it freeze in the winter?

     
    • flyinggma

      September 16, 2011 at 7:12 am

      The lake does freeze each year. Usually around Thanksgiving time and then thaws around April 15. It makes all the fishermen happy around here because they can extend their fishing season with ice fishing.

       
  4. Meanderer

    September 16, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Awesome Wintery shots! The plants with the frost on them are so pretty. That temperature is really chill though – it’s it usual to have these cold temps so early on in Autumn where you are? We haven’t had frosts in Southern England as yet this Autumn – temperatures are holding up pretty well so far.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 16, 2011 at 7:19 am

      We usually get our first frost around September 15 – 30 each year. I prefer the later date. We have had snow on the ground by the end of October some years.

       
  5. Carl D'Agostino

    September 16, 2011 at 4:59 am

    Love the spider web. On the other hand I am not a fly.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 16, 2011 at 7:13 am

      Thanks Carl. I haven’t had the heart to take it down yet. I love how the light hits it at different times of the day.

       
  6. pattisj

    September 16, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    You have a way of making the cold look beautiful. The clover is especially amazing, and I found a similar web next to my back door. It’s in the 60s here today, a 20-30 degree drop from what we’ve had, thanks to a cold front that moved across the area last night. No frost yet! Whew. But I did notice my neighbor doing yard work in a sweatshirt this morning. I’ve seen in our yard, and read, that some spiders remove their web the next day, then spin it again at night.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 16, 2011 at 7:17 pm

      I took out my sweatshirt this morning. I sure am glad we took out the dock last weekend. We were up to our necks in the lake and it was actually beautiful. I took my final lap around the lake on water skis last Saturday. I wouldn’t want to do it this week.

       
  7. planejaner

    September 16, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Wow, lady. BEAUTIFUL.
    that second one reminds me of that other one that I LOVED.

    but…colder.
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      September 16, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      Thanks Jane. The second one is very similar in the background as the Swamp Milkweed photo. It was a cold but beautiful morning for pictures.

       
  8. Linda

    September 16, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Frost already, hard to imagine. We were only in the 60’s today. It was hard to believe. Love the little white flowers. They would be beautiful on a wedding cake.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 16, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      It is hard to believe that we are back in the cold weather season. It is supposed to be a bit warmer next week. I hope and pray for a long nice fall. It is my favorite season most years.

      It’s funny that you should mention wedding cakes. When I look at the Hydrangeas I automatically think of weddings.

       
  9. Joe Clark

    September 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    30 degrees!!?? For cryin’ out loud,it is barely half way through September!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 17, 2011 at 10:36 am

      I know Joe! I have to keep a positive outlook about where I live or else I would have to move or dive into a deep depression knowing the cold and dark days are ahead of me.

       
  10. Joe Clark

    September 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Oh yeah, both Ardis and I agree — your photos are absolutely exquisite!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 17, 2011 at 10:37 am

      Thanks Joe and Ardis. Always love to hear from you both!

       
  11. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    September 17, 2011 at 2:34 am

    So beautiful! And beauty is everywhere! People just need to open their eyes!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 17, 2011 at 10:38 am

      Until I got my camera last January I had a hard time seeing the beauty where I live. Now with “new eyes” I see so much more in a new way.

       
  12. sunshineinlondon

    September 17, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Wow, Jeanne … how beautiful is your part of the world? Your photos are outstanding. I can’t imagine such cold weather at this time of year. I love how you love and appreciate your surroundings and the seasons in all their varied beauty.
    Hugs from London
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      September 17, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Thank you Sunshine. The cold weather just seems to appear a little at a time each fall starting with the shorter days of light and cooler nights and then we get a night like this week when it hits freezing overnight. Once that happens you know that the cold is coming for sure, its only a matter of time. Hugs back to you for sure. Hope that new job is working out well for you.
      Jeanne

       
  13. stregajewellry

    September 17, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    What gorgeous shots! Fall is on its way here in Ohio but we have no frost yet! I do not envy your frosty morning. Thanks for checking my blog and steering me your way. Why don’t you join our macro Sunday group? You have great pics!

    Lee

     
    • flyinggma

      September 18, 2011 at 10:25 am

      Thanks Lee. I will have to check out the macro group. Today is is raining and pretty cool. Yesterday and last evening were absolutely gorgeous here. Perfect fall day.

       
  14. dhphotosite

    September 19, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Very nice series of photographs Jeanne !! Fall is just starting and frost should be here any day also…I kinda hope we don’t get the snow that we got last year. Shoveling the back yard for two Cairn terriers is hard work!!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 19, 2011 at 10:01 am

      Thank you. I hope like you do that we don’t get a lot of snow too. I’m not a big fan of shoveling snow either. Jeanne

       

Leave a Reply

 
