RSS

Our Family’s Favorite Birthday Cake is of the Cheese Variety…Southern Pecan Cheesecake to Be Exact

12 Jan

Southern Pecan Cheesecake, photograph by Mike Huibregtse

 

Today is my oldest daughter’s birthday and she is away at college.  I talked to her this morning to wish her a Happy Birthday.  She is 22 years old.  If she were home and I asked her what kind of birthday cake would she like for her birthday, which is our tradition, she would surely choose Southern Pecan Cheesecake.

I found the recipe for Southern Pecan Cheesecake in a cookbook that I received from my mother-in-law for my birthday in 1991.  The recipe can be found on page 76.  Katherine Brown of Minot, North Dakota contributed the recipe to the cookbook.  It has been a favorite ever since.

For those of you who are intimidated by making homemade cheesecake, you shouldn’t be.  This recipe is easy and it tastes like you have baking for hours.  It goes together quickly and easily.  The cheesecake serves 12-16 people and keeps well in the refrigerator for days after baking.

CRUST:

1-1/2 cup quick oats

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup melted butter

FILLING:

5 packages cream cheese (8oz each) softened

1-2/3 cups light brown sugar

5 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups chopped pecans, divided

To make the crust, place oats in food processor or blender; process to consistency of flour.  Combine oats with remaining crust ingredients; press into bottom of 10-in. spring form pan.  Chill.

To make the filling, beat cream cheese with the mixer until fluffy; slowly add the brown sugar and mix well.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Stir in the vanilla and half of the nuts. Mix and pour over crust.  

Southern Pecan Cheesecake ready for the oven

Bake at 350 degrees for one hour.  If using a darker or non-stick pan reduce oven temp by 25 degrees.  Turn the oven off and leave the cake in oven for an additional 30 minutes. 

To reduce chance of cracks on top surface, run a knife around edge of cheesecake as soon as you remove it from the oven.  Let cool to room temperature, chill for 8 hours. 

Southern Pecan Cheesecake cooling to room temperature before refrigeration.

 

Remove sides of pan. Press additional chopped pecans around sides and pipe with whipped cream if desired.( as shown in the picture at top of post)

Christy won’t be home for her birthday and her cake will be a day late but tomorrow my husband and I will drop off the cake for her on our way to a school board convention to share with her roommates and friends.  A little bit of home,  a little bit late but  Happy Birthday Christy!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2011 in Birthdays, Family, Favorite Recipes, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Our Family’s Favorite Birthday Cake is of the Cheese Variety…Southern Pecan Cheesecake to Be Exact

  1. Linda

    January 12, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Yummy now I am hungry. Happy Birthday to you daughter.

     
  2. shadybrooks

    January 12, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Ooohhh YUMMY!! Happy Birthday to Christy!!!! I’ve gotta try this cheesecake!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 12, 2011 at 7:18 am

      It is a favorite. The brown sugar rather than white gives it the best flavor for sure. I’ll send your birthday greetings on to Christy today.

       
    • flyinggma

      January 12, 2011 at 7:19 am

      You’ll love it Shady. The recipe says it will serve 20-24 but I always make the slices a bit bigger to only serve 12-16. Yummy!

       
  3. Joe Clark

    January 12, 2011 at 6:13 am

    Uhmmmm…. A Southern Pecan Cheesecake… Happy Birthday Christy!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 12, 2011 at 7:20 am

      I knew you would approve of the “Southern” part of the recipe. I’ll pass on your birthday greetings to Christy.

       
  4. writerwoman61

    January 12, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Oh my, Jeanne! I just made my friend Suzanne’s Peppermint Cheesecake last night, and now you’re giving me another one to try! I guess I gotta do what I gotta do…it’s a shame Jim’s allergic to pecans (more for me!)…

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      January 12, 2011 at 11:10 am

      I will have to get your friend’s Peppermint Cheesecake recipe. It sounds wonderful. You could leave the pecans out of the recipe and try to substitute another nut in the crust maybe.

       
  5. sunshineinlondon

    January 12, 2011 at 8:47 am

    This looks fabulous, Jeanne! My husband LOVES cheesecake – he’ll be so thrilled if I could make one for him. I’ll give it a try.
    Happy birthday to your daughter!
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      January 12, 2011 at 11:11 am

      It’s really simply. It was the first “real” cheesecake I ever made other than the Jello non-cooked cheesecake mixes.

       
  6. planejaner

    January 12, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Ooh! I’ll have to show this to my hubby–he’s the cheesecake maker/devourer in our house! Happy birthday to your daughter, and Happy Giving-Birth-Day-Remembrance to you!
    blessings
    jane

     
  7. flyinggma

    January 12, 2011 at 11:47 am

    He’ll love the cheesecake and it’s so easy to make. It’s nice to be remembered as having a part in celebrating her birth. That’s a first for me.

     
  8. Patricia

    January 12, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Sounds too good–even to a die hard chocolate lover like me.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 13, 2011 at 1:46 am

      I know chocolate is hard to beat, that used to be our old favorite until I found the cheesecake recipe.

       
  9. The Sidebar Review

    January 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Yum! I am SO making this!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 16, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      I need to update the recipe to say that if you use a non-stick pan or darker one reduce the oven temp by about 25 degrees. I tried a new pan that was darker than my older pan and it got a little more done than I like it. Not burned just darker.

       

Leave a Reply

 
