RSS

A Mental Health Day

24 May

When my sister had a job working for a doctor and she needed a day off she wouldn’t call in sick when she wasn’t sick she just expressed the need for a mental health day.

She felt that it was lying if you called in sick and really weren’t sick.  So she was honest and expressed her need for a change in scenery for the day.

Yesterday I told my boss, my husband, that I needed a mental health day. A friend picked me up from the office at 10:00 and we drove about 45 minutes to Crooked Willow. It is barn that has been remodeled and the out buildings into a set of antique and gift shops.

I’ve been driving past this place for the past five years thinking someday I will find the time away from work to go and check it out. It was a blue sky day after the past four rainy days, perfect!

I’ve decided that I want the room up in the top of the remodeled silo. Windows all around, kind of like the princess thing going on. I could get some serious daydreaming done up there.

I love that people have dreams and follow them through to completion for others to enjoy. This place was beautiful. Everywhere you looked you could tell that someone lovingly thought about the placement of every item. I’m sure that it was in hopes of selling more items but it was more than just that, it was pleasing to the eye. You wanted to look more.

This is a view inside the Summer Kitchen. One of my favorite things in this building was a bed hanging from the ceiling from four large ropes with a cushy mattress on top of a platform decorated with a fresh looking blue and white quilt, so inviting. I didn’t take a picture of the bed but here are a couple of others things I did take pictures of in the Summer Kitchen.

As we wandered, my friend and I talked. Dreams, hopes and plans for the future perhaps just as two other friends had done at some time in the past to dream this place into existence.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

23 responses to “A Mental Health Day

  1. 1959duke

    May 24, 2011 at 8:16 am

    We all need those days. Mental Health is just as important as physical health.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 8:49 am

      You are so right Duke. There are days that I let work get in the way of life. It’s important to maintain friendships and that takes time away from work to be able to listen and talk.

       
  2. carldagostino

    May 24, 2011 at 8:24 am

    The summer kitchen: What a cluttered up dust collecting mess. I love it and would never tire of inhaling all that quaint enchantment reading, drawing or napping on that turquoise bamboo chair

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 8:48 am

      I too, could have spent much time reading there, sitting and napping as well, Carl. Sometimes a special place invites us to be more creative and relaxed.

       
  3. writerwoman61

    May 24, 2011 at 9:15 am

    Glad you had a good day off, Jeanne! That silo is pretty neat!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 9:56 am

      I was telling my husband about it and showed him a picture. I would like one next to my home. I asked him if he thought some farmer would sell me one and he said it probablly would be cheaper and easier to build one than to try and move it and remodel it.

       
  4. sunshineinlondon

    May 24, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Love it, Jeanne! What a wonderful way to reinvigorate yourself for the week ahead! I’d also love to walk around that house and imagine the lives that were lived there…
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      Thanks Sunshine. I had some good visiting time with a friend and a great lunch at another location.

       
  5. harrisonjones

    May 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Thanks a lot Jeanne. Now Diane wants to go look at antiques.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      I’m not much for purchasing antiques but I love to visit with friends who like to go to antique shops. It’s fun to think about the history that goes with many of the pieces.

      You and Dianne would have great fun walking and talking while looking at antiques.

       
  6. pearlsandprose

    May 24, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    I’m a firm believer in mental health days.

    What a great place to go! I love stuff like that and wish I had the ability to throw things together that way. There’s a shop near me that is beautiful in every single corner. I could take dozens of photos, and it’s a small place.

     
  7. flyinggma

    May 24, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    My friend thought it was funny that I brought my camera with to take some pictures. I enjoy that more than the purchase of antiques.

    Mental health days rock!

     
  8. Carol Ann Hoel

    May 24, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    What a great mental health day with your friend! Thank you for sharing your day with us. The photos are lovely. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
  9. nrhatch

    May 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Awesome day off, Jeanne!

    Loved the photos . . . and the silo. What a great place to hang out and daydream.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 6:57 pm

      I enjoyed the day off and especially the location. I love the silo and would love to have it here or something like it.

      Maybe they will rent it to me for a day of daydreaming from above??

       
  10. Patricia

    May 24, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    \O/ mental health days! Thanks for posting the pictures.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 24, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      I love mental health days and seeing new places. I just need more of those days for sure.

       
  11. planejaner

    May 25, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I had an employer who gave each one of us on staff one mental health day a month. 🙂
    He also brought in a masseuse, once every 2 months, and we split the time she was there between those of us who wanted a massage.

    ah, the days.
    Your day looked lovely–I am happy you took a day for wandering and dreaming.

    blessings
    jane

     
  12. pattisj

    May 25, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I love visiting places like that, they have a way of making one feel grounded. There are many times when I was working that a mental health day would have come in handy. What a wonderful idea.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 25, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      I love visiting places that inspire me to want to try something new or improve on something I already do. One of the best days I spent off was a day class at the local arboretum. I learned so much in just one day about things I have seen for years but not known much about.

       
      • pattisj

        May 25, 2011 at 8:37 pm

        I had never thought of something like that. I like the way you think! I didn’t even realize there was an arboretum in our area until a friend on Facebook mentioned taking the kids there.

         
      • flyinggma

        May 25, 2011 at 9:20 pm

        I love the different seasons here in Minnesota more once I learned more about the plants and trees in our area. This spring I have spent a lot of time searching out the local wildflowers that I learned about at the arboretum. I also recommend Stan Tekiela field guides. He has books on trees, birds, wildflowers and so much more. He makes it easy to look up things you don’t know by the way he has the books laid out.

         
  13. pattisj

    May 25, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Sounds good! Thanks, appreciate the info.

     

Leave a Reply

 
