RSS

Weekly Photo Challenge:Red

14 May

This week when they posted the theme for this week’s photo challenge I was on my way to racetrack. I was thinking about what I could use for the challenge not really thinking of a race track theme.

I was watching out the truck window trying to see some old red barns or farm buildings but there weren’t many within shooting range of the freeway as my husband was driving.

We arrived at the racetrack and everywhere I looked I saw red. After a while of wandering around the racetrack in the far back corner of the pits I found this on the side of a piece of farm equipment and decided my theme for red is versatile.

As we arrived at the track this was the first scene I saw when we checked in. I love the red-checkered shirt. It was a very cold 41 degrees with a strong north wind with an occasional misting.

After we checked in I saw the pace truck that carries the flag around the track during the National Anthem each week.

Then we headed up to the grandstands to grab a cup of coffee to warm up before the races started. It was the first of many trips up the hill to the grandstand that I made last evening in an attempt to warm up from the inside out.

After retrieving our coffee we headed over to the tech shed for the drivers meeting and saw this old car that has gone through a few changes. It’s not one of the cars that is raced at the track just a hobby car for one of the guys.

My favorite picture was a photo I took of the tech shed last week at the track under much warmer conditions. I love the reflection on the pond of the red truck.

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge:Red

  1. nrhatch

    May 14, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Wonderful shots.

    Amazing how cold it is there still. A “cold front” came through here today ~ it’s 76 right now.

     
  2. flyinggma

    May 14, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I can’t believe it is still cold. I am so anxious to work in my flower garden and yard but it has been just miserable here. Last evening I kept expecting to see snow flakes flying. I’d take a cold front with 76 in a heart beat.

     
  3. Thomas Stazyk

    May 14, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Great pictures! I’m not sure whether the 57 Chevy modifications are an improvement or not but I love the color.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm

      I’m not a fan of the improvements to the Chevy but they have fun with the car so I guess it suits their needs.

       
  4. klassikurvz

    May 15, 2011 at 12:05 am

    Great textures of red.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 15, 2011 at 7:27 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Klassi

       
  5. writerwoman61

    May 15, 2011 at 10:27 am

    My favourite is the one of the grandstand seats, Jeanne!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      May 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      I like the shot of the grandstand seats too. They were only about half-full by the time the races started due to the unseasonably cold weather.

       
  6. Patricia

    May 15, 2011 at 10:38 am

    Interesting that if you had not been looking for red you wouldn’t have noticed how much there is at the track.

    Great shots.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 15, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      That is so true. I spent every weekend there last summer and never noticed until I had a reason to notice.

       
  7. Carol Ann Hoel

    May 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Red is a great color for racing. Red is versatile – the color for excitement, rage, emergency, blood, love, and perhaps a good color for speed! Great photos! Blessings to you…

     
  8. flyinggma

    May 15, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    I couldn’t believe how many red things I saw at the track. I’m just thankful that they didn’t have to throw the red flag which completely stops the racing immediately usually due to a crash.

     
  9. pearlsandprose

    May 16, 2011 at 10:50 am

    Red seems to equal speed when it comes to cars, doesn’t it?
    I love the shots of the vintage sign and the bleachers!

     
  10. flyinggma

    May 16, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I love that I found an antique piece of equipment with Versatile on it. Fun find. I enjoyed the races more on Friday with the Photo Challenge to work on in between races. It was a distraction from the cold.

     
  11. Patti

    May 17, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Love the reflected red and the bleachers!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 17, 2011 at 10:23 am

      The bleachers seem to be the favorite shot. I tried different places to get just the right shot before they started filling up. The reflected red is one of my favorite pictures fromt the track.

       

Leave a Reply

 
