RSS

Repetition: Disdain or Delight

10 Jun

Two weeks ago I made a trip to our local library to pick up some books to read to my grandson. We exhausted the books at home I was looking forward to some new reading material. I brought home ten books that were all new to me.

In the mix of books was Cock-A-Doodle-Moo by Bernard Most. It has become my grandson’s favorite. When I come home from work he greets me at the door with the book and walks over to the recliner and starts patting it for me to sit. He backs himself up to the chair for me to pick him up to read the book to him.

In the morning he searches for my library book bag for the book. When I ask him if I should read him the book he squeals with delight and follows the same routine as the evening. When I finish reading it to him he says “More”. I don’t know how many times I’ve read the book to him but there are parts in the book when I tell him to help read the book he says “Moo” where he should for the story.

As an adult I am often bored by predictable behavior. When did that change? As a teenager I would listen to songs on my record player over and over again until I knew all the words. In high school I worked hard at memorizing my parts for Shakespeare’s Hamlet and Arsenic and Old Lace. It required lots of repetition but it was okay because it was for a reason.

Everyday my mind craves new information. I want to learn and am easily frustrated with hearing the same old thing. Oh that I could find delight in hearing and seeing the same old thing as my grandson does when I read him the same book day after day even when there are many other choices.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Repetition: Disdain or Delight

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    June 11, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Interesting post–I’m not sure where I stand. I like variety but I’m happy to reread a favorite book or see a good movie more than once.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 11, 2011 at 7:13 am

      I hadn’t thought about watching a movie I’ve already seen. Just did that last evening and enjoyed it. There aren’t too many books that I have read more than once because I always have a stack I want to get through if I have the time.

       
  2. Linda Anderson

    June 11, 2011 at 8:58 am

    The Bible says we are to be as children! To see through the eyes of a child is exactly the perfect way to see a caterpillar, a bird, a rock, a cloud, even the book from the library. And repeating over and over is how they learn and how WE learn too. Remember your flight training? We had to repeat those landings over and over until we got it right. And in all reality, YOU see things and share them like new eyes for those who read your blog! Thank you!

     
    • flyinggma

      June 11, 2011 at 10:40 am

      Thanks Linda! Hope you are having a wonderful repetitive weekend. 🙂 Mine will be filled with lots of repeating. Laundry, window washing, grass cutting etc.

       
  3. nrhatch

    June 11, 2011 at 11:44 am

    When we tune in to the present moment . . . we realize there are no ordinary moments. Trouble is, as adults, we are lost to the moment and don’t “see” things through the eyes of a child.

    When we become awake and aware, we feel the breeze, smell the scents, hear the birds, and taste all that is offered right here, right now. Life is good.

    You might check out Pete The Cat:
    http://www.petethecat.com/
    http://www.amazon.com/Pete-Cat-Love-White-Shoes/dp/0061906220/ref=pd_sim_b_1#_

    It’s our youngest nephew’s favorite at the moment ~ BFF had to read it to him about 5 times a day.

    Cock-A-Doodle-Moo!

     
  4. harrisonjones

    June 11, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I hope I never lose the desire to learn. The internet is a wonderful source, but a library or book store remains my favorite places to spend time. Diane is a genealogist and we spend hours in the basements of old court houses and the state archives researching family histories. To hold a book in my hands and read what someone hand wrote a hundred and fifty years ago is an experience I never grow tired of. Glad your grandson has inherited an attraction to books.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 11, 2011 at 4:56 pm

      I spent an entire summer transcribing oral histories from some the oldest people living in Minnesota one summer. Just listening to some of their stories gave me a true appreciation of how richly we are blessed during the times we are living.

       
  5. Mark Petruska

    June 12, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I loved reading books to my kids when they were younger. Often, they’d pick the same ones every night, and while I initially rolled my eyes in exasperation, I soon came to appreciate the repetition. Even though it’s been years since I’ve looked through those books, I still recall nearly every word to Dinner At The Panda Palace and all the others.

     
  6. Carol Ann Hoel

    June 12, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Something old, something new. I like both. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      June 14, 2011 at 7:32 am

      Thanks Carol. I do like the comfort of the old and the excitement of learning something new.

       
  7. pattisj

    June 12, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    I like trying new things, but not a steady diet of it. There’s comfort in coming back to the familiar basics, though I tend to wait until I’ve forgotten part of a movie before watching it again.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 14, 2011 at 7:33 am

      I agree with you on the steady diet of new things like starting a new job where you are bombarded with so much new you can’t seem to take it all in at once.

       
  8. pearlsandprose

    June 13, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    You’re doing such a wonderful thing sharing your love for books with your grandson, Jeanne. I loved the part about him backing up so you could pick him up to read. My oldest son loved “Green Eggs and Ham,” and I read that every night for months! Repitition is comforting to a child facing an unpredictable world.

     
  9. flyinggma

    June 14, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Thanks Ms Pearl. Our oldest son loved Green Eggs and Ham too. I remember the days of taking him to the bookmobile that would come to town once every two weeks to pick out new books, climbing the stairs into the big bus and he would immediately sit on the floor in front of the books and start looking for ones to take home. Now I try to take my grandson to the library to pick out books each Wednesday to give his Mom a little break and to start him with a love of books.

     
  10. writerwoman61

    June 15, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    I don’t mind repitition in kids’ books. However, I rarely read adult books twice or watch movies more than once.

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      June 16, 2011 at 9:47 am

      I rarely read the same adult book twice or watch the same movie twice. There are so many new choices out there.

       
  11. ournote2self

    June 16, 2011 at 8:49 am

    My daughter is 1 year old and she has a favorite book. I find it interesting that she can spot that book out of a huge selection. It’s funny that at such a young age…something about that book stands out to her. She makes me read it over and over, and she laughs every time! 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      June 16, 2011 at 9:44 am

      My grandson will also pick out his favorite book out of a pile of ten books. He knows what he is looking for when he wants his book.

       

Leave a Reply

 
