RSS

Ambiance

11 Feb

 

Is it a feeling, a look, an emotion that we think of when we speak of ambiance?  Each of us have a place we go to or a specific area in our homes or surroundings that make us feel warm, welcome and relaxed. 

For some, ambiance requires color, soft and warm.  Others require candle lite rooms with fragrance filling the air and soft music playing in the background.  My adult children need a technology infused room to have the perfect ambiance whether in a group or alone.  They don’t like quiet. For some the perfect ambiance is a place you can be alone and for others they require companionship.

For me the place with perfect ambiance depends on the season.  In winter the place with the ambiance that draws me in is a room with a fire burning in the fireplace with a cozy chair pulled up along side it with an ottoman to prop up my feet while I read a good book.  There is a table nearby with a good reading lamp and a place for my hot cup of coffee.

Summertime, ambiance is a whole other feeling.  I take in the soft gentle breezes off the lake as I sit in my Adirondack chair and watch the water gently coming ashore and then retreating.  The rhythm of the waves is therapeutic. 

The garden in the springtime provides an atmosphere of anticipation.  I watch daily for the emerging perennial flowers as the sun gently warms the earth and everything is a different shade of spring green.  There is a hopeful ambiance in spring.

Ambiance in fall for me is elusive.  I am drawn in by the changing colors in the trees only to discover the temperature is dropping and the cold winds chasing me indoors.  On the perfect sunlight warm fall day I could stay outdoors for hours walking and listening to the crunching sounds beneath my feet and watch as the birds start gathering for their trip south.  As the leaves lose their colors and the grass it’s green I know it is time to put the summer to rest and start pursuing a cozier place indoors.

What ambiance calls you to a quiet place where you can wind down from a busy paced life?  For me it usually involves quiet and nature.  If water is available nearby all the better. My kids would tell me that I am getting old and spend too much time thinking.

I haven’t clued them in on the fact that some days I like to just sit, listen to my surroundings and shut off all this world’s thoughts.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in Quiet Times, Reflections

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “Ambiance

  1. planejaner

    February 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    sweet post…I, like you, have a myriad selection of things that cry out “ambience”–
    i love scents and candles and…in the spring and summer, the particular slant of light outdoors…the rustle of the wind in the trees over at the lake…and looking out on the water…i need water…
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      February 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      I’m with you on the water and the outdoor sounds. I’m not much for manmade scents,they give me headaches but the smells from outside are great. Especially wash hung on the line and the fresh spring scent that I can bring indoors. Blessings to you jane!

       
  2. 36x37

    February 11, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Lovely post, Jeanne. I like how nuanced comfort is to you, and how it changes with the season.

    For me, comfort always has a common thread–warmth in the atmosphere, and warmth in spirit.

    Happy Weekend!

     
    • flyinggma

      February 11, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      Comfort and warmth are important along with easy friendships. The kind where you can ride in a car all afternoon in your thoughts and the other person isn’t offended because I didn’t have much to say. Just alone with my thoughts and its okay.

       
  3. Linda

    February 11, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    I like your idea of ambiance also but then again I am 51!

     
  4. flyinggma

    February 11, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    I think that by age 51 we pretty much know what like or should I say what we definitely don’t like! Have a great weekend, Jeanne

     
  5. nrhatch

    February 11, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I LOVE this post, especially:

    For me the place with perfect ambiance depends on the season. In winter the place with the ambiance that draws me in is a room with a fire burning in the fireplace with a cozy chair pulled up along side it with an ottoman to prop up my feet while I read a good book. There is a table nearby with a good reading lamp and a place for my hot cup of coffee.

    Summertime, ambiance is a whole other feeling. I take in the soft gentle breezes off the lake as I sit in my Adirondack chair and watch the water gently coming ashore and then retreating. The rhythm of the waves is therapeutic.

    Just perfect! Thanks, Jeanne

     
    • flyinggma

      February 11, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Thanks Nancy. I was remembering last spring and looking forward to this spring when I was writing this post. Last spring I put a small table and two chairs out on my country porch and it became my refuge last spring. I retreated there often and down to the lake where I have a couple of chairs for reading until the mosquitos would chase me inside.

      Last year more than ever before I craved solitude and quiet.

       
  6. Carol Ann Hoel

    February 11, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Thank you, Jeanne. All the ambiance scenes you have described are sublime and lovely to imagine. Thank you for images in my mind of warmth, quiet, and the beauties of nature to remind us of the presence of God.

    While I would prefer all the comforts, like a fireplace in the winter, a beach in summer, I need only a place that is comfortable, a time that I may be relieved of my duties and allowed to turn my thoughts inward, unnoticed and undisturbed, to relax, meditate, pray, or read, or just sit quietly enjoying the ambiance of peace and love. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      February 11, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      I am very much like you Carol in only needing a place that is comfortable and time relieved of my duties. I don’t have a fireplace in my home but when I was growing up my parents did. We had an old woodstove in our last home but none in our present home.

      I love to retreat from the busyness of my day to my quiet bedroom in the evening and read. At times I’m sure my family considers me to be anti-social but I need the time for my sanity. Blessings to you this weekend Carol.

       
  7. JoDee Luna

    February 11, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    What a fabulous post! Your descriptions created such vivid images in my mind that I didn’t need to see any photos. I also loved your twist at the end. Please never stop contemplating because people our age sure need to read your thoughts. At 51, I need quiet as much as I need to think.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 12:01 am

      Thanks JoDee! I enjoyed your post on loose ends today. I’m not great at crocheting but I enjoy trying to create things for gifts. I like the picture you created in my mind of your family members sitting around crocheting and creating together with different purposes. I need your thoughts as well, keep writing! Your posts are inspiring for me.

       
  8. Thomas Stazyk

    February 12, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Very nice! You are so right about different ambience for different seasons. For me, sometimes the way the weather or light or smells remind me of a fun time in the past is a nice fleeting moment of ambience. But otherwise, in all seasons, I would have to say a quiet walk at night does the job.

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 12:26 am

      One of the things I love to do in the summer time is sit outside on a clear evening and look at all the stars. I can actually see them where we live unlike when we lived in the city when I was growing up. So peaceful.

      I love walks on moonlight nights or watching the Northern Lights.

       
  9. sunshineinlondon

    February 12, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I love the ambiance of this post, Jeanne – and your blog generally! It makes me feel welcome and cosy when I visit. Thank you.
    I love how a place makes me feel…
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      Thanks Sunshine for being a regular visitor. I hope that some day we will be able to sit and visit for hours over coffee or a glass of wine.

      The stories we will share will be as if we have spent a lifetime as friends. I imagine the conversation will be as cosy and comfortable as sitting in front of a warm fireplace. I also love how a place makes me feel.
      Blessings, Jeanne

       

Leave a Reply

 
