RSS

Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance

15 Aug

This is the doorway to the shell of a burned out building near the Fergus Falls Race Track. The bright blue trim drew me in for a closer look. The building has no roof left over it so there is a lot of natural light inside. I was curious as to the use for the chain with the hook hanging on it next to the door frame. I don’t know what the original use was for the building since I am not from the area and found no one who knew its history. Surrounding the building are piles of materials that suggest that someone a while ago was sorting contents from the building and from other sources for possible recycling. It doesn’t look like there has been much progress for some time.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in "Weekly Photo Challenge", Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance

  1. Carl D'Agostino

    August 16, 2011 at 4:27 am

    The chain? Obvious. The owner had a huge pet frog.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 16, 2011 at 10:22 am

      I like how you think Carl:)

       
  2. Meanderer

    August 16, 2011 at 6:36 am

    Intriguing shot! I like the depth of this photo and the leaves in the foreground give an air of mystery.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 16, 2011 at 10:23 am

      Thanks Meanderer. It was difficult to decide what to focus on for the shot.

       
  3. nrhatch

    August 16, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Interesting shot, Jeanne. Pondering old building is a pleasure.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 16, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      It is one of my favorite pasttimes as I look for things to photograph.

       
  4. dhphotosite

    August 16, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Interesting entrance… curious what it may have been used for… I’m liking the giant pet frog theory.

     
  5. flyinggma

    August 16, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I like the blue that they painted the trim around the door. I’d love to find out from someone at the track what it was used for in the past. It’s next to the track property but not on it so I don’t think it was connected to the race track in any way.

    I love the giant pet frog theory although that may cause my grandson some nightmares unless of course it was a very friendly frog.

     
  6. Christine Grote

    August 16, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Intriguing photo. The hook is a bit creepy.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 17, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      I find the hook a bit creepy as well until someone explains its use to me.

       
      • pattisj

        August 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm

        You said the place was near the race track, if I’m not mistaken. It looks like part of an engine hoist. The other part would somehow be attached around the engine, then the hook would pull it out of the engine compartment to be worked on. That’s what it reminds me of, anyway.

         
  7. Thomas Stazyk

    August 16, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    Great picture–the door is both inviting and menacing at the same time and the branches add to the mystery.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 17, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      It was a fun photo to capture. It was a perfect spring evening and the lighting without any roof made for a brighter picture.

       
  8. pattisj

    August 16, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    I love the weathered wood, and the bright blue that has probably seen better days. I wondered how it was so bright inside, was trying to determine what was inside and what was outside. No roof explains it!

     
    • flyinggma

      August 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm

      I’m a fan of weathered wood and old buildings especially old barns. I would still like to know more of its history.

       
  9. pearlsandprose

    August 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Beautiful shot, Jeanne. I love old places like this.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 17, 2011 at 7:04 pm

      Thanks Carole. I’m still working on getting back to get some shots of the old barn I found this spring.

       
  10. Patti

    August 18, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Great entrance shot – draws you in – the blue trim is great.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 21, 2011 at 9:10 am

      Thanks Patti. The blue trim is what drew me in for a closer look.

       
  11. Adrian Pantonial

    August 20, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Creative shot! The huge pet frog from Carl’s reply made me laugh. ;P The blurry leaves on the foreground made it more interestingly mysterious.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 21, 2011 at 9:11 am

      I like Carl’s imagination too. The building was surrounded by many trees so matter which direction I took the picture from there were trees in the way.

       
  12. Booksphotographsandartwork

    August 21, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I like the blue frame and the yellow of the leaves all surrounded by the grayishness. good compostion too.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 22, 2011 at 7:25 am

      Thank you. This past weekend I made a visit to the track and found that the chair had been removed from the doorway but everything else remained the same. I wondered where the chair was but could see beyond the doorway because the property is fenced in.

       

Leave a Reply

 
