RSS

Spring: My Season of Productivity

17 May

This morning as I stood under our maple tree looking towards the blue skies I thought “I could get a lot done today if I stayed home from work.”

Mornings that I wake up and see blue skies, sunshine and feel the warmth in the air energize me. This morning before work I washed three loads of clothes and hung them out on the line. Spent an hour on my bible study homework and picked up a few things out of place.

If I were home today it would be a perfect day to throw open the windows and let the fresh air in and start washing windows. I know why in the old days women did their spring cleaning. It was not just because they needed to do it after the long winter, they felt capable of doing it. During the winter my energy level is much lower and I feel like I get so much less accomplished.

During this season I spend very little time indoors so I can savor the perfect weather. I love to be outside in the flower garden, down by the lake or just take a walk. I can’t help but notice the daily changes around me. During the winter everything seems to stay the same other than a little more snow than the day before.

As I was walking around the yard this morning I could hear activity in the air. The birds were singing, tractors in the distance, motorcycles on a nearby road and voices of others outside on this beautiful morning.

Today is a day that many things will be accomplished.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to “Spring: My Season of Productivity

  1. carldagostino

    May 17, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Picture would make great Bible bookmark

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 9:04 am

      Thanks Carl.
      In some ways because of the red color of the leaves it reminds of fall. Do you have a specific bible verse you would put on the bookmark?

       
  2. carldagostino

    May 17, 2011 at 9:23 am

    My favorite verse? Paul speaking. II Timothy, 4:14. “Alexander the coppersmith did me great harm; the Lord will requite him for his deeds.” Hahahahahahahahah. Please forgive my impertinence.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 9:55 am

      I love your impertinance and sense of humor Carl.!

       
  3. writerwoman61

    May 17, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Gorgeous photo, Jeanne…could you please send some of that nice weather east? Thanks!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

      I’d love to bring the nice weather personally Wendy. I think it would be fun to see your bookstore and meet you in person!

       
      • writerwoman61

        May 17, 2011 at 11:02 am

        That would be awesome, Jeanne…you would love the Maritimes! Beautiful photo opportunities galore, and friendly people…

        You’re welcome any time!

        Wendy

         
      • flyinggma

        May 17, 2011 at 11:10 am

        It’s on my wish list at this point but not impossible 🙂

         
  4. countingducks

    May 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Beautiful photo. Nice reflection. Glad I came across it

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 10:27 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Always fun to see new faces!

       
  5. planejaner

    May 17, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Jeanne–
    sounds like you did more before breakfast than I get done ALL day! I agree with you–the change in light and the changes in nature all conspire to change US, too, into more energized human beings…the stagnant dormancy is over…and rebirth happens.
    I love your picture…you are so gifted behind your lens!

    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      This was rare morning of energy for sure Jane. I look forward to more days when I can get some things done and more sunshine.

       
  6. nrhatch

    May 17, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed, Jeanne.

    You go, girl!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 11:00 pm

      I’d say you could be impressed if my energy were sustainable unfortunately I crash and burn following a day of such accomplishments.

       
  7. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    May 17, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Appreciating the glory around us on days such a this is the very best thing you could ever accomplish!

    “I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field and don’t notice it.” Or even if you chance upon a golden newly sprouted maple leaf. . .

    Thanks for noticing it, and thanks for sharing!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      I didn’t get too much else done in the past few days except a whole lot of pictures I’m trying to figure out what to do with. Tomorrow morning I’m checking out my favorite wildflower spot to see what’s new in past week. Oh how I do appreciate the glory around me this year with my camera in hand.

       
  8. Carol Ann Hoel

    May 17, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I felt the energy in your words and wanted to throw open the windows and start in with spring cleaning. Ha! We have huge windows, wall to wall, but they do not open. I also love springtime. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
  9. flyinggma

    May 17, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    My office has hugh windows that don’t open. I wish they did for some fresh air. They need to be washed even more than the windows at home. Blessings Carol!

     
  10. pattisj

    May 18, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I admire all that energy, you had a very productive day, I’d say.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 18, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      I did have a productive day yesterday but I always end up paying for it the next day. I was just exhausted when I finally went to bed but it was a good tired.

       

Leave a Reply

 
