RSS

Have You Ever Wondered…

28 Jan

This morning as I waited and watched for the birds to come to the bird feeder I wondered.  I wondered why they came at 8:30 this morning and not before and why they came so much earlier yesterday.  How did they know to come and feed?  What is their natural rhythm?

In our business my husband often wonder what makes people come and go at certain times.  Our business is open the same hours of everyday except for Saturdays.  A lot of it is due to personal schedules.  For example families where both husband and wife work are more likely to come after regular business hours or on Saturdays when both are available. 

Retired people can come anytime of the day but usually come first thing in the morning.  Retired people who need their oil changed still want to bring it in on Saturday mornings when they have the rest of the week available.  I suppose out of habit.  Changing oil I think was a Saturday chore around our home growing up but Dad changed it at home.

The behavior that gets me thinking is what changed from yesterday to today to have three different parties interested in a car that has been on the lot since June.  We didn’t change the price recently.  It doesn’t have a big red ribbon on it to draw attention to its existence.  I don’t know of any news stories that would impact its sale but yet today it is in high demand.  Everyone wants it. 

The other behavior that happens at work a lot is the transport arrives to drop off cars.  The transport draws people like flies to honey.  They want what nobody has looked at or claimed.  It doesn’t matter how dirty it is coming off the truck, they want it.  A bit of the Cabbage Patch doll syndrome, that car might be the only one like it available, and they better get theirs before it is too late.

I know that sunshine motivates me, but what motivates other people beyond sunshine and schedules?

 
21 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in Life Happens, Reflections

 

Tags: , ,

21 responses to “Have You Ever Wondered…

  1. 36x37

    January 28, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Let me know if you find the answer, because I would do anything–anything!–to avoid the long lines at the local grocery.

    Have a great weekend, Jeanne!

     
  2. flyinggma

    January 28, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    I will…It seems no matter how short the line is that you are in that will be the line that takes the longest to get through same with traffic lanes.

    Have a great weekend too Maura!

     
  3. Linda

    January 28, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Very good questions. Birds and their habits fascinate me. I always wonder why the crows come when they do. And where have they been when they aren’t here. Yesterday they were here in a pack screaming and screeching all about. Yet none today.

    A few weeks back my husband was looking at a car on-line. He said it had been for sell since November. After doing all of his research and getting things squared away to buy it he called the guy and the car had sold that morning! But thats ok he got one just like it only better a few days later. He was a happy camper.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 28, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      Good for him but makes you wonder why he and the other guy were looking at the same car at the same point in time when it had been there for so long.

       
  4. Thomas Stazyk

    January 28, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Wow, very thought provoking. I don’t have an answer to your question, but it’s made me ask similar questions of myself!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 28, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      I think it has a lot to do with our personal rhythms like I mentioned in a earlier post. We are just feeling better about doing certain things on certain days.

       
  5. nrhatch

    January 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I couldn’t say, but I enjoyed your observations. Thanks, Jeanne.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 28, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Just this past week I was driving home from transfering car titles and at three different locations on the way home there were squirrels running down the opposite lane of traffic. They were all heading south. What does that say about our Minnesota winters. They are just as tired of it as we are.

       
    • nrhatch

      January 28, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      I love that you were enough “in the moment” to notice the squirrels migrating south. 😀

       
      • flyinggma

        January 28, 2011 at 4:43 pm

        It was the oddest thing I’ve ever seen. We don’t usually see squirrels running down the road here not to mention three in the matter of 45 minutes.

         
  6. notesfromrumbleycottage

    January 28, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    I wonder that too as houses never seem to sell in the middle of winter. Spring hits and they go pop,pop, pop. Gone. Same in the fall before winter. Guess no one want to move when it is cold.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 28, 2011 at 10:27 pm

      I primarily watch car cycles because we have a car lot but it always amazes me when one segment isn’t selling and then a couple days later you don’t have left of that kind.

       
  7. Carol Ann Hoel

    January 28, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    I like to watch trends, too. I will try to figure out what has causes the trend. Why did three people show interest in the same car that sat in the same spot for a period of time with no one showing interest? Did you come up with any conclusion? Perhaps it took that long for these three people to drive by the car on the lot without stopping to finally decide to investigate. By why three all at the same time?

    Did you know that our hair growth has a cycle? While 1/3 of our hair is resting, another 1/3 is falling out, and the other third is growing. If something disrupts this cycle, like certain kinds of chemotherapy, the mix-up causes a period of time where all the hair is growing, or all the hair is resting, or all the hair is falling out. This is what causes temporary baldness for some cancer patients. Why did I bring up this seemingly unrelated information? It’s a trend, a trend that is suddenly disrupted. Blessings, Jeanne…

     
    • flyinggma

      January 28, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      Interesting information about the hair growth. I hadn’t heard that before.

      Most of our car sales are from the internet. We have them on our website and then people contact us by phone or email before coming to the lot. Some of our sales are from repeat buyers or word of mouth.

      I never did figure out how all three buyers converged on our lot on the same day for the same car.

       
  8. writerwoman61

    January 28, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I’m no scientist, but I’ve always noticed the full moon having negative effects on people I come in contact with…when I worked in a call center, that was the most likely time to get a cranky customer. My kids also have meltdowns when there’s a full moon…

    Wendy

     
  9. Todd Pack

    January 28, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    Good questions, flyinggma! You know, based on what you were saying, maybe you should hire a transport to load up the cars you’re having trouble selling, drive around town for a while and unload them again. People might think they’re new and want them, then!

     
  10. flyinggma

    January 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Great idea Todd for car sales except the fact that our town is very small. Population 400, One main street, no traffic lights…people would definitely get suspicious if a transport was making laps around town, it wouldn’t take that long.

     
  11. Adrian Pantonial

    February 12, 2011 at 10:32 am

    That’s a wonderful observation, Jeanne.

    To answer your question…I am strongly motivated by sunshine too. I become gloomy when it rains. They say it’s natural for people with melancholic personality.

    We all have our good days and bad days. There are days when I didn’t want to get up to work but I just had to. What motivates me then is the purpose to help my family. Over all though, what motivates me to live well mostly is God’s unconditional love and grace that keeps me up and going every time.

    Cheers,
    Adrian
    http://seekersportal.wordpress.com/

     
    • flyinggma

      February 12, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Adrian and your wonderful comment. My attitude throughout my life determines a lot about how I approach my day. God is good!

       

Leave a Reply

 
