RSS

Word for the Year…Persevere

06 Jan

Last evening I was checking out some new links for photography blogs.  I came across a blog called Shutter Sisters.  http://shuttersisters.com/ I was amazed at how much content is on that one site.  It’s not only pictures but poetry, projects, and instruction.  It’s not just for photographers, I found it genuinely inspiring. 

One of the projects that they talk about on their website is the one word project.  It involves choosing a word, in their case to take pictures that prove their word, in life. 

“The first of the month always marks the One Word Project here at Shutter Sisters. It all began a few years back with inspiration from the awesome Ali Edwards and her One Little Word and since then we’ve dared to dream, wish, share, nurture and play. We’ve turned our lenses toward beauty, motion and gratitude. It’s been nothing short of inspiring!

As Ali has said, “One Little Word can make a big impact on your life” and we know it to be true.

There is no time like today to find a word that will help define the year ahead for you. Have you considered what YOUR word will be this year?”

I don’t know if I will take part in the One Word Project or not but it got me thinking.  What would my word for the year be?  After much thinking last evening and then again this morning I came up with the word persevere. 

Merriam-Webster defines persevere as: intransitive verb: to persist in a state, enterprise, or undertaking in spite of counterinfluences, opposition, or discouragement.

MSN Encarta dictionary defines persevere as: persist determinedly,  to persist steadily in an action or belief, usually over a long period and especially despite problems or difficulties

There were many different definitions that I looked at but I liked these two the best for the following reasons.  In Merriam-Webster’s definition I liked the portion of the definition that said “or undertaking in spite of counterinfluences, opposition, or discouragement”

 In a time when everything we hear on the news or from our neighbors is discouraging in regards to the economy and general outlook it’s hard not to be discouraged but its important to get up everyday and put one foot in front of the other and do our jobs whatever they may be in spite of what others are saying. 

In the MSN Encarta definition the portion where it says to “persist determinedly” really spoke to me as an attitude issue in perseverence.  I not only need to persist in what I do but do it with determination and purpose. 

So in this new year I choose persevere.  What’s your word for 2011?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2011 in Blogging, Inspiration, Photography, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Word for the Year…Persevere

  1. Linda Anderson

    January 6, 2011 at 8:25 am

    In every area of life, if it’s worth doing, it’s worth persevering. The first chapter of the book of James in God’s Word says: “Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:4)
    Remember how you struggled, yet persevered through your flight training? Boy, I sure did. But I’ll never forget that first venture into the sky alone! It was so worth all that work and struggle! And that’s true of anything we put our hands to do.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 6, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      You are so correct! I was just up flying this morning and I am so thankful that I persevered in my flight training. There were definitely times I wanted to give up.

       
      • Linda Anderson

        January 7, 2011 at 8:08 am

        In the book GETTING DOWN TO BRASS TACKS by O.S. Hawkins, which our church is going through right now, it says, “Perseverance is the response of the person who bears up under stressful circumstances.” Thought I would share that with you!

         
  2. Booksphotographsandartwork

    January 6, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks for sharing a site that you enjoyed. My word has to be organize. Ha what a joke. Where’s the Adderall?

     
    • flyinggma

      January 6, 2011 at 3:35 pm

      I am definitely with you on the organization and the attention problems. I hop and jump from one thing to the next so I don’t see much progress in any one area.

       
  3. duke1959

    January 6, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    The shuttersisters is a great site. I love the quote of James which is my favorite book in the Bible.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 6, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      I love their site. I just found it yesterday and am excited to get back there to read more. I love the quote from James as well. So much to learn in that one small book.

       
  4. Thomas Stazyk

    January 6, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    I hadn’t thought of a word for 2011, but perseverance sounds like a good one!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 6, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      I thought of anyone, you Thomas, would have an extensive list to share with me. I love your word knowledge especially the obscure!

       
  5. nrhatch

    January 6, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Perseverance is good . . . provided that we are headed in the right direction.

    Of course, sometimes the opposition we face is the Universe’s way of saying, Turn Around. You’re on the WRONG road. 🙂

    My word for the year: FREEDOM to be who I want to be and do what I want to do. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      January 6, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      I agree on both. Are you old enough to remember the song Free to Be You and Me by Marlo Thomas? I loved that song and it made me feel good about not doing or being the same as everyone else. I was always a tomboy growing up. I love the word Freedom for the word for the year!

       
    • nrhatch

      January 7, 2011 at 12:08 am

      I have heard of the song, but don’t really “remember” it.

      Great mantra: I allow you to be you and me to be me.

       
      • flyinggma

        January 7, 2011 at 1:38 am

        I don’t remember the words verbetim but I do remember thinking at the time it was okay not to be like everyone else after listening to the song.

         
  6. Carol Ann Hoel

    January 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Persevere. That’s a great word for this coming year. Blessings to you as you persevere in 2011…

     
    • flyinggma

      January 7, 2011 at 1:42 am

      Thanks Carol. I’m starting with an attitude adjustment and surrounding myself with some positive thinking and speaking people. Hopefully that will help to not be discouraged when others focus on everything that is wrong in this world.

       
  7. 36x37

    January 7, 2011 at 9:18 am

    What an interesting concept. I really like your word choice. It sounds like you’re staking your claim and refusing to be ignored.

    I’ll throw “love” and “happiness” in the ring for my words this year. But then, they’re my words every year.

     
  8. flyinggma

    January 7, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Some may look at persevere as a bad thing but I think it can be good, working through the tough times and feeling the sense of accomplishment at the end. I love the words love and happiness for the year as well. They are on my short list every year.

     
  9. pearlsandprose

    January 7, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I found the Shutter Sisters through Flickr. They have published a book and are so inspiring.

    My word for 2011 is “start.” I like persevere too–it goes along nicely with mine.

     
  10. flyinggma

    January 7, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I love the Shutter Sisters site. I hope to spend more time there this weekend. I’ll have to look into their book. Start sounds like and excellent word for 2011. If a job is never started it will never be done. I plan on starting on the multiple piles of paper around the house this weekend. I agree start goes well with persevere!

     

Leave a Reply

 
