RSS

Smell-O-Vision: What My Family Would Not Be Allowed to Watch on TV

07 Mar

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          It hasn’t happened yet but someday someone will develop the ability to provide smell with our television programs or movies. There are just some things that my family would not be allowed to watch when Smell-O-Vision comes to television.

One of the top five on my list would be Animal Planet.  I hate the smell of animals when walking through the zoo. Don’t get me wrong. I am an animal lover and have owned several pets. At one time in college I worked in a pet store while the owner went on vacation. I just don’t like a concentrated area of animal smells.

The next on my list would be CSI. I love the show but they get into their work a little more than my nose would enjoy especially the autopsy room.

Another favorite show at our home has been Dirty Jobs. The host often tells us how bad things really smell but I doubt that it could compare with the actual smell entering my livingroom.

Dr. G is always an interesting show on how she solves medical mysteries but just like CSI, I can do without the autopsy scenes and smells.

Hoarders would also top my list especially the shows where they have hoarded animals and they measure the urine level as toxic to humans. 

This is my short list for television shows.

I’m sure that you could add plenty more to the list if I started adding movies to my list. 

Now I have a whole other list for the show that would definitely be allowed like Rachel Ray and all the other fabulous cooking shows. A person could gain weight just smelling their wonderful creations.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Family, Humor, Life Happens

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Smell-O-Vision: What My Family Would Not Be Allowed to Watch on TV

  1. belleofthecarnival

    March 8, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Hahaha! Great Post! I can’t even watch Hoarders let alone smell it – it grosses me out!

     
  2. flyinggma

    March 8, 2011 at 9:06 am

    I don’t choose to watch Hoarders but sometimes my kids choose to watch it. I usually find something else to do while they are watching it. I just don’t understand letting things get so bad.

     
  3. Carol Ann Hoel

    March 8, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I’ve never thought about the smells that might emanate from certain TV shows if the aromas could actually permeate our own space as we watched. I am very sensitive to odors. I would turn off such presentations in a hurry! Blessings, Jeanne…

     
  4. flyinggma

    March 8, 2011 at 10:59 am

    As fast as things change, I imagine that will be the next possible direction. I think I would hold onto the old technology for as long as possible.

     
  5. 36x37

    March 8, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Ha! Very funny post! You’re right–Animal Planet would be a tough one to try to breathe in!

     
    • flyinggma

      March 8, 2011 at 12:02 pm

      I love going to the circus but the smell inside is some of what I imagine would be in my livingroom if smell-o-vision were available.

       
  6. planejaner

    March 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    I also wouldn’t want Oprah on smell-o-vision. I bet she wears stinky perfume.
    plus, I dislike her. I don’t enjoy smelling folks I don’t like.
    the evening news would NOT be a good one…or COPS.
    Also striking from the list “Three’s Company” as I imagine the pheremones coming through the tv would affect everyone.
    WOULD allow: Leave it to Beaver (cookies) and Laverne & Shirley (Milk & Pepsi, beer.)
    🙂
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      March 8, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      I haven’t thought about Laverne & Shirley for years. Happy Days would be good with the hamburgers, french fries and malts.

       
  7. Thomas Stazyk

    March 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Totally agree! I think World Wrestling Federation would be out too.

     
  8. flyinggma

    March 8, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I’m not a wrestling fan for sure but I can imagine the sweaty smells coming from the matches. I suppose locker room interview would be off-limits after football games for the same reason.

     
  9. Patti

    March 8, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Any program with smokers on it would be banned in our house! My husband can’t tolerate it at all!

     
  10. flyinggma

    March 8, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I never thought of the smoking. There isn’t as much of it pictured on TV as there used to be. I wouldn’t like smoke smell in my home. I grew up with it because my Mom smokes but I don’t like in my home, car or restaurants that I dine at.

     
    • Patti

      March 8, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Yeah, it would be more of an issue watching classic movies and old TV shows.

       
  11. pearlsandprose

    March 8, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I’m with you, Jeanne.
    Once cigarette advertising was banned on U.S. television, programs stopped showing smokers too. The only one I can think of is “Mad Men” and it’s based in the 50’s. I can’t stand the smoke–it burns my eyes.

     
    • flyinggma

      March 8, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      I can still remember the cigar smoke from when my Uncle Joe used to smoke. I wouldn’t want cigar smoke either. I’m so glad they don’t allow smoking in restaurants & bars in Minnesota anymore. We can go out to eat without coming home smelling like cigarettes.

       
  12. nrhatch

    March 8, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Except for cooking shows, I’d probably turn off the Smell O Vision feature.

    I wouldn’t want it on for sports events, shows with blood and guts, shows in hospitals, or certain cooking shows . . . like Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      March 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      I’d probably end up turning it off or keep my old technology without it.

       
  13. Patti

    March 8, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Ooh, I watch Survivor, too – probably wouldn’t want to smell that.

     
  14. writerwoman61

    March 8, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Fun post, Jeanne…I’m really glad there’s no such thing as Smell-o-Vision yet…my sense of smell is really strong (which is good because my eyesight is terrible!). I am easily grossed out by smells, and sometimes gag when I put things in my own compost bucket…

    Amazing Race would be a good one to ban for Smell-o-Vision…sometimes they are in countries where sanitation isn’t the same as in North America.

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      March 8, 2011 at 10:49 pm

      Last evening when I was working on this post my grandson walked up behind my daughter sitting on a kitchen chair and vomited all over her back. He is just 19 months. I cleaned him up and the kitchen floor while she went upstairs to clean herself up.

      That’s another smell I could certainly do without!

       
  15. Linda

    March 10, 2011 at 12:38 am

    Oh my gosh isn’t it weird how we are so protected from all of that stuff. We watch so many things and don’t think about how it might smell in real life. Or if we do it’s just a momentary thought.

    I went to our re-vamped animal shelter a few years ago and the woman who runs it was so proud but I am sensitive too a lot of animals in one place so when I walked in and almost threw up and accidentally said, it smells horrible she was so mad at me. It was really nice and so much better than it had been but I was about to die from the smell.

    Vomit just kills me. Poor baby I hope he is feeling better.

     
  16. markp427

    March 10, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    I’d have to ban Sesame Street, sadly. My favorite character, Oscar The Grouch? I’m sure his trash can positively reeks.

     
  17. flyinggma

    March 10, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    I’m with you on Oscar’s trash can. It can’t possibly smell good.

     

Leave a Reply

 
