RSS

The Old and the Young: Eagles

08 Jul

Earlier this summer while out on the boat I spotted a  eagle next to a nest. This past weekend I went in search of the same eagle hoping to catch another glimpse while we were out on the boat. I was not disappointed.

The adult eagle that I saw was not next to the nest where I saw it earlier but in a tree just to the north of the location I first saw it. I’m assuming it’s the same eagle but not sure.

As we went a little further south in our boat, just a few feet, to the location of the nest and this is what I saw.

This young eagle was sitting in the location where I first spotted the adult earlier this spring. I was reading another blog this morning, one of my favorites Naturally Curious with Mary Holland http://naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/bald-eagle-nest-update/

and learned that it can take up to four years for the young eagle to gain its white head and white on its tail. The young eagle was sitting and flapping its wings.

When we were travelling home just two days ago near the Mississippi River I saw an eagle soaring in the sky. Such a beautiful sight. I haven’t seen the eagle on our lake soaring overhead but I guess they have been busy tending to their young ones.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in Fourth of July, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

20 responses to “The Old and the Young: Eagles

  1. harrisonjones

    July 8, 2011 at 7:07 am

    That’s awesome, Jeanne.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 7:21 am

      Thanks Harrison. I’m awaiting the arrival of your new book on my doorstep. Just ordered it over the weekend.

       
  2. nrhatch

    July 8, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Excellent! Glad that “baby” is getting big and strong.

     
  3. Mary Holland

    July 8, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Thank you so much for mentioning my blog. I just returned from a visit to the eagle nest, where I watched an adult return with fish for its young. Your pictures are wonderful!

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 10:23 am

      Thanks Mary! i enjoy your blog and pictures very much and gladly send others to check out your site.

       
  4. pattisj

    July 8, 2011 at 10:53 am

    They are awe-inspiring birds. Thanks for reminding me–I need to check on the ones from our area that were taken to a rehabilitation center when the mother was struck by a plane at the airport.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Too bad about the mother eagle being struck at the airport. I love that I was able to get some pictures of the eagles this year. I’d like to get another lens for my camera so I could get even more detail from a distance.

       
  5. Christinemgrote

    July 8, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    You must live in a fascinating place. Love the eagles.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      We live 4 miles outside of a small town of 400 on a 200 acre lake. Most people would find it too remote and not much to do but I like it. We are only 30 minutes from the next biggest town that has all the shopping places that most people would need. It’s been a great place to raise our four children and now our grandson.

       
  6. flyinggma

    July 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Thanks Patty for the link about the eaglets.

     
    • pattisj

      July 8, 2011 at 1:12 pm

      You’re welcome, thanks for reminding me to check on them.

       
  7. pearlsandprose

    July 8, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    How wonderful for you, Jeanne. I’ve never seen an eagle, let alone a baby! Didn’t know it took that long to get their coloring. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      Thanks Ms Pearl. It’s been a fun spring and summer learning about our surroundings, plants, birds and animals.

       
  8. Thomas Stazyk

    July 8, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Wow, great pictures. I’d heard that eagles were making a comeback in the midwest. Are they as big as they look?

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      I don’t know if they are making a comeback or not but on our small lake we have had eagles for the past ten years or more. I have seen more in the past few years but I don’t know if its because I’m paying more attention to their presence or because there are more of them. They are very large birds and easy to spot in the top of the pine trees. They look very impressive when they soar overhead.

       
  9. georgettesullins

    July 9, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    My husband will love to hear about these encounters. Amazing eye you have to capture both of these pictures. Thank you.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 9, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I do feel blessed to be able to capture these pictures and live where we do.

       
  10. writerwoman61

    July 9, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    We have eagles here too, Jeanne…Anna tries to take photos of them, but it’s hard!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      July 10, 2011 at 1:33 am

      I have a lot of photos of the eagles that didn’t turn out too. I wish I had another lens with more distance range to get clearer shots. All of the eagle pictures were taken while I was in a boat, trying to take the picture has been doubly hard to get anything in focus.

      Looking forward to seeing some of Anna’s shots on your blog!

       

Leave a Reply

 
