RSS

Easter Sunrise

24 Apr

 

“Why do you look for the living among the dead? He is not here; He has risen!”

 Luke 24:5-6

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Easter Sunrise

  1. Joe Clark

    April 24, 2011 at 10:04 am

    He has risen, indeed!

     
  2. flyinggma

    April 24, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Easter Blessings to you and Ardis! Jeanne

     
  3. carldagostino

    April 24, 2011 at 10:26 am

    The hymn “That Old Rugged Cross” seems to fit this cross. At first glimpse I asked myself if this is sun rise or a sun set but obviously it is a SUN RISE !!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 24, 2011 at 11:44 am

      I took this picture this morning at sunrise at a church in town. The cross is on top of a hill just outside of our small town of 400. Each Easter they have a sunrise service at the cross. This morning I drove over early to get some pictures before everyone else arrived.

      It does remind me of the “That Old Rugged Cross”

       
  4. nrhatch

    April 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Beautiful photo, Jeanne. Looks like you made it up in time for the sunrise service.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

      I did indeed! It was just a beautiful morning here. Frosty but sunny, clear skies.

       
  5. JoDee Luna

    April 24, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Amen! Beautiful photo and message!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 24, 2011 at 3:51 pm

      Thanks JoDee! Happy Easter to you and your family, Jeanne

       
  6. Penny

    April 24, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Nice blog. I so enjoyed the beautiful photos. The photo of the cross-reminds me too of the “The Old Rugged Cross” one of my favorite hymes.

    Happy Easter

     
    • flyinggma

      April 24, 2011 at 4:00 pm

      Thanks for stopping by on this beautiful Easter. Happy that you enjoyed the photos. I had fun getting up early this morning and heading out with my camera in the peaceful quiet hours before the rest of my house was up for the day. Jeanne

       
  7. laura lok

    April 24, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    happy easter. this is a beautiful picture.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 24, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Laura! Happy Easter to you as well, Jeanne

       
  8. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 24, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    He has risen, indeed! Thanks for the beautiful photo!

     
  9. flyinggma

    April 24, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Thanks Paula. Hope you had a great Easter with friends and family. Sounds like you had a busy time at church today. Jeanne

     
  10. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 24, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Very beautiful, Jeanne. The cross seems rugged as though it would be used for an execution. It gives me chills to look at it. Jesus was courageous to be willing to endure crucifixion for us.

    You came at just the right time to catch the sun at the perfect place. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you…

     
    • flyinggma

      April 24, 2011 at 9:21 pm

      It is a rugged looking cross on the hill. I loved watching the sun come up this morning.

      I still haven’t seen the movie “The Passion” because I didn’t want those images in my mind forever.

       
      • Carol Ann Hoel

        April 24, 2011 at 9:28 pm

        I saw it. It was horrifying. I wanted to run. The images didn’t stay in my mind as I feared they might, but the knowledge of how awful it was remains in my heart. Blessings…

         
  11. flyinggma

    April 24, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    I suppose the knowledge of how awful it was would be a good thing to remember but I still try to guard what my eyes see because I can’t seem to get rid of images I have seen that would rather not have seen.

     
  12. harrisonjones

    April 25, 2011 at 6:45 am

    I’ve spent far too many Easter Sundays in parts of the world that do not celebrate the occasion. Yesterday I was blessed to sit in church with three of my grandchildren while we watched their mother perform Amazing Grace on stage. Thanks for sharing the symbolic photo.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 25, 2011 at 7:33 am

      What a wonderful way to spend Easter morning. Yesterday our four children and grandson joined us for church, something that doesn’t happen very often.

      I love the new Chris Tomlin version of Amazing Grace. Is that the version she sang or the traditional version? Beautiful either one. Glad you liked the photo.

       
      • harrisonjones

        April 27, 2011 at 7:03 am

        She sang the new version. I like both also, although I find some of the praise music repetitive and bland. She reminds me that it’s the message that matters. She’s pretty smart for a girl :0)

         
  13. planejaner

    April 25, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    too beautiful–the entire day was almost more than I could handle–filled from beginning to end with blessing after blessing.

    It starts and ends with the cross.
    gorgeous photo, my friend.
    blessings
    jane

     
  14. flyinggma

    April 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Thanks jane. So happy you had a blessed day. Our day was wonderful with our church family and extended family. I love the Easter music especially the brass instruments they had playing in church.

     

Leave a Reply

 
