RSS

To Clean or Not to Clean

22 Aug

This morning as I sit in my recliner marks the beginning of a new state in my life. Yesterday my daughter and grandson moved full-time into their apartment along with my other daughter. Today is the first day of classes in the fall semester at college for them.

As I was reading my emails this morning and looking around my all too quiet house I noticed the french doors for my sun room. They stand open from the livingroom inviting you to enter the sun room. At the angle they are open and where I am sitting I can see through the panes of glass. They are completely covered with tiny fingerprints and nose prints.

My grandson loves to play in the sun room. Most of his toys are in there. After he learned how to open and close the doors he would close one side and stand inside the porch and make faces at us through the glass as we sat in the livingroom. His version of Peek A Boo.

We had a great last couple of days with my daughter and grandson. We left Thursday evening for the race track where my husband was racing in a two-day event. My daughter and grandson came with us. It was a long two days for my daughter to entertain her son and figure out nap times and bed times away from home but she was good sport about it.

Thursday evening my husband won the “The King of Dirt” title in his division so he was pretty excited and my grandson was so excited about the trophy that he gave it a hug.

The second night of racing didn’t go as well with my husband being hit late in the race and spun into the wall. It will be the end of racing until some major repairs are made.

Yesterday morning I watched as my daughter loaded up her car to leave. Most of their things are already at the apartment but all the favorite last minute items were loaded last. We got our hugs and kisses goodbye and watched them leave to start a new chapter in their lives.

I think I will leave the window pane just as they are for a little while…..

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

27 responses to “To Clean or Not to Clean

  1. harrisonjones

    August 22, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Just enjoyed a week at the beach with all the grandkids. Having withdrawal pains. Wish I could be with them everyday.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 10:59 am

      I know the feeling intimately!

       
  2. Patti

    August 22, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I would leave the smudges for a while, for sure.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 11:00 am

      They are still there and I found some more this morning on my kitchen window where he likes to stand on the chair and look out the window. They will remain. Who said you have to have clean windows?

       
  3. tedgriffith

    August 22, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Sigh!!

     
  4. Meanderer

    August 22, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Ah. I would leave those tiny prints just a while longer!

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      They aren’t going anywhere anytime soon.

       
  5. planejaner

    August 22, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Oh, Jeanne.
    Leave those smudges.
    I can feel your heart in this post.

    be well, my friend.
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 5:43 pm

      They will stay for awhile along with the random toys I find in odd places around the house.

       
  6. Mark Petruska

    August 22, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I tend to leave the smudges on my window panes, too – but that’s more out of laziness when it comes to cleaning rather than preserving memories. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      i’m a big fan of clean windows at least once a year but this fall I may wait a little longer to wash them.

       
  7. nrhatch

    August 22, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Leave the smudges. Congratulate the King of the Dirt for us!!! 😀

    Glad that it’s his car and not him that needs repairs.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 10:07 pm

      I am most thankful that he escaped injuries in the race. I will pass on the congrats. I have to get used to living with royalty.

       
  8. pattisj

    August 22, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Congrats to your husband on his trophy. I see the grandson had his corn dog, too! 🙂 Those prints don’t need to come off right away, let them linger, along with the sweet memories they bring. I’ve done the same thing.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      Thanks for the congrats. It wouldn’t be a trip to the track without corndogs. The prints will stay for a while for sure.

       
  9. barb19

    August 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    That’s a mighty big trophy – congrats to the hub!
    Leave the finger and nose prints for a while – at least till just before they come back for a visit – then you will have some fresh ones to enjoy!

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      I’m glad that he has given most of his trophies away to the kids that come down to the pits for autographs. This one we brought home because it was his first King of Dirt trophy. Maybe I’ll wash the windows on Saturday before they come home and enjoy new ones as you suggest.

       
  10. midlifepilot

    August 22, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Jeanne, I’m still at the stage where the smudges on windows – and every other bloody reachable surface – are from my small children! Guess I won’t life a finger to clean them away any time soon … 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      Enjoy those moments and the years to come. I can attest to how fast they fly by even though at times you never think they will and you long for adult conversation and a clean house.

       
      • midlifepilot

        August 23, 2011 at 12:13 am

        Too true. When I first knew my stepsons they were 6 and 12, now 15 and 21 and our days of “sticky fingerprints” from them are *long* gone. (To be replaced by the hormonal delights of moody teenagers 🙂

         
  11. Linda

    August 22, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Oh little finger smudges, how sweet. I am sure you are going to miss your daughters and grandson. That trophy is great.

     
  12. flyinggma

    August 22, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    We will miss them but I am excited for their first visit home again. I am equally excited for my daughter’s new phase in her life.

     
  13. dhphotosite

    August 23, 2011 at 7:17 am

    My vote would be “not clean.” My mother always used to say “dust will keep.” Not exactly the same as nose prints but the same idea applies here. Just love your pictures.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 23, 2011 at 7:41 am

      That’s my vote too. I’m sitting in the same chair this morning and can see the prints and a room full of toys waiting to be played with when they come home. Your mother was/is a wise woman.

       
  14. Sandi Ormsby

    August 29, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Who knew “smudges” could be so touching. I have a 5 & 7 year old, and our balcony sliding glass door always has smears/prints…we can’t keep it clean. It’s a source of annoyance and now I’ve just given up…and don’t look at it any longer. You’ve just given me a new perspective.

    First time visitor! I’m subscribing!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA
    ** Monday’s weigh in- down 14lbs in 3 weeks! Wahoo!

     
    • flyinggma

      August 30, 2011 at 7:14 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Sandi. Sorry about the slow response. When all four of my kids were young there wasn’t a clean window within their reach until I discovered my oldest daughter liked to clean windows. Just give her the spray window cleaner, paper towels and she loved to clean like Mom.

      I still have some toys scattered around our yard that I have left as well. Just ready to be played with as soon as our grandson comes to visit.

       

Leave a Reply

 
