RSS

So This is Springtime….

23 Mar

This morning I woke up with the John Lennon song So This is Christmas words running through my head and with good reason. We woke up to 8 inches of new snow here in Central Minnesota. Schools are closed and roads are in the process of being plowed. Never mind the fact that the calendar states that spring started this past Sunday.

We spent nearly an hour trying to help my son make it out of our yard with his car this morning so he could head into work. My daughter’s college classes were canceled except one and she emailed the professor and got permission for her to take her math test on Friday during a break between other classes. I am most thankful that she doesn’t have to drive 40 miles with her son on these roads today.

The boys basketball team will be departing for the beginning of the state tournament festivities today with a banquet this evening before the big game tomorrow. In Minnesota we all know that sometime during basketball tournaments that we will get a big snow either during the girl’s or boy’s state tournament. So true to past experiences we are blessed with snow for the tournaments.

Hope your day finds you warm and dry. It looks like a wonderful day for some homemade Chicken Dumpling Soup or a big crock pot of Chili.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

18 responses to “So This is Springtime….

  1. planejaner

    March 23, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    yum–what time is dinner?
    you sure are still locked into winter…wow.
    here, the sun is shining–i can’t believe it! It’s been dreary and rainy and wet and cold and dark and dank and damp and frigid and steely for weeks.

    blessings and best
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      March 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      WE were looking pretty good for spring until last evening then whammo 10 inches of new snow. Yuck!

      Dinner will be at 6pm if you can make it by then 🙂

      How’s that back doing? I hope much better.

       
  2. nrhatch

    March 23, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    That top photo is gorgeous . . . but I’m still NOT jealous. 😛

    Hope the snow doesn’t impact the B’Ball games.

     
    • flyinggma

      March 23, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      We should be fine. The roads are already starting to clear off and the snow has stopped a few hours sooner than forecast.

       
  3. Carol Ann Hoel

    March 23, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Wow! Now I understand your comment on my springtime post! When I lived in the Great Lakes area, I remember a big snow we had in April! Yes, April! Ridiculous! The good thing is that it probably will melt rapidly. I hope your spring weather is not far away. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      March 23, 2011 at 3:11 pm

      It’s already starting to clear off the roads. The only time my husband could not make it home from work because of snow was on April 11th. I can understand snow in April like you can. 🙂

       
  4. belleofthecarnival

    March 23, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I feel your pain! It’s snowing here this afternoon as well…I just want beg with Mother Nature “To Get on with it!” I need sun, tulips, and green grass. Oh! I miss the warm weather!

     
  5. flyinggma

    March 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    I’m with you I need sunshine, flowers, green grass and warm weather for sure.

     
  6. Thomas Stazyk

    March 23, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Your winter won’t go away and our summer is hanging on down here!

    I like your new look–was it hard to switch over?

     
    • flyinggma

      March 23, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Thanks Thomas. Could you please send some summer here? No fair hanging on to it for so long.

      Switching over was really easy. You can go to the theme area and pick a theme. You can preview how your blog will look with the new theme and then you can choose to activate it otherwise it will remain the same while you try different themes. This theme I think is called Licorice.

      The main thing is that some themes have options that others don’t.. If you noticed I no longer have a picture as a header. Than was not an option for this theme.

       
  7. Thomas Stazyk

    March 23, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks! I’ll experiment with some themes when I get back from the beach!

     
  8. flyinggma

    March 23, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    Rub it in Thomas…..Oh how I would love the beach today!

     
  9. JoDee Luna

    March 23, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    What beautiful scenery, even though your family’s plans were disturbed. Doesn’t Minnesota know it’s spring?

     
    • flyinggma

      March 24, 2011 at 7:45 am

      Thanks JoDee. The first photo is what I see out my kitchen window each morning to the south. The other two photos are out my livingroom window to the north. Usually you can see a lake out there but not with the snow yesterday or the fog last week.

      We are off to the state basketball tournaments this afternoon. Yay!

       
  10. writerwoman61

    March 24, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Sorry about your snow, Jeanne…I was sure we would get our usual St. Patrick’s Day snowstorm, but it hasn’t happened (fingers crossed).

    Mmm…chicken dumplings…

    Hugs,
    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      March 24, 2011 at 7:46 am

      I guess I’m over the snow I think. Today we head to the basketball tournaments so only a half day of work.

      Last night I didn’t have to make the Chicken Dumpling Soup my daughter Anna had it ready and waiting for us when we got home from work. Yum!!!!

       
  11. toemailer

    March 27, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Been cold in Canada this week, spring not in a hurry this year.

     
  12. flyinggma

    March 28, 2011 at 12:15 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more about spring not being in a hurry this year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
