RSS

In Search of Pussy Willows

12 Apr

There are few things that mark the arrival of spring in Minnesota for me than seeing Pussy Willows for the first time each year.

Last week I went searching without success. I found the pussy willows but they weren’t open like they were today when I found them.

Each time I see Pussy Willows I am transported back in time to elementary school when my sixth grade teacher brought some Pussy Willows into school and put them in a vase on her desk. I think it was the first time I had ever seen them. She passed around a branch so we could touch them. I will always remember how soft they felt.

Today when I was on my way back to work at lunchtime I spotted the Pussy Willows in the ditch. I had my husband stop so I could take a picture. I walked carefully trying not to get wet feet while taking my picture. I was partly successful. I got the picture and only 50% of my feet got wet.

Now that I have found Pussy Willows it’s time to start searching for Cow Slips, guaranteed wet feet for sure.

Last evening I was sung to sleep by the sound of the frogs singing on the pond.

Oh, how I love spring!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “In Search of Pussy Willows

  1. planejaner

    April 12, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Jeanne–
    we used to fill every vase in our apartment when I was growing up with pussy willows and cherry blossoms…
    what a gorgeous photo, my friend.
    blessings
    jane

     
  2. flyinggma

    April 12, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks Jane. I was so sad to read about the loss of the Hemlock, other trees and plants in your neighborhood. I still remember when Dad cut down my favorite plum tree in our yard so many years ago.

     
  3. Patti

    April 12, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    I love pussy willows – nice photo! they’re so cool – they almost seem like they belong in a fantasy story.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      The first time I remember seeing them I didn’t think they were real. I thought they had been glued on somehow.

       
  4. Linda Anderson

    April 13, 2011 at 7:04 am

    Oh, that takes me back to my own childhood, just like you mentioned. As we arrived at the airport yesterday, the forsythia bushes on the West side of the main hangar are in full bloom! Like sunshine, they sure can brighten a day. And when we think of the glory of spring and the arrival of all the things of beauty, how can we not praise God, our Creator!!!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      I am in awe of the glory of spring and how it spurs us on to get busy for the new season.

       
  5. nrhatch

    April 13, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Beautiful shot.

    I expect you would like this post, Jeanne:
    http://rosaspicks.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/finches-and-pussywillows-by-helene-levasseur/

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      Beautiful site! I didn’t realize there was a painting a day site before. Another place to spend my time….

       
  6. pearlsandprose

    April 13, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I love them too, Jeanne. Glad to see spring is coming your way!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:32 pm

      Love all your beautiful spring photos that you have on your site today. It is a delightful season for sure!

       
  7. writerwoman61

    April 13, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Thanks for the memories, Jeanne…my mom used to have pussywillows in one of her giant pottery vases on the floor of our living room…she loved to take pictures of them as well. I haven’t seen any here yet, but they should be out soon!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      I haven’t brought any inside this year but a student or two would always bring them in for show and tell when I taught kindergarten.

      It would be fun to see some of the photos that your mom took. I bet they would be in black and white, some of my favorite photos.

       
  8. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 13, 2011 at 11:59 am

    I can’t get enough of spring this year. If there is a plant that represents my childhood, it would have to be pussy willows. My sister and I ran through wooded lands most of our childhood. There was much unimproved land around us. Finding pussy willows always excited me. They reminded me of kittens on branches. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful photo! Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      I love the pussy willows in the springtime as well as the cow slips. I am reminded of the end of the school year each year with the blooming lilacs and the bouquets that students used to bring to school.

       
  9. 36x37

    April 13, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Beautiful! What a cheerful photo. If you do grab a shot of cow slips, I hope you’ll post it. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      April 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks Maura! I plan on posting the cow slips as soon as they make their appearance for sure.

       
  10. audrey

    March 13, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    I TOO GROW UP IN MINNESOTA AND SPRING BROUGHT PUSSY WILLOWS WHERE DO YOU LIVE AND ARE YOU NEAR A CREEK. BROOKLYN CENTER MINNESOTA HAS A CREEK AND PUSSY WILLOWS AUDREY( I NOW LIVE IN CALIFORNIA)

     
    • flyinggma

      March 13, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      We live near a lake and creeks. It is always fun to find pussy willows each spring. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

       

Leave a Reply

 
