RSS

Brenda Photo Challenge: Repeating Patterns

29 Apr

Today one of the blogs that I like to read has a Photo Challenge with the theme of Repeating Patterns.

I had a hard time choosing which photo I wanted to use. I choose a picture of a Victorian style home that I took in Minneapolis. I love it for the repeating patterns in the gingerbread.

 My eyes dance from one pattern to another on the home eager to pick up all the details. I didn’t notice at first the broken portions of the gingerbread until I cropped the photo.

I’ve always loved the pictures of the “Painted Ladies”. This is about as close as I have come to see one except that this home lacks the colorful palette of some of the Victorian homes.

I also love the reflection of the tree and clear blue skies on the windows.

If you would like to check out the other interpretations of the theme they can be found at:

http://brendaphotochallenge.blogspot.com/2011/04/repeating-patterns-4-30-11.html

 
22 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in Architecture, Photography, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

22 responses to “Brenda Photo Challenge: Repeating Patterns

  1. nrhatch

    April 29, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Nice shot . . . even with the “bite” out of the gingerbread trim.

    Cape May NJ has some beautiful painted ladies in all colors of the rainbow.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 29, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      I’d love to see some of the painted ladies especially now that I have my new camera.

       
  2. carldagostino

    April 30, 2011 at 7:33 am

    One of my cartoon publishers is in Brisbane , Australia. They have many houses there like this and variations I see there from photos he has sent me. Must be messy with birds and spiders in all those crevices and grooves and such. If I was the painter I would have to charge 5X price because it is slow going with that stuff.

     
  3. flyinggma

    April 30, 2011 at 9:17 am

    I never thought about having all the critters living in the gingerbread or having to paint it. You would have to charge more for sure.

     
  4. Kathy

    April 30, 2011 at 10:37 am

    I love old homes like this. Nice pic.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 30, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting on the photo.

       
  5. Dave

    April 30, 2011 at 11:48 am

    What a shame about the damage, still makes for a great photo for repeating pattens though.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 30, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Dave. The house is actually a fraternity or sorority house for the University of Minnesota so I am surprised that there isn’t more damage.

       
  6. brenda

    April 30, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Absolutely perfect example of a repeating pattern! Great composition!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 30, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      Thanks Brenda. I had a hard time choosing a repeating pattern. I love to quilt so I immediately started thinking of quilt patterns. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Jeanne

       
  7. Donna M.

    April 30, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Lovely trimwork and photo! the victorian ladies sure do know how to shine!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 30, 2011 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks Donna. I always dreamed of having a Victorian home with a turret on top.

       
  8. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 30, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    It’s beautiful. I, too, like the reflection of the tree branches in the window. It’s a masterpiece in itself. Thank you for sharing, Jeanne. Blessings to you…

     
    • flyinggma

      April 30, 2011 at 9:05 pm

      Thanks Carol. I’m always looking out for what is being reflected. Sometimes that is what is most interesting.

       
  9. Lori Lindsey

    April 30, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Great examples of repeating patterns. I love the composition with the tree in the front. Good work!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 30, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Thanks Lori. If we wouldn’t been in traffic and had passengers with us at the time I took the shot, there were a few other angles I would have liked to take pictures from especially the front door area.

       
  10. Booksphotographsandartwork

    April 30, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    It’s so dreamy. Love it.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 1, 2011 at 12:11 am

      It’s the kind of home that dreams are made of and thoughts of princesses and princes living within.

       
  11. Marissa

    May 1, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    What a great choice of photo for the repeating patterns! It’s amazing how many patterns in this one house.

     
    • flyinggma

      May 1, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      Thanks for stopping by by blog! I love all the patterns in the home and I only featured a small portion of the home.

       
  12. Donna (Texas)

    May 2, 2011 at 7:15 am

    Sorry to be late but I had company in for the weekend…

    LOVE this! Cool shot….How I would Love to live in one of those old houses!
    SO happy you played along! I should have the next challenge up later this evening!
    hughugs

     
  13. writerwoman61

    May 2, 2011 at 9:27 am

    This is my favourite kind of house…old, with lots of gingerbread! Beautiful photo, Jeanne!

    Wendy

     

Leave a Reply

 
