RSS

Are We Done Yet?

18 Apr

Yesterday after church my husband and I took our son, daughter and grandson out for dinner.

When we were all finished eating and the waitress had cleared our table of everything except our coffee cups my grandson struck this pose. I couldn’t resist taking out my camera and taking a picture.

Afterall, the reason I carry my camera with me everywhere is in hope of getting the perfect picture someday. This one comes about as close to perfection in my book as I can get. Just a proud grandma speaking.

On our drive home I remembered times, not often, when my parents took us out to eat for our birthday breakfast at a pancake house. We would eat our breakfast and then sit not so patiently waiting for permission to get up from the table.

It always seemed like it took forever as Mom and Dad drank their coffee. Just how much coffee did they need anyway?

We wanted to go the wishing well that they had at the pancake house. It was a little wooden well that was filled with toys. Each child got to choose one toy from the well before they left.

My grandson wasn’t worried about any toy but he did want to see the large stuffed bear that resides just inside the restaurant doors. There were also deer and moose mounts that caught his eye.

When we let him out of his high chair he headed straight for the door and stood next to the bear and began jabbering as only 20 month old can do.

I could almost read his mind as he talked to the bear saying “Finally they are done with their coffee! I thought they would never finish!”

 
 

Tags: , , ,

21 responses to “Are We Done Yet?

  1. 36x37

    April 18, 2011 at 8:08 am

    What a wonderful photo! I love when very young children have the eyes of an old soul. What a fabulous moment to capture on film.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Thanks Maura. I just love the honesty in kids expressions.

       
  2. Linda Anderson

    April 18, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Great photo – what a cutie! Wow, what blue eyes!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 8:40 am

      He’s got beautiful eyes just like his Mom and Dad.

       
  3. nrhatch

    April 18, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Wonderful, Jeanne! He has such expressive eyes. Glad that you captured his pose on film.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 11:56 am

      I never go anywhere without my camera these days.

       
  4. writerwoman61

    April 18, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I can see that little guy on a cereal box! Cute as a button!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 11:59 am

      Thanks Wendy. I still remember all the Life cereal commercials when my kids were growing up.

       
  5. pearlsandprose

    April 18, 2011 at 10:40 am

    Jeanne, when I saw this photo, the first word that popped into my head was “perfect.” And I’m not his grandma. It describes the title so beautifully too!

     
  6. flyinggma

    April 18, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Thanks you. I definitely take that as a compliment from you. I love all your photos that I’ve seen on-line.

     
  7. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Just absolutely perfect, and magazine- (at the very least) worthy! I’ll have to admit that he comes as close to being as cute as our sons were and our granddaughter is as any other child I’ve ever seen! (Being the Mom/Granny that I am, I’ll never admit to any child being as cute or cuter! 😀 ) I can just feel your pride (justifiable) spilling off the page! We had dinner last night with our son and daughter-in-love and our little Zoë. I had brought my camera with me to take photos, but like an idiot, I left it in the car! 😦 It really was a shame, because she made more delightful faces and giggled so much – I wish I had some photos of her doing them all! I content myself with knowing that we will have lots more opportunities. She is 7 months old now.

    So glad you were in the right place at the right time and correctly equipped, and are such a great photographer to boot!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you so much for the compliment Paula. There is nothing that swells the heart more than a parent or grandparent showing off their pictures of children/grandchildren.

      I love your photos on your website and absolutely love the name Zoe.

      Looking forward to seeing some adorable pictures of Zoe soon. 🙂

       
  8. carldagostino

    April 18, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Seems like the little fellow will not have a problem having the right friends as he grows up

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      He is a friendly little guy and eager to please.

       
  9. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 18, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    What personality! He’s a handsome child. He looks like a wise little boy endowed with patience. Blessings, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      April 18, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      He is such a trooper. He pretty much goes with the flow no matter the circumstances. I think he’s handsome but a grandma is always biased.

       
  10. Todd Pack

    April 18, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    That is a great picture, technically and subject-wise.

    To answer the question, “Just how much coffee do they need, anyway,” the correct answer is, “How much you got?”

     
  11. flyinggma

    April 18, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Thanks Todd! I haven’t done much with portraits or people yet as you can tell from the past photos I’ve published but I do like how this one turned out. There is always time for more coffee!

     
  12. Adrian Pantonial

    April 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    This is a funny anecdote of your grandson, Jeanne. Lovely capture too!

    I like the presentation as well. Which software or where online did you make the black frame on this photo?

    By the way, I love your new Choco theme. =)

     
    • flyinggma

      April 26, 2011 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks Adrian! I had fun choosing a new theme and setting it up.

      For my photos with frames I use Photoshop elements 9.

      I know the older versions have the capability but I just bought the software and took a class to learn how to use the software. Very fun!

       
      • Adrian Pantonial

        April 27, 2011 at 4:52 pm

        Thanks for the information, Jeanne. I really have to make time to learn Photoshop.

         

Leave a Reply

 
