RSS

Contrast Inside and Out

20 Apr

This morning I am up early and noticed the changes that have occurred in some pussy willow and lilac branches that I cut and brought inside on Sunday, just three short days ago.

I was looking for some springtime even if it seems stubborn this year and will never get here.

The past few days the weatherman has again been forecasting snow for our area. We were supposed to get either a trace of snow, dusting or nothing at all while southern Minnesota would receive the brunt of the snow.

This morning as I looked out my window this is the picture I saw. Not exactly the springtime picture I was hoping for but maybe this is our new spring???

The picture was dark because it was at 6 am before I needed to leave this morning. The snow won’t last long but still it is discouraging to see.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “Contrast Inside and Out

  1. Linda Anderson

    April 20, 2011 at 6:48 am

    Spring will come! Flowers will bloom! You wait – you’ll see! God is faithful!

    Hope you get to go flying today! That will surely lift your spirits!

     
    • Jeanne

      April 20, 2011 at 9:27 am

      I won’t be able to fly today due to the overcast skies and snow but tomorrow if the weather cooperates I will take a much longer fun flight to Fargo, ND and back. Yeah!

       
  2. writerwoman61

    April 20, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Sorry about your snow, Jeanne! We’re supposed to get ice pellets and freezing rain tonight…

    I didn’t know that pussywillows went to seed like that…pretty little things!

    Wendy

     
    • Jeanne

      April 20, 2011 at 9:29 am

      I guess I knew in the back of my mind that pussy willows would turn to seed but I’ve never put them in water when I brought them in the house before so I’ve never seen that happen.

      I was so much fun to see that I couldn’t wait to get out my camera.

       
  3. pearlsandprose

    April 20, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Oh, that’s just not fair at all. It’s mid-April! I grew up in the Midwest, but don’t remember having such cold weather in April. I guess it’s selective memory. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      April 20, 2011 at 10:50 am

      Maybe we will get a beautiful summer out of the deal or a long warm fall.

      I am also plagued with selective memory..just ask my kids 🙂

       
  4. nrhatch

    April 20, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Thanks for sharing the cool photo of the pussy willow. I’ve never seen that before.

    Hope Spring springs out soon.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 20, 2011 at 11:20 am

      I’ve never seen it before that I remember so it was definitely fun to see the change.

       
  5. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 20, 2011 at 11:51 am

    I love pussy willows. I see that they are full of seedlings to drop into the earth or perhaps it is pollen waiting to be spread around by bees. Spring is near. This is probably the last you will see of snow this year. Spring is at your door. 🙂 Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      April 20, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      It’s so fun to see something new. It must be what it is like for someone to see a chrysalis turn into a butterfly for the first time.

      I always had monarch butterflies, caterpillars, and chrysalis in my classroom in the fall so the students could see the miraculous change happen before their eyes.

       
      • Carol Ann Hoel

        April 20, 2011 at 4:06 pm

        I’ve never seen that happen. What a nice thing for you to provide for your students!

         
  6. The Sidebar Review

    April 20, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    I know you’re ready for the spring! Beautiful photos. And I like your new layout!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 20, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      Hi Tyler! Thanks, I am having fun with the new camera and theme for the blog.

       

Leave a Reply

 
