RSS

Small Town Living

11 Feb

Small town living isn’t for everyone but it suits me.  I love the charm of the old buildings.  Little Falls, Minnesota is the nearest larger town to where I live.  It’s about 20 miles from my home.  The estimated population in 2009 was 8067.  The population of the even smaller town where we live is 425.

This past week I took some pictures of some of my favorite places in Little Falls.  At some point in time they hired someone to paint some murals in some of the old buildings in town.  This is one of my favorite murals.

 

This past week I did a post on roman numerals on clock faces.  One of my favorite things in Little Falls is the clock on the old courthouse.

This is another photo that shows the Airport sign in it’s original location at the drive-in.  The quality of the picture isn’t the best because it is a picture of a picture.

This is a picture of the illuminated airport sign in the Black and White Cafe.

This is a picture of the Little Falls train station.  When I was young my Mom, brother and my two younger sisters road a train from the Twin Cities to Little Falls.  It was my first train ride and my Grandma met us at the train and drove us to her home about 30 miles from Little Falls.  My mom’s hometown was Little Falls.

The train bridge is still one of my favorite sites.

After taking the pictures of the bridge a couple of weeks ago I was talking to a customer of ours from Little Falls and he asked me if I knew that one half of the bridge was replaced.  He said that at one point the bridge was damaged and one half was replaced.  The height difference from the west end of the bridge to the east side is about five feet.  I had never noticed the difference before he mentioned it but the next time I was in town and looked at the bridge and sure enough the height changes on the bridge half way across the bridge.  I love when I find out a piece of history that I never knew before. 

I like the familar sites in a small town.  Things remain the same for many years never seeming to change. When I think back to some of the first trips to Little Falls compared to recent ones I know that there have been changes in town but they seem to have happened very slowly and almost unnoticable unlike in the big cities where buildings seem to appear overnight.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in Photography, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Small Town Living

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    February 11, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Great pics! I wouldn’t mind living in a small town–but I’d want it to be one without snow!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 12:04 am

      Thanks Thomas! I would love it more without the snow. Looking forward to more of your posts, soon I hope!

       
  2. nrhatch

    February 12, 2011 at 12:45 am

    You capture scenes so well, Jeanne!

    I must prefer small town charm to city hustle and bustle.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 8:27 am

      I grew up in the big city with all its hustle and bustle and I have to say at first I thought I would miss it but I don’t.

      It helps that I never liked to shop which is a major pasttime of many who live in big cities. I do like going to the city for musical productions, concert and plays. I don’t do it often, but it is fun to go and see something new at the Guthrie or Chanhassan Dinner Theatre.

       
  3. Carol Ann Hoel

    February 12, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Small towns are beautiful, each with its own character. I’ve lived in cities and in small towns and out in the country away from all towns. Every lifestyle has its pros and cons. There is much beauty living out in the country near a small town. I enjoyed your post and the photos of Little Falls, Minnesota. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you, Jeanne.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 8:30 am

      You are right about each having its own character. Some small town don’t seem inviting other more so. Each year Little Falls puts up Christmas lights that outline the shapes of the buildings up and down the two main streets that intersect in town. I love driving through town when the lights are up and on.

       
  4. writerwoman61

    February 12, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    My favourite shot is the train bridge…very geometrical!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      Thanks Wendy. The bridge shots are some of my favorites. Hope you are getting in on some of the things on your Valentine’s Day list.

       
  5. sunshineinlondon

    February 12, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    This is lovely, Jeanne – the photos are beautiful. I love the mural on the wall. Little Falls looks so delightful and quaint. I love small towns – I grew up in a number of different small towns in Africa and they sure have their own character and charm.
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      I would love to see what small towns in Africa look like. I don’t think that they would look much like Little Falls.

       
  6. tedgriffith

    February 12, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I’m a small town person, too. I love the feeling of getting to actally knowing people. Whenver you go into a store, there are familiar faces. the largest town that I have lived in since I became an adult was about 8500 people and the smallest 250. There is such caracter in small towns. Thanks for the post Jeanne!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 10:15 pm

      When I first moved to our small town everyone called me by name. I asked my husband “Am I supposed to know them?” He said “No, but they all know you are new in town and they only have to learn one name, you have a lot more to learn. Just say Hi!” I like knowing people by name when they come into our business.

       
  7. markp427

    February 12, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Wow, great photos! I love small towns even more than John Mellencamp. As long as they’re within easy driving distance of bigger metropolises (not Los Angeles big or New York big, but Seattle big suits me just fine).

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      Love John Mellencamp too. Not fond of big cities but I love architecture and studying the different styles in different parts of the country. Big cities offer all kinds of different styles. Seattle is on my short list of places to visit. Almost made it there two years ago on our way back from San Francisco. Glad you liked the photos.

       
  8. Todd Pack

    February 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Nice pictures, flyinggma. I think I posted this on your photo blog (if I didn’t, I meant to), but I really wish I had a kitchen enough for an old sign like the airport sign. I have to say, though, that I think it’s a lot easier to be a grown up in a small town than it is to be a kid. My parents still live in the same town where I grew up, and my mom mentioned that she wished the kids could live there, and I thought, “But what would they do?”

     
    • flyinggma

      February 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      I couldn’t agree with you more on not much for kids to do in a small town. Ours always had to travel either 20 or 40 miles to the next bigger town for movies, etc. Always worried about them out driving so much.

      I would love to have a kitchen with some character and size large enough for the airport sign. The owner asked me if I wanted to buy the sign while I was in taking the pictures. I said I would love to but didn’t have as cool a place to display it.

       
  9. pearlsandprose

    February 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I’m a city person, but I loved going to my mom’s hometown when I was younger. Population: 800. We could walk everywhere and everyone knew who we were.

    Nice photos, Jeanne. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      February 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Thanks, I do love small town living but have to leave every once in a while to appease my appetite for new sights.

       
  10. toemailer

    February 15, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Love the mural and the train bridge!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 15, 2011 at 11:33 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and I will have to send some toes your way.

       
  11. toemailer

    February 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Cool!

     

Leave a Reply

 
