RSS

Picnik fun

04 Jan

 My daughter introduced me to my new best friend.  She showed me how to edit pictures in Picnik.  This is a picture I took recently of Jack Pine in our yard.  The photo hasn’t been altered.  It is exactly as I took the picture. 

I love it…But then I played with the photo in Picnik and this is what I did to it.

 I added the pink color around the edges.  There were a lot of different colors to choose from each changing the mood of the photo.

Next I added the darker edge around the photo so it has more of a shadow box effect.  I like the darker border around the picture.  It gives it more of a shadow box look.

Then I tried this with the same photo and here is the result.  It is called Holga-ish in the Picnik effect area.  I love the black and white of the photo.  When I first became interested in photography I took mostly all black and white, very little color photos and did my own processing.

Another effect in Picnik was this one they call Lomo-ish.  It added the different blues to the picture.

The last part I played with was the text part.  I just added the words Jack Pine Beauty to the photo.  After adding the text then I rotated it and moved it to the side of the picture.  There were many fonts to choose from and they even have a holiday theme font area.

This is only one area of Picnik that I played with last evening.  I’m looking forward to further investigation.  I know  a lot of photo enhancing sites are available.  I’d love to hear about your favorites.  My sister-in-law loves to use PhotoShop.  If she doesn’t like how a family photo turns out she has no problem moving heads around.  I’m not there yet and never will be.

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Picnik fun

  1. writerwoman61

    January 4, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Hi Jeanne:

    It was fun looking at your different edits…my oldest daughter loves Piknik (she used it to turn my granddaughter into a zombie for Halloween). Jim and Anna prefer Photoshop.

    Keep it up…practice makes perfect!

    Wendy

     
    • writerwoman61

      January 4, 2011 at 8:44 am

      I forgot to add that you might enjoy looking at my friend Koreen’s blog, Winn’s Window…she does neat photo edits all the time!

      http://winnswindow.blogspot.com/

      Wendy

       
      • flyinggma

        January 4, 2011 at 8:51 am

        Thanks for the link Wendy. I love looking at other photographers work for new ideas. It is so much fun to see what is out there and how some take simple objects and make them look incredible in their pictures.

         
    • flyinggma

      January 4, 2011 at 8:47 am

      I haven’t tried any of the other photo enhancing software yet. It is fun to play with the photos to see what you like best. I haven’t even tried the cropping portion yet. Looking forward to more playing when I get my computer this week.

       
  2. Linda Anderson

    January 4, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Nice effects. I like the darker shaded one too, but also like the one with the text – adds a special touch. I’ve not heard of Piknik – might have to look into that. I have altered a few photos, but haven’t taken much time with a project like that. Usually I just select a gray scale and different hues of the original.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 4, 2011 at 8:48 am

      Do you use Photoshop or a different program? I love photos of old buildings in black and white or sepia tones.

       
      • Linda Anderson

        January 4, 2011 at 2:21 pm

        I use the photo program that came with my camera (Canon). Not sure what it’s called. It really has a lot of neat features.

         
  3. planejaner

    January 4, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    ooh–
    a new shiny toy! I’ve never heard of Picnik–although I don’t get out much and have no life…
    pretty pictures!
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      January 4, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      I love it so far. I’ve been having fun playing with the site. If it makes you feel any better I don’t get out much either and my kids think that we have no life.

       
  4. 36x37

    January 4, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Ooo! I’ve never heard of Picnik! That Holga-ish effect is truly striking. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      January 4, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      I found the Holga-ish effect last evening. I’d like to try some more effects with different types of photos after I get my computer and have some more computer time available.

       
  5. nrhatch

    January 4, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    How FUN! All of these are quite cool looking ~ like the black and white, the shadow box, and the lomo-ish.

    I use HP Photosmart Premier and it has similar (though not as extensive) options.

    I also have a photography site to recommend. Linda would love to share her shots with a few more photographers. This post might interest you:

    http://booksphotographsandartwork.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/the-beautiful-tree/

     
  6. flyinggma

    January 4, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    My daughters both use Picnik. They pay $24 a year for the upgraded version of Picnik. I’m just getting started playing with my photos.

    I’m open to any suggestions and love to look at other photographers work. Thanks for the link. I’d like to look into Photoshop and a few others to decide if I want to purchase a software package other than Picnik.

     
  7. Booksphotographsandartwork

    January 4, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I love the font that you used on the pine photo.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 4, 2011 at 6:53 pm

      The font was one that is part of the upgrade on Picnik included in the $24.00 per year subscription. They had a lot of fun fonts to choose from on the site. Thanks for stopping by. I was just over checking out a few of your pictures on your site.

       
  8. pearlsandprose

    January 5, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I used Picnik for a long time as it’s free on Flickr, but now I’m using Photoshop Elements and Photoshop. Google’s Picasa is another good, free photo editing program. The possibilities are truly endless and lots of fun.

     
  9. flyinggma

    January 5, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Thanks for the other sites and software available. When I get my computer tomorrow I am going to start looking into a program for on my laptop. It is so much fun to see what you can do with pictures. I’m old school where I had to take my film in and wait for it to be developed and hoped that at least some of the pictures turned out. Digital cameras are so awesome.

     

Leave a Reply

 
