RSS

I Think I Am Down A Pint…

07 Jul

This evening when I finally got home I decided to take my camera and walk down to the lake in hopes of getting a picture of the very vocal loons that I heard last evening.

It was a very still, humid evening. Just perfect for mosquitos and not so much for me. (Yes, That is my arm being sucked dry by this mosquito and many others.)

As I wandered around my yard to check out what was new blooming in my garden I was already swatting mosquitos but wasn’t intimidated enough to head back in yet.

I walked out on our dock in search of the loons but they weren’t around our dock area and I couldn’t hear them in the near vicinity.

As I was walking I continued swatting mosquitos. I could have used spray but I don’t like to because that means a shower before I head to bed.

Down by the lake the grass was moving with my every step. Here is what was on the move. Hundreds of them. They were really quick and it was very challenging to get close enough to one and get it in focus before it moved.

If you look at the size of the frog compared to the clover you will notice that they are only about one inch in length now.

Today on our drive home from a funeral we saw this wildflower growing along the roadside. It is the first I have seen of its kind this spring/summer season. It is a Cow Parsnip and it is a very large and tall plant. It was about four feet tall in the ditch where we stopped.

The Cow Parsnip plant reminds me a bit of the Dill plants that grow in my husband’s parent’s garden.

There is not much blooming for color in the wildflower department lately. Mostly yellow or white flowers. Soon some pretty pinks will be added to the mix. Can’t wait to share them.

Heading to bed in hopes of being sung to sleep again by the loons, frogs, and the waves on the shore but not the buzz of the mosquito.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Nature, Photography, Wildflowers

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “I Think I Am Down A Pint…

  1. nrhatch

    July 7, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Baby frogs! 😀

    I agree with you ~ loons, frogs, and waves are soothing sounds for sleeping. Whereas the buzz of a mosquito makes me sit up quick!

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 10:40 am

      I love hearing the frogs and seeing them. There is nothing that makes it harder to sleep in the summertime than a mosquito buzzing around the room. Thankfully they land pretty quick to be swatted.

       
  2. tedgriffith

    July 7, 2011 at 10:37 am

    A wonderfu set! We live in such a dry climate that we don’t have the frogs, but there are irrigated hay fields all around us, so we get the mosquitos! I would love to hear the loons at night.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Ted. I love watching and hearing the frogs. Listening to the loons at night is one of my favorite things to do. Sometimes they make such a lonely sounding song.

       
  3. planejaner

    July 7, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Ah, mosquitoes. The Minnesota State bird. 😉
    Your pics are lovely, as always. I so appreciate the eye God gave your for beauty, and the skill to capture it.
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      Thanks Jane. I am so appreciate of your gift of words and perspective. Would you like some mosquitoes out west? I think we could spare a few.

       
  4. Carol Ann Hoel

    July 7, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    You have a lot of natural beauty nearby! It’s all so nice, with the exception of that blood thirsty mosquito. Ha! I don’t like those little monsters. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      I’m with you on the little monsters. I don’t see much good about them other than food for the birds.

       
  5. pearlsandprose

    July 7, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Mosquitoes are also the state bird of Michigan. I’ve never seen so many as I did there. It’s been so hot lately, the critters are laying low here.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      I thought Minnesota’s state bird was the mosquito but I’d gladly send them your way!

       
  6. JoDee Luna

    July 7, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Love, love, love your photos. You’re really good at this! I’m impressed!

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      Thanks JoDee! Now if I only knew what to do with all the photos I take.

       
  7. pattisj

    July 7, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    My daughter lives near a pond, and I remember seeing bazillions of those tiny frogs moving through her yard one year. I had never experienced anything like that. Mosquitoes, I’m familiar with. Too familiar. I actually saw a post card in Georgia when traveling through that had an enlarged mosquito pictured, claiming it as their state bird! Those buggers get around. Love the cow parsnip, so pretty, and yes, it does resemble dill.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 7, 2011 at 10:54 pm

      The frogs are so much fun to watch. I couldn’t believe how quickly they were moving. I’ve had my fill of the mosquitoes. All winter we are forced inside by the cold temps and snow and in the summer its the mosquitoes.

       
  8. Christinemgrote

    July 8, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    The frogs are very cool. Wish I could have seen them. Thanks for getting the photo.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 8, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      Thanks Christine. The frogs are fun and they are still moving about the yard and shore.

       
  9. writerwoman61

    July 9, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Beautiful photos, Jeanne…last one is my favourite!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      July 10, 2011 at 1:27 am

      I do love the Cow Parsnip picture too. I couldn’t believe how tall the plant was when I stood next to it in the ditch.

       

Leave a Reply

 
