RSS

Just How Much Fun Can A Girl Have With 9.54lbs?

07 Jan

Yesterday will be a day in history that I will remember forever.  My first computer arrived at work while I was out flying.  I knew it would be delivered yesterday but I had a very full day yesterday of flying, bed shopping and working.  It wasn’t until nearly 6 pm that I was able to take my new computer out of its box and start unpacking it.  Then it was off to a trip to the upholstery shop and Best Buy, my computer would have to wait. I could hardly wait to put my fingers on the keys.  Little did I know it would be hours before I would actually get to use it.

After unpacking it I went through the set up process.  I didn’t know I would have to make recovery disks for the computer before I could use it.  While I was making the recovery disks I toggled between my computer, my husband’s questions as he was trying to program the remote for DirectTV for our TV for the family room.  While setting up the DirectTV remote we ran into a problem and it said to contact customer service.  I found the manual for the satellite TV and called the number. 

 The technician kept asking me for an RO #  and I kept looking at the box and reading the serial number with no success finding an RO #  finally he asked me to read everything I could find on the front of the box and I started reading DirectTV…And then I looked at the manual I was using.  It was the manual for DishNetwork which we used to have.  Boy did I feel stupid asking the DishNetwork to help me troubleshoot the DirectTV problem.  Oh well, back to customer service only this time with DirectTV.  Problem solved very quickly.  My hats off to the customer service rep at DishNetwork for helping me get to the bottom of my stupidity problem.

Getting a new computer is fun but I’m not there yet.  Tonight I have to retrieve all my stuff from my husband’s, daughter’s, son’s and work computer and put it on mine before I will have everything in one place.  Maybe tonight?

 
 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Just How Much Fun Can A Girl Have With 9.54lbs?

  1. nrhatch

    January 7, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Have fun with the transition!

    And LOL about the Dish/Direct mix up. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      January 7, 2011 at 11:21 am

      Thanks! It was not one of my shining moments. I was frustrated that hubby needed help with the TV stuff when I wanted to be working on getting my computer set up. At least the guy at Dish was awesome and laughed about the mix-up.

       
  2. Linda Anderson

    January 7, 2011 at 11:02 am

    At least you could understand your customer service guy! At least it wasn’t “Peggy” from outer Siberia. I laugh every time I see that commercial; not really sure what it is advertising, but it reminds me of talking to a young lady in India who was trying to help me set up my dial internet service quite a few years ago. I asked her if there was someone who spoke English and she informed me her “Ingis” is fine! What an ordeal!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 7, 2011 at 11:22 am

      He was definitely easy to understand and work with on the phone but I know what you are talking about for some technical support for some items.

       
  3. planejaner

    January 7, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    congratulations on the birth of your new baby!
    😉
    that’s how I felt when the family gave me this one for my birthday!
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      January 7, 2011 at 2:11 pm

      I love my new computer so far. I can’t wait to play with it some more. I’m looking forward to the weekend. It’s supposed to be bitterly cold so we will be in most of the weekend.

       
  4. 36x37

    January 7, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Yay! Congrats on your new laptop. Can’t wait to hear how it goes when you take it for a spin.

    Glad you got to go flying, too! What a nice day you had.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 7, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Pretty spectacular day…Flying…new laptop and a TV for the family room we’ve been working on for three years. I also found some fabric I just love for the Roman shades for the windows. I can’t wait to start making them. I have visions of a finally finished room.

       
  5. Linda Anderson

    January 7, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    You have been on a roll! Sounds like more fun than I’m having today! But that’s okay – gearing up for the cruise the end of January!

     
  6. flyinggma

    January 7, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    A cruise sounds wonderful to me but I will settle for just getting home from work before 8pm tonight. Have a great weekend.

     
  7. writerwoman61

    January 7, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Glad you’re not sharing a computer any more, Jeanne! Have fun!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      January 7, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks Wendy! I’m in the process of transferring everything over. It’s a bigger job than I thought. Oh well, it will be worth it when I am done.

       
  8. Todd Pack

    January 8, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    You know, some DirecTV HD DVRs let you can stream shows to your laptop and watch them in any room of the house.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 8, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      Hmmmm….I think I might have to learn how to do that. With four kids and a husband I rarely pick what is on the TV. Time for more reading for sure!

       

Leave a Reply

 
