RSS

We All Start Small

02 Aug

For weeks I have been watching my garden and waiting.

I planted many flowers over the past few years to attract butterflies, specifically Monarchs.

This past week I managed to catch a Monarch on one of my Echinacea.

Last evening after my grandson’s birthday party was done and all the guests and kids had gone home I walked out to the garden and found signs that caterpillars were present on my milkweed plants.

I searched the bottoms of the leaves until I finally found a caterpillar. The first one I found was medium-sized from what I have seen in past years, about an inch in length.

I continued my search in hopes of finding more caterpillars. Next I found this tiny caterpillar eating its way through the plant.

A little perspective on the size. The caterpillar is at most only a 1/4 inch in length. I had to use my camera lens to magnify it to make sure what I was actually seeing. Probably not necessary for someone with good eyes but mine needed help to see it.

I heard an interesting comment on the radio yesterday about caterpillars, butterflies and moths about their brains. It said something that the caterpillar has two brains. The first in the caterpillar is designed for eating and then through metamorphosis its old brain is made into a new one designed for flight that is needed for a moth or butterfly. Two distinctly different brains.Signs of the first are gone after metamorphosis I thought it was interesting. Why not just one capable of both? I still am in awe of the metamorphosis process.

The Insect with Two Brains | Creation Moments.

 

I’m still looking for the elusive butterfly eggs to photograph.

 
31 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2011 in Nature, Photography, Uncategorized, Wildflowers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

31 responses to “We All Start Small

  1. Carl D'Agostinoc

    August 2, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Butterflies love rotten fruit. It’s fermented. You conclude from that.

     
  2. Meanderer

    August 2, 2011 at 10:21 am

    How fascinating! Two brains. Well, I could do with that at times! I do love your echinacea and monarch butterfly photo.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 2, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      Thanks Meanderer. I updated the post to include the entire transcript of the radio broadcast about two brains. Interesting reading.

       
  3. tedgriffith

    August 2, 2011 at 10:54 am

    The monarchs are so colorful! It goes well with the blossom. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      August 2, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      Thanks Ted. I love seeing them in the garden and flying about the pine trees in our yard.

       
  4. planejaner

    August 2, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Beautiful photos, Jeanne…
    and, the two brain thing…makes me think of “being born again”, or salvation…
    that the “old” is gone and the “new mind of Christ” comes to us through the Holy Spirit.
    We are like caterpillars…turning into butterflies when we trust in Jesus.

    I love this post today…may my old brain continue to go away…and may my new brain continue to grow stronger…and lead me!

    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      August 2, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      Jane, you will love the updated link I put in the post this evening. It speaks directly to the new creation we are in Christ. I couldn’t remember what broadcast I had heard about the insect with two brains last evening.

       
  5. nrhatch

    August 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Beautiful post, Jeanne! Two brains in one tiny insect ~ fascinating stuff.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 2, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      There are days when I could use two brains or at least a redesigned one.

       
  6. pattisj

    August 2, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I love your pictures! I think metamorphosis is the greatest show on earth!

     
  7. flyinggma

    August 2, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more on metamorphosis. I loved showing my students the changes in our classroom.

     
  8. Thomas Stazyk

    August 3, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    It would be great to find a cocoon! Have you ever seen one?

     
    • flyinggma

      August 3, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      I’ve seen a lot of chysalis of the Monarchs. When I taught school each fall I would gather milkweed plants with caterpillars on them and bring them into my classroom and the caterpillars would make their chrysalis and hang from the top of my butterfly house until they changed into butterflies and then my students would release the butterflies outside. It was always a fun process to watch. My favorite thing is to watch the butterfly emerge from the chrysalis. Truly magical.

       
  9. CMSmith

    August 4, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    That about the two brains is fascinating. I was thinking of doing a post about how we know how to do what we do. . .You must have been reading my mind. Is that something you can do with your first mind?

    When do I get my second mind and learn how to fly?

     
    • flyinggma

      August 4, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      If you need a good resource for some fascinating facts check out the Creation Moments link above. They have so many interesting facts about all kinds of stuff.

      I learned to fly with only one brain but at times I think I two would have helped. You just have to set your mind to what it is you want to accomplish and don’t give up. Blessings…

       
  10. pearlsandprose

    August 5, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Lovely photos and very interesting info about caterpillars! I see so many beautiful butterfly photos and wish I could find some. We may live too close to the city or there have been too many pesticides used in our area. Nothing but an occasional bumblebee and ants.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend, Jeanne.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 5, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      The butterflies are pretty hard for me to catch pictures of because they are constantly moving. We live out in a rural area so that may be why they are easier to find at times. I don’t see much variety though.

      Have a great weekend too, Carole.

       
  11. writerwoman61

    August 7, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Love the caterpillar photo (the one on the stem), Jeanne! Beautiful colours!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      August 7, 2011 at 6:14 pm

      Thanks Wendy. It’s been fun trying to capture pictures of them. I’ve had some Swallowtails here but very elusive. The minute I see one and go to get the camera, it is gone. Hope you are having a great weekend with family, Jeanne.

       
  12. Mark Petruska

    August 8, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Too bad the two-brain thing can’t be applied to some members of society who can’t seem to function with just one. Yes, members of Congress, I am talking to YOU!

     
    • flyinggma

      August 9, 2011 at 8:33 am

      I couldn’t agree more Mark!

       
  13. brittany220

    August 9, 2011 at 1:03 am

    Great pictures! I really like the middle one, very vivid! I took a bunch of butterfly pictures recently too and it was great being able to see them close enough to see eyes and hair and all that! I am really liking my new camera.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 9, 2011 at 8:35 am

      Thanks for stopping by Brittany. I just got my camera in January and am having fun with it for the same reasons you are. The details you can see and take pictures of are amazing to me. Jeanne

       
  14. PC PHOTO

    August 11, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Fabulous series! Keep your eyes open and your shutter clicking 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      August 11, 2011 at 9:59 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It was fun capturing pictures of the caterpillars and the butterfly.

       
  15. Booksphotographsandartwork

    August 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    I think I could do with an extra brain. I have never seen one of those catipillars in real life. I have always thought they were so pretty.

     
    • flyinggma

      August 11, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      I was never much interested in the caterpillars until I started teaching school and then I found it fun to look for the caterpillars for my classroom so the students could see the whole process from caterpillar to butterfly.

       
  16. Little Things of Life

    August 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Great photos — and fascinating info about the two brains!! Thanks so much for the link to Creation Moments!!! 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      August 20, 2011 at 2:32 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I love listening to Creation Moments. I’ve learned so many different things on that radio broadcast. It’s website has a great wealth of information on a lot of topics.

       
    • flyinggma

      September 21, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      What is the appropriate beverage to consume with Zebra S’Mores? You’ll have to let me know! Enjoy….

       

Leave a Reply

 
