RSS

Solitary Tree: A Place of Refuge

05 Jun

As I drive past the many farm fields in our area there are a few sights that capture my attention. I love old barns, cupolas, pastures filled with animals grazing and a solitary tree.

The solitary tree means many things to me. It signifies a place of refuge from the hot sun. It denotes the passing of time just thinking about how long it took for it to grow to its present size. It means patience because some farmer for years has patiently planted and harvested his crops around that tree allowing it to grow. It also begs to be a gathering place for an old-fashioned picnic.

I imagine as I pass by those solitary trees young farmer’s wives bringing out some refreshments for those working the fields in days gone by when farming wasn’t so mechanized. I imagine an occasional afternoon nap under those trees before chores began again after lunch or perhaps the first kiss of sweethearts.

Trees are an investment in the future. They are not easy to plant, nurture and work around but they are worth it. It is heartbreaking to have to cut down diseased trees or clean up ones taken by storms. This past week we have removed two large trees both diseased in our yard with a couple more that still need to be removed. We need to plant more trees in the yard to replace those that have died.

I hope that we are as patient as the farmer and will nurture and mow around our trees so they may be enjoyed by those who come behind us. I want to be a good steward of what we have been blessed with so others may be blessed as well.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2011 in Nature, Photography, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Solitary Tree: A Place of Refuge

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    June 5, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Very nice!

    “The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit. ”

    ~Nelson Henderson
    .

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 6:10 am

      Thanks Thomas! i wish I would have found that quote but am so happy that you shared it in your comment. It reflects all that I meant to say.

       
  2. carldagostino

    June 5, 2011 at 4:34 am

    I wish the megacorps and industrialists could become stewards instead of eco-rapists. To revere the earth with the animism of the North American Indians.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 6:12 am

      I wish that I could become a better steward of all that I am gifted with especially water.

       
  3. CMSmith

    June 5, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Solitary trees do call out to us. I think we recognize the shade and shelter they offer.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      There is no place cooler on a hot day other than water than under the shade of a tree.

       
  4. planejaner

    June 5, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I don’t know why, but my mind went straight to Psalm 1:
    Psalm 1
    BOOK I
    Psalms 1–41
    1 Blessed is the one
    who does not walk in step with the wicked
    or stand in the way that sinners take
    or sit in the company of mockers,
    2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
    and who meditates on his law day and night.
    3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
    which yields its fruit in season
    and whose leaf does not wither—
    whatever they do prospers.
    4 Not so the wicked!
    They are like chaff
    that the wind blows away.
    5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
    nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

    6 For the LORD watches over the way of the righteous,
    but the way of the wicked leads to destruction.

    🙂
    beautiful photo, Jeanne. You have such a gift for capturing images that stay with me long after I have logged off.
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      Thank you for sharing that Psalm this beautiful Sunday morning. I’ve been driving past that tree for weeks but this week I stopped and took time to ponder it’s beauty and it’s presence on this earth.

       
  5. nrhatch

    June 5, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Gorgrous images ~ both words and photo.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      Thanks Nancy! I’m trying to play with black and white images a little bit and getting back into more writing.

       
  6. klassikurvz

    June 5, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    The beauty of the picture,and the uplifting words that follow are refreshing. Lovely.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      Thank you, I’m trying to live a life of gratitude and be thankful for the sacrifices of others who lived before me.

       
  7. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    June 5, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Love this photo and your reflections on it. The tree reminds me of that wonderful scene in the movie “The Shawshank Redemption” in which the character “Red” sits beneath the tree to which his escaped frend had directed him and uncovesr the message he had left for him beneath a rock wall by the tree.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 5, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      I love the Shawshank Redemption movie! Thank you for your kind words Paula. Hope you are feeling better.

       
  8. pattisj

    June 6, 2011 at 1:20 am

    That’s such a majestic tree. Bent and strengthened by the storms of life, yet never broken.

     
    • flyinggma

      June 6, 2011 at 6:24 am

      Last evening when we were out for a motorcycle ride I saw another tree that i would love to take a picture of with a freshly plowed field all around it. It would go so much better with the thoughts I expressed,

      I love “bent and strengthened by the storms of life, yet never broken” That would be the prayer for my life. That as the storms come i would be bent in new directions even though it might be painful but would become strengthened in the process but not broken.

       
  9. writerwoman61

    June 7, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Thank you, Jeanne, for being a steward of trees…

    Your photo reminded me of the apple tree that grew in the middle of our field when I was growing up. My dad built a treehouse in it for us. In the winter, my mom managed to “find” that one tree on a toboggan…she bruised her tailbone…I don’t think she ever went out sliding again!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      June 7, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      I love trees Wendy. I was so sad to read one of your latest posts about the tree and lilacs coming down in your yard.

       

Leave a Reply

 
