RSS

What’s This? A Photo Mystery

27 Apr

Tonight after work I took this photo. Can you guess what it is or where it was taken?

It’s really not that hard to guess what it is given that we have seen more than our share of it this year. That’s right…More snow.

The photo is an enlargement of a reflected tree on the hood of a black truck in our backlot with snow flakes mixed with the rain. The good news is they are only predicting one inch of snow tonight and it should melt tomorrow. I feel like a broken record talking about snow once again. I should count my blessings that it is not destructive tornadoes.

Here is the original photo before I cropped it for the above photo. I like both. It looks like I was taking black and white photos but I wasn’t. That’s just how gray and dark it is here once again.

On a sunny note I have another adventure in the works for this weekend. I won’t let the cat out of the bag yet but will post photos for my mystery adventure. One clue…it involves an airplane(of course). More details(photos) to follow.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Nature, Photography, Reflections

 

Tags: , , ,

19 responses to “What’s This? A Photo Mystery

  1. planejaner

    April 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Wow, Jeanne. That is just gorgeous, and haunting, and lovely…
    It speaks desolation and coldness and isolation…

    really just beautiful….
    blessings
    jane
    p.s. looking forward to your next adventure.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 27, 2011 at 10:41 pm

      I spent about 15 minutes after work tonight trying to capture the snow in a unique way since it was melting on most surfaces on contact.

      I saw the hood of the truck had snow which didn’t melt on contact because it the metal was colder than most surfaces.

      The best part of capturing the snow was the reflection of the tree on the hood.

       
  2. nrhatch

    April 27, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I don’t know whether to laugh 😀 or cry 😥

    But you’re right . . . snow is better than tornadoes.

    I’m excited to hear more about your mystery adventure! 😎

     
    • flyinggma

      April 27, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      I don’t know what to do either lately. I have been looking forward to spring for some renewed energy to get some things done.

      I love the longer days but when the weather doesn’t cooperate it might as well be dark if I can’t work outside in the yard.

      I will definitely write and photograph my mystery adventure. Something to look forward to beyond the snow.

       
  3. sunsetseasoul

    April 27, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Great shots! I love the compositions and the B&W.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 27, 2011 at 10:50 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and the kind words. I am having a lot of fun with my new DSLR camera which I purchased in January.

      I hope to learn more from other great photographers like you and other photography sights I visit.

       
  4. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 28, 2011 at 1:03 am

    It’s hard to fathom that you are getting more snow. You have my sympathy. And yes, we are fortunate to have not been in the path of any of those awful tornadoes. Your photos are great. I love trees, so I really like the one that so clearly shows the reflection of the tree. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      April 28, 2011 at 7:17 am

      If nothing else the snow gives me more opportunities to try and capture it in new ways in my photography. Pictures of reflected items are some of my favorite photos especially trees. I find myself looking at water wherever I see it to see what is reflected in it. Blessings Carol, Jeanne

       
  5. carldagostino

    April 28, 2011 at 4:55 am

    Looks like a slice of octopus pizza to me

     
    • flyinggma

      April 28, 2011 at 7:14 am

      I love your artistic perspective Carl! Have you ever had octopus pizza? I think it would be something that I wouldn’t care to try.

       
      • carldagostino

        April 28, 2011 at 7:21 am

        No way. Ima mushroom and black olive man

         
  6. writerwoman61

    April 28, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Love the crop and the edit, Jeanne…beautiful shot!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      April 28, 2011 at 7:29 am

      Thanks Wendy. More opportunities to photograph snow in new ways. Yeah :/

       
  7. klassikurvz

    April 28, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Fabulous photo story. Sending you warm sunshine greetings and my eyes are looking for the upcoming weekend attraction. Klassi K

     
    • flyinggma

      April 28, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Thanks for stopping by Klassikurvz. I’m looking forward to sharing my adventure this weekend in photographs. The adventure doesn’t begin until Sunday morning.

       
  8. pearlsandprose

    April 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I love that second shot, Jeanne. Sorry you’re still having snow–hope it’s the last this season.

     
  9. flyinggma

    April 28, 2011 at 10:45 am

    I love the azaleas you posted on your blog. Truly beautiful. Soon we will have some color around here. Then be sure to remind me about wanting color when I start complaining about cutting all that green grass:)

     
  10. laura lok

    April 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    great use of available reflective surfaces to make this shot.!!!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 28, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      Thanks for the kind comment. It was fun to think of an interesting way to picture the snow when it was melting on every surface it touched.

       

Leave a Reply

 
