RSS

Gee, Toto, I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore or Minnesota for sure

20 Feb

Just a mere 24 hours ago I was just getting home from work thinking about all the things I needed to get done before we left for the airport on Sunday morning. I was upstairs getting my grandson down for a long overdue afternoon nap when my sister-in-law called and said they were in town and would be heading back to the Twin Cities last evening. She asked if we would like to ride home with them last evening and they would take us to the airport for our 11:10am flight. Our original plan was to have our son drive us down in the morning. This plan would save him a trip. 

I hadn’t packed anything yet so my husband and I started to gather our things in the suitcase. His sister wanted to leave by 6pm. After packing we headed down to the shop to gather the necessary papers we needed for our trip and then went over to my mother and father-in-law’s home where we were meeting my husband’s sister. We loaded up our stuff and started on our two-hour trip to the Twin Cities.

After we arrived at their home we sat down to a meal of homemade vegetable soup and fresh fruit. We visited and watched a couple of things on TV and then turned to the news for the latest weather forecast. They were forecasting 8-15 inches of snow for the Twin Cities on Sunday. About 10:30 last evening I decided to check my email before going to bed.  There was an email alert from Travelocity to contact them regarding our trip. When I called they informed me that our 11:10am flight to Milwaukee had been cancelled due to weather concerns and they were putting us on the 6am flight instead. 

The second leg of our trip from Milwaukee to Tampa was suppposed to depart at 2:03pm arriving at Tampa at 5:42 pm. I noticed that there was a flight leaving Milwaukee at 9:05 am and asked if it was possible to take the earlier flight to Tampa instead of the long layover. We got the last two seats on the earlier flight.  We arrived in Tampa by 12:44 instead of 5:45pm, a full five hours earlier than planned. We picked up our rental and began enjoying our trip.

For lunch today we visited a local restaurant Skidder’s and were treated to a wonderful meal. We ordered an appetizer and  one entrée to share and a couple of beers.  The food was wonderful and I loved that we could eat outside in the fresh air.  It will be months before we can do that back home.

   

There was more than enough food for two to share.  After we ate we walked back to our hotel and our room wasn’t ready yet so we headed down to the beach for a walk. We are definitely not in Minnesota anymore!

No, that's not me but maybe this week!

 
25 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2011 in Vacations

 

Tags:

25 responses to “Gee, Toto, I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore or Minnesota for sure

  1. Joe Clark

    February 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Welcome to Florida. And oh, by the way, we have officially moved into the “warm” season, as opposed to the “cold” season. (We only have two seasons here…)

     
    • flyinggma

      February 20, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      Thanks Joe. I threw my winter jacket in the trunk as soon as we picked up our car and pulled out the sandals. My toes can finally breathe!

       
  2. Linda

    February 20, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Looks like a fabulous time!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      We have already had fun this afternoon. Walks on the beach and plenty of sunshine and warm weather. All four of our grown kids are jealous. We left them at home to take of business at home and work.

       
  3. Ardis

    February 20, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Welcome to the Sunshine State! Enjoy the weather and the cuisine. You do realize you are going to get spoiled. Sometimes our visitors never find their way back home. Summers used to scare them away but we have air conditioning now.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 20, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      I’m spoiled already. My husband my have trouble heading me back north knowing that winter is still there. Love the taste of food we’ve had today. So many choices of things to eat and do.

       
  4. nrhatch

    February 20, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Yay! You made it!

    Your lunch looks delish! Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow! The weather should be picture perfect!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 20, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      The lunch was wonderful. We are so looking forward to seeing the sites with you tomorrow. I’m just fine with perfect weather considering what we left behind.

       
  5. writerwoman61

    February 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    The photos of your food are making me hungry, Jeanne! Have a great vacation!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      February 20, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      Thanks Wendy. Enjoy your week, Jeanne

       
  6. Annette Renee White

    February 21, 2011 at 12:45 am

    That food look so yummy that I am now really hungry 😉

     
    • flyinggma

      February 21, 2011 at 6:33 am

      I’m looking forward to finding more interesting food today.

       
  7. sunshineinlondon

    February 21, 2011 at 7:45 am

    Ah, having your toes out in the fresh air must be so liberating! Enjoy your time there, Jeanne – I love that it’s called the Sunshine State! And if I know you, you will go paragliding before this week’s out!
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      February 21, 2011 at 7:16 pm

      The Sunshine State is wonderful so far. It will be hard to go home to the latest 15 – 20 inches of new snow. The parasailing or gliding may not be in our budget this week, I will have to investigate.

       
  8. Carol Ann Hoel

    February 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

    My daughter lived just outside of Tampa for a while, so I had my opportunity to visit and enjoy. It’s nice being on the Gulf. She was in Oldsmar, a community just to the west, I believe, just over the line into Pinellas County. Beautiful area to visit. The high today in Tampa is 80 degrees and it’s 63 at 9:00 a.m., according to my iPhone weather app. No, you are not in Minnesota now, Jeanne. Enjoy! Blessings to you and your husband on your vacation…

     
    • flyinggma

      February 21, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      Thanks Carol. It was wonderful shedding a few layers of clothes especially the socks. It is a very beautiful area indeed!

       
  9. pearlsandprose

    February 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    We were in Florida in November and loved it. So glad you made it out ahead of the snowstorm! Enjoy all that sunshine and sand and great food. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      February 21, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      I am so thankful that we made it out ahead of the storm. I am having a lot of fun with my camera. I thought of you today as I spied a few interesting doors to photograph.

       
  10. planejaner

    February 22, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Have an excellent adventure!
    blessings
    jane

     
  11. flyinggma

    February 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks Jane. It is so much fun to see new things.

     
  12. 36x37

    February 22, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Have a wonderful trip! Maybe we’ll see a parasailing photo of you next week!

    Enjoy the sunny weather!

     
  13. flyinggma

    February 22, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    As much as I would love to parasail this vacation I don’t think it is in the budget but it is fun to watch. I hope you get your intro flight in soon so I can read about your flight. Happy flying Maura!

     
  14. tedgriffith

    February 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    I am so envious! Warm weather and sunshine. Hooray for you. Our forcast for tonight is “scattered snow fluries with an overnight low of 21. Hope you have a wonderful time.

     
  15. flyinggma

    February 23, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    It has been truly a delightful trip filled with new friendships. My husband and I have met three fellow bloggers on our trip in person. We’ve shared meals and stories together. It will be hard to head back north to all the snow we left behind.

     
    • The Sidebar Review

      February 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      It sounds like a good trip — even though the beginning was wonky. I’m glad to be one of the three bloggers you got to meet! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
