RSS

What Each Day Has to Offer…How Does Your Week Flow?

17 Jan

Sunday evenings are always a time of reflection and planning for me.  I look to the past few days for signs of accomplishment, things that I had looked to in anticipation of the weekend.  Last evening I was thinking of the days of the week in general and how some days seem better than others and other days seem not so great.    I realized that I have expectations and opinions of each day.  Each day has a personality of its own.

  • Sunday– I find Sundays restful, time when I give myself permission to relax, read and retire.  It’s the one day of the week when I don’t feel like I have to be “on duty”.  As a mother of four kids when they were young this was difficult to do.  My kids are grown now and demands on my time from them are  not as great.  It’s okay to read a book all day long if I wish, take a walk or even a nap. 

 

  • Monday– I have energy and a to do list like no other day of the week.  I bound into work ready to get things done.  The only problem with this is that there are so many others out there like me.  My phone rings the most often on Mondays and I have the most interruptions on that day in part because I have been out of the office since noon on Saturday and things happen over the weekend that need to be dealt with on Monday.  I spend part of the day setting up schedules with customers for work to be done the rest of the week.

 

  • Tuesday-This is the day of the week that I tend to get the most accomplished at work in my office.  My energy level is high, the phones are a little less busy and everyone at work has settled into what will be the rhythm of work for the week.  If we have a lot to get done everyone is working at a little faster pace, if not as much needs to be done a steady, a not so frenzied rhythm takes over.

 

  • Wednesday-This is a day I look forward to each week.  Some call it “Hump Day”  when you have reached the middle of your work week and the end of the work week is in sight .  The anticipation of the weekend starts to kick in.  My reason for liking Wednesdays is different.  For some it may seem a bit quirky but I like Wednesday because it is trash day.  The garbage man comes to our home and business each Wednesday.  For me it is a physical and mental unloading of “stuff” day.  I try to cross a few things off my to do list each Wednesday.  If there is something out there that I have procrastinated on I try to attack it.  I may not get it completely done but I try to make some progress each week.

 

  • Thursday-A day for  physical work for me.  My mental energies are less by this time each week and I move out of the office to more physical work.  The kind of work that has me up and on my feet.  Thursdays tend to be my day of Thanksgiving while I work.  I love that when I am doing more physical things I have thinking time available which allows me time to give thanks for the good and the bad in my life.  It’s hard to be thankful when you are in difficult circumstances but I find that is a time I can truly shine in my abilities.  Just ask my husband.  If I am upset, that is when some serious cleaning gets done at home. 

 

  • Friday– A day to pull my week together.  I try to wrap it up in a neat little package with nothing hanging out of my box of work for the week.  It is not always possible but I try to finish something if I can and not take on something new.  I love to start new things and get them 90% done and move on to something else.  Fridays are my 10% days, not that I am giving only 10% of my time and efforts to work but trying to complete some of those 10% items.  This is an opportunity to start my next week with less hanging over my head. 

 

  • Saturday – I love the anticipation of Saturdays.  Most people have them off from work.  I work most Saturdays at least until noon but I anticipate them just the same for the things I will be able to do outside of my regular work week.  I’m a project person.  I usually have at least one or two home improvement projects I’m working on .  I love Saturdays that allow me to see some forward momentum on my projects.  I love Saturdays for the change of scenery from work to home.  I truly appreciate my home more on Saturdays than any other day of the week.

When I think about how work flows for other people at work I noticed that they have their individual preferences for their schedule.  My husband rarely schedules warranty work for Monday unless no other day will work.  He usually schedules it for Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday.  Our detail person rarely starts cleanup on a new car on Friday.  She has her own rhythm and pattern for her work.  The service department usually doesn’t schedule big jobs for Saturday.  This is in part to a reduced staff but still they don’t want to leave Saturday with a big  job partially done waiting for them on Monday morning.

Knowing and recognizing  rhythm of work can make our workplace and home a better more efficient place if I try to work with the flow instead of against.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Business Matters, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , ,

26 responses to “What Each Day Has to Offer…How Does Your Week Flow?

  1. sunshineinlondon

    January 17, 2011 at 9:03 am

    You have a great outlook and attitude to each day. Hope this is a wonderful week, Jeanne.
    Sunshine xx

     
  2. flyinggma

    January 17, 2011 at 9:06 am

    I would love to hear what a typical week is like for you as Sunshine in London. You’re living my dream…traveling, experiencing life in new places.

     
  3. writerwoman61

    January 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Ah…a Sunday with nothing to do but read…I hope I reach that Nirvana some day…sigh…

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      January 17, 2011 at 9:27 am

      I was in denial when I wrote that. I had/have several piles of laundry waiting for me and lots of dishes too…..The chores that never end!

       
  4. Todd Pack

    January 17, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I’ve been out of school for years, but I still have that Saturday night imperative, where I feel obliged to do something, anything fun on Saturday night, although, honestly, no matter what we do, I’m usually going to bed on Saturday night about the time I used to go out!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 17, 2011 at 10:45 am

      We are usually headed for bed about the time our kids are heading out. This year was the first in many years that we stayed up to welcome in the New Year. You’re too young to be heading to bed so early! You’re supposed to be out there keeping up the image that there is still life after kids and marriage.

       
  5. Patricia

    January 17, 2011 at 11:58 am

    I like how you not only recognize your rhythm but that of your employees. Not all employers do that. Those that don’t have a more difficult time keeping good employees.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 17, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      I’d like to say that we have a employee friendly business but I’m sure that some of my employees would differ. Everyone in the building knows their job and we try to let them make their own schedules as long as it works in the total scheme of things.

       
  6. 36x37

    January 17, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Your Sundays sound fantastic, Jeanne. I love weekends with my fellas, but wow–a day spent reading sounds better than a day at the spa. Fantastic.

    Happy Monday to you!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 17, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      I love my weekends. The chance to be in my home during daylight hours is such a luxury especially during the winter months. I’ve never been to a spa so I don’t know how it compares. I think it would be fun to try at some point. Happy Monday to you as well. Nice to have you back in circulation again.

       
  7. nrhatch

    January 17, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Beautiful post, Jeanne. And I love the new (?) photo on the top of your blog.

    Have a marvelous Monday, terrific Tuesday, wonderful Wednesday, tremendous Thursday, fantastic Friday, super Saturday, and serene Sunday.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 17, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      Thanks Nancy for the wishes for my week. I hope yours is as you would like it to be.

      I dug into my photos from AirVenture this past summer for the new header picture. I loved being at the air show and had fun taking a lot of pictures. It was my first airshow since I got my private pilot certificate.

      It is a dream of mine to find someone to take me up in an open air bi-plane flying this summer. I plan on lessons in a float plane as well if time and money permit.

       
    • nrhatch

      January 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      Sounds like two wonderful adventures to add to your life experiences.

      I’ve flown in a two seater plane . . . but not with an open cockpit. I love the idea of a float plane, especially with all the water around us here on the Gulf of Mexico. Just see a remote island and stop off for a picnic.

       
  8. flyinggma

    January 17, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    I fly a two seat Cessna 152 most of the time but am working on getting signed off for rental of a four seat Cessna 172. We live on a lake that is large enough to take off and land on so I have considered a float plane as a plane to purchase. I’ve got to get the girls done with college before I look into purchasing a used plane.

    I’ve sailed in the Gulf of Mexico near the South Padre Islands. I love the area. It would be fun to fly in that area as well to see the view from a different perspective.

     
    • nrhatch

      January 17, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      What I’d like to do is charter a small plane to fly us from Tampa/Sarasota to the Keys . . . at a low enough altitude that we can really see the glorious sites below.

      Just a pipe dream for now. But some day . . .

       
      • flyinggma

        January 17, 2011 at 3:17 pm

        I’ve never been to Florida but hope to make the trip sometime. My pipe dreams are what get me out of bed every morning. The thoughts of what the future might hold for me.

         
  9. JoDee

    January 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I enjoyed this post. I’ve never thought out my week like this and you’ve inspired me to do so. I like the idea of using Sunday evenings for reflecting over the week. I can tell you that Saturday mornings are my favorite time because I write luxuriously. Now I’m going to have to think through this some more.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 17, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks JoDee. I sometimes relate it to trying to paddle upstream. If you are not mentally or physically ready for a task it makes it that much more time consuming and difficult. Recognizing how you function best will improve your productivity.

       
  10. Carol Ann Hoel

    January 17, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Thank you for a thoughtful post. You are very organized and that’s a wonderful trait that makes you a valuable team member in a workforce and/or a successful businesswoman.

    I retired early to be the caregiver to my husband in his battle with Alzheimer’s. We’ve not experienced the drastic challenges that are associated with this disease. We are together 24/7 but we are able to go together to the grocery store and other places, so we are not total shut-ins. There is a weekly flow. Sunday is the Lord’s day. We no longer attend church because of Alzheimer’s, but we watch our home church and one other church live stream on the computer. Other days play out according to their natural rhythm, doctor appointments, grocery shopping, housework, and blogging. I have a rewarding job as caregiver and wouldn’t have it any other way. We thank God for His mercy and grace and for these days that have been good. Blessings to you…

     
  11. flyinggma

    January 17, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Thank you Carol for your kind words. I imagine that your days have a flow of their own changing from day to day. I am in awe of you and those who care for their loved ones in the midst of disease and illness. What an example of committment you are to others who follow behind you in this life.

    I am happy for you that you can still get out for errands but I am sure that you miss the fellowship of gathering with other believers on Sunday mornings. I thank God that his mercies are new every morning. Blessings to you, your husband and family, Jeanne

     
  12. Booksphotographsandartwork

    January 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I love the way you layed out the days of the week. Very similar to the mom in Little House on the Prairie. I admire dedication and organization like that as I have none of it. It is a detriment to a smoothly running life.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 18, 2011 at 12:17 am

      I try to plan out my week but in our business the need to be flexible to take care of our customers trumphs any plans I may have for the day.

       
  13. JoDee Luna

    January 17, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Yes, that makes sense to me, “Recognizing how you function best will improve your productivity.” I know my best writing time is definitely in the morning.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 18, 2011 at 12:18 am

      Knowing when you do your best work is important but can be frustrating as well if that time isn’t available.

       
  14. Adrian Pantonial

    January 19, 2011 at 7:23 am

    It shows in your writing that you really are a “project person.”
    I always get a new insight each time I read your post, Jeanne. I love your overall attitude in life and I love learning from you. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Adrian
    http://seekersportal.wordpress.com

     
    • flyinggma

      January 19, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Thanks for stopping by Adrian and for the kind words. Hope all is going well for you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
