RSS

Dance of the Hummingbirds

05 Sep

This morning I was reading a daily devotional of the Proverbs 31 website.

http://devotions.proverbs31.org/2011/09/beauty-and-meaning-in-unlikely-places.html

It was talking about taking time to notice the ordinary in the midst of our busyness. This afternoon as my husband and I were heading off for a motorcycle ride I glanced over at my garden.

These days there doesn’t seem much new or special about my garden. There aren’t any new flowers blooming and a lot of the flowers that have bloomed profusely have all but stopped. Flowers are fading with our cooler night temperatures as fall approaches.

I saw something move above my garden that caught my eye. I had my camera in my hand but didn’t have my preferred lens on it. As I focused my camera on the movement I noticed not one but two hummingbirds flying around the Phlox in my garden.

It was a brief visit from the hummingbirds but an exciting one as they danced around the Phlox. As quickly as they appeared they were gone.

Even when everyday things seem ordinary they often deserve a second look……

 
24 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in gardening, Inspiration, Nature, Photography, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Dance of the Hummingbirds

  1. Emad

    September 6, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Nice !

     
    • flyinggma

      September 6, 2011 at 7:40 am

      Thanks for stopping by Emad and commenting.

       
  2. Meanderer

    September 6, 2011 at 2:51 am

    Wow! Excellent capture Jeanne!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 6, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Thanks Meanderer. I’ve been so busy lately. It was nice to slow down and capture this beauty in action.

       
  3. ceceliafutch

    September 6, 2011 at 6:08 am

    Incredible capture…beautiful!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 6, 2011 at 8:05 am

      Thanks Cecelia. I felt blessed to see it and to be able to capture it in a photo too.

       
  4. Patricia

    September 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    As your photo shows there is often great beauty in the ordinary. Thanks for sharing the beauty of your afternoon.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 6, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Patricia. It’s hard not to get caught up and often discouraged by living an ordianary life. Somehow I’m always wishing for a little more excitement. I have to force myself to take a new look at life and be grateful.

       
  5. nrhatch

    September 6, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Love the birds and the blooms! Thanks, Jeanne.

     
  6. flyinggma

    September 6, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    They were a fun find. I wish they would have stayed a little longer but thankful they came to visit my garden.

     
  7. Carl D'Agostino

    September 6, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Yes, a second look is well worth a moment. Often it becomes and hour and sometimes becomes part of a lifetime.

     
  8. flyinggma

    September 6, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I’m so grateful, thankful, and happy my husband took the time for a second look and time to know more about me. We’ve had so many good moments togethers over the past 32 years that we’ve known each other.

     
  9. Linda

    September 6, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    They are the sweetest most amazing little birds. Beautiful photo of them.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 6, 2011 at 11:59 pm

      I love watching the hummingbirds and how quickly they move from place to place. They are amazing for sure.

       
  10. dhphotosite

    September 7, 2011 at 7:37 am

    What a great moment in time to experience!! People really need to slow down from their busy lives and “take a second look” these days.
    David

     
    • flyinggma

      September 7, 2011 at 8:10 am

      I am trying to do just that. Less blogging equals more time for other things. I’m trying to capture and savor a few more special moments each day recognizing the fact that when they are gone, they’re gone.

       
  11. pearlsandprose

    September 7, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Very nice, Jeanne. I do miss seeing hummingbirds.

    It’s so easy to get caught up in everday activities and miss the beauty all around us.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 7, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      Thanks Carole. It was delightful to see them in my garden.

       
  12. pattisj

    September 8, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    They are so tiny and fast, it’s a wonder you saw them at all. What a treat!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 8, 2011 at 12:35 pm

      It was indeed treat. I have been watching for more but no luck yet.

       
  13. Mark Petruska

    September 12, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Ironically, I noticed a hummingbird flitting around my back patio this morning. First time one has come around in ages!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 12, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      They have been more abundant this year than most and it has been fun.

       
  14. Christine Grote

    September 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Terrific photo!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 18, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      Thanks Christine. We had birds of a different kind today. Hundreds of grackels were in our yard this afternoon like right out of the Birds movie by Alfred Hitchcock. Yucky….

       

Leave a Reply

 
