RSS

Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow

04 Mar

While out on an afternoon walk near our hotel I took a picture of this palm tree and its shadow. I loved the color of the stripe on the wall and the beautiful blue skies. If only I could figure out a way to have a palm tree in my yard in Minnesota. It would certainly feel much warmer if I could look out my window and see a palm tree with its branches blowing in the wind.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow

  1. nrhatch

    March 5, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Great pic for the weekly challenge. I feel quite fond of palm fronds myself. They make me smile. 😀

     
  2. flyinggma

    March 5, 2011 at 10:19 am

    I love how the blue sky provides another blue stripe in the photo.

     
  3. belleofthecarnival

    March 5, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Great Pic! The contrast of the two blues looks very pretty against the swaying palm.

    I would also love to transplant sun, palms trees, and clear blue ocean to Alberta. But to no avail no luck 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      March 5, 2011 at 1:30 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. I love where we live with the different seasons but I love the more tropical plants and flowers.

       
  4. Linda Anderson

    March 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    That is indeed a neat photo. You have such a great eye. And I appreciate your thoughts. The thing I like about the various parts of the world is their uniqueness. I used to wish I could bring home certain plants or birds, only to realize that eventually I would not treasure them nearly as much. I would grow used to them and they would soon become everyday. The anticipation of landscape and skies, of trees and flowers in other parts of this beautiful earth we inhabit is part of the huge privilege and joy of traveling. The same is true with our changing seasons. We look forward to the butterflies, to the herons, to the first ripe tomato far more because we do not have them with us always!

     
    • flyinggma

      March 5, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      Nothing better than a fresh tomato from the garden. You can’t get that flavor from a grocery store. I look forward to the return of the monarchs and our summer birds.

       
  5. Thomas Stazyk

    March 5, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    That would make a great screen saver! I really like the building, too.

     
    • flyinggma

      March 5, 2011 at 6:47 pm

      Thanks Thomas! At this point in time I can still feel the warm of the breezes I felt that afternoon.

       
  6. thepetalpusher

    March 5, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    love the green palm against the vibrant blues and the diagonal lines.

     
    • flyinggma

      March 6, 2011 at 9:16 am

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love the black and white photo you have posted for the challenge. I loved the two blues that came out in the photo.

       
  7. sunshineinlondon

    March 6, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Beautiful photo, Jeanne – the colours, the stillness, the shadow, the warmth … you’ve captured it all. Palm trees are pretty special – how would one look in snowy Minnesota? 🙂
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      March 6, 2011 at 9:17 am

      I would love it if I could look out and see palm trees. Somehow it would seem warmer just with their viewing.

       
  8. Linda

    March 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Oh if only we were all surrounded by palms and beaches. how great that would be.

     
  9. writerwoman61

    March 6, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    I love that the shadow is just as detailed as the actual tree!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      March 6, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      It was such a clear blue sky day when I took the picture. I love the shadow as much as the tree itself.

       
  10. markp427

    March 6, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I’m very frond of this photo myself.

    Seriously. The shadow of the tree “fits” so perfectly into the confines of the building. Good job!

     
    • flyinggma

      March 6, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      Thanks Mark! I can always count on you for some humor in my day:)

       
  11. pearlsandprose

    March 7, 2011 at 8:53 am

    I like the two blue stripes as well. Nicely composed, Jeanne.

    I really grew to love palm trees when I lived in California and miss them a lot. It’s wonderful to fly in and see them at the airport right after you land. Then you know you’re in paradise.

     
  12. Patti

    March 7, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I really love how sharp the shadow is – like writerwoman said – it’s almost like another tree.
    And speaking as a native midwesterner with palms in her current yard, what it means when you have them nearby is that you’re so acclimated to the warm weather that you feel cold when it’s in the 60s….

     
    • flyinggma

      March 7, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      I could get used to feeling cold at 60 degrees. I hate all the extra layers of clothes that are required in the cold climates. I’m tired of boots, jackets, snow shovels…Am I complaining too much??? I shouldn’t complain today. The sun is shining and we’ve got beautiful blue skies today. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
