RSS

Weekly Photo Challenge:Old

09 Apr

Last week my husband and I wandered around his parents pasture behind the barn. This is a photo of a saw that was in the pasture. I look at it and can think of all the OSHA regulations that would apply for this piece of equipment operation in today’s work setting.

In our earlier years of marriage we burned wood to heat our home so most weekends were spent making wood but this is one thing we never used. I am always amazed at the early pioneers and their resourcefulness in making tools and machinery to meet their needs. I think that many of them were the most intelligent people who ever lived. I still look at my old sewing machine and combines with amazement.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2011 in Photography, postaweek2011

 

Tags: , ,

17 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge:Old

  1. planejaner

    April 9, 2011 at 9:59 am

    What a beautiful image–it hearkens back to the old days, for sure…
    nostalgic, and melancholy–especially nestled in the snow…
    blessings, Jeanne!
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      April 9, 2011 at 11:20 am

      I’ve taken a liking to all the old items I’ve run across lately for photographs. I look at them and start writing a story in my mind that could go with the item I have photographed.

       
  2. nrhatch

    April 9, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Cool pic! And OSHA would have a field day with that. 😀

     
    • flyinggma

      April 9, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Thanks! I had no idea the saw was out there or where it came from but it just begged to have it’s picture taken. 🙂

      On the OSHA note…In a time when every agency is struggling to meet their budgets I fear that we are entering a time when regulations will be enforced to the nth degree to collect fines to help meet budget shortfalls.

       
  3. Carol Ann Hoel

    April 9, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Beautiful photo of a once vital tool for someone.

    I remember sewing on my grandmother’s old machine that was operated by a foot pedal. It was made of black, wrought iron (I think that’s the word for it). It was an amazing old machine that didn’t require electricity. She used it long after electric machines were available.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 9, 2011 at 11:16 am

      I have one of those old sewing machines in my livingroom. My younger brother bought it while he was in the Navy stationed in Corpus Christi and he used it to shorten all of his uniform pants. When he got home he gave it to me for a White Elephant Christmas present. It still works.

       
  4. writerwoman61

    April 9, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    This is gorgeous, Jeanne…will show it to my dad…he’ll enjoy seeing it too!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      April 9, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Maybe your Dad will know the official name of the saw. Dean called it a buzz saw.

       
      • writerwoman61

        April 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm

        Dad says it’s called a “buzz saw.” His dad had one on their farm when he was growing up. He said it was necessary to pound on the blade with a ball peen hammer to make small dents in it, because they tended to fly apart without warning! “Dangerous as all get out” is how he described it. Dad took a welding class about 30 years ago, and said he tried to build one, but only got as far as the frame.

        Wendy

         
  5. 36x37

    April 9, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    What a cool photo, Jeanne. Old tools are so fascinating. But you’re right about those OSHA regulations–that made me chuckle.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 9, 2011 at 10:47 pm

      Happy to provide a chuckle. I’ve been telling my kids for the past year to mind their P’s & Q’s when driving because giving out tickets is one way for the city & county to add to their budgets.

       
  6. Linda

    April 10, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I can not imagine being a pioneer. The hard work they had to do was astounding. Or even earlier people. I always say that I would have been a naked, hungry and dead pioneer.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      I can’t imagine the long cold winters without seeing anyone but family like a lot of pioneers did in their day or the long hours they had to work to provide food for their families.

       
  7. Todd Pack

    April 11, 2011 at 9:02 am

    RE: OSHA regulations. Don’t think of it as losing a hand. Think of it as building character. Do you suppose our ancestors never thought once about safety?

    OBSERVER: “Do you think maybe you ought not to have the giant whirling saw blade out in the open like? Looks dangerous.”

    THE PERSON WHO BUILT THAT CONTRAPTION: “Huh?”

     
  8. pearlsandprose

    April 11, 2011 at 10:09 am

    So that’s what a buzz saw looks like! Great capture, Jeanne.

     
    • flyinggma

      April 11, 2011 at 10:54 am

      Thanks, sure enjoyed your carousel pictures this morning!

       

Leave a Reply

 
