RSS

New Shoes: Will I be able to run faster, Jump higher, Leap tall buildings in a single bound…We’ll see…

03 Jan

When I was growing up it was the common thought among the elementary students that if you got a new pair of shoes that somehow your athletic abilities would automatically, instantly, be improved the moment you placed those new shoes upon your feet.  In my case I could use all the help I could get in the athletic ability department.  I was picked last when it came to softball each Friday afternoon in sixth grade because I could not hit the ball nor could I catch the ball.  Throwing the ball where I wanted it to go never went well either.

This weekend is  new shoes kind of weekend for me.  I ordered myself a new laptop computer from Dell.  For the past year as I’ve typed  my blog on an old computer in the basement that died last month or on my daughter’s laptop early in the morning before she needs it for college or late at night after she has already gone to bed. 

I’ve watched the ads for computers for something reasonable in a laptop for myself.  My husband has encouraged me to buy one  for a while but with Christmas coming I didn’t want to spend the money on a computer when we might need it for something else.  Good thing I didn’t buy it back then because our furnace quit and we needed the money to repair or replace it at the time.

We went to Best Buy this past weekend to buy the computer I had selected.  They were out of stock.  My husband said for me to buy the next model up from the one I was looking at.  It was $200 more and I didn’t want to spend that much especially when the model I selected will do everything I need it to do for me.  When we got home I checked Best Buy’s on-line site.  My computer was unavailable there as well.  Next, I went on the Dell computer website and found and ordered my computer.  I’m so excited.  My new laptop will be delivered on Thursday of this week.

Will I be able to jump tall buildings in a single bound after I get my new computer?  Probably not since I couldn’t do it before.  Will I be able to write better blogs with my new computer?  Probably not but I will enjoy having my very own computer so I can sit with my barefoot toes up in the air as I sit in the recliner in the livingroom with my cup of coffee close at hand, typing my blog on my first-ever new computer.  You see , when I went to college it was before computers were used in every aspect of  a college education,  I used an electric typewriter with carbon paper to type my papers,  I’m just that old…

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “New Shoes: Will I be able to run faster, Jump higher, Leap tall buildings in a single bound…We’ll see…

  1. writerwoman61

    January 3, 2011 at 10:26 am

    I feel your pain, Jeanne…I was picked last for softball too!

    Have fun with your new computer! I don’t know if my kids even know what carbon paper is…

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      January 3, 2011 at 10:45 am

      I doubt that my kids know what carbon paper is or what it was used for. I hated Friday afternoon softball in elementary school. The same humiliation week after week all spring long.

       
  2. Linda Anderson

    January 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

    When I tell someone I used a typewriter in my first job, manual, not electric, and that I had to use the carriage return to change to the next line of typing, and that I used carbon paper, sometimes in multiples, I get this blank stare, this glazed-eye look, and I just smile and say, “I’m just old!” So, I had to laugh at your comments! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 3, 2011 at 10:47 am

      Thanks for your comments Linda. I was the only one in the house of 16 girls that had my own electric typewriter in college. It was my graduation gift from my parents. It wasn’t brand new but it worked very nicely for all 16 of us. I got to use it first of course. The rest had to sign up to use it and help buy new ribbons for it when it needed it.

       
  3. duke1959

    January 3, 2011 at 11:49 am

    New shoes never helped me because I had no ability to begin with.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 3, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      I know exactly what you are talking about. I didn’t get the athletic gene for sure. Thanks for stopping by!

       
  4. nrhatch

    January 3, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    How exciting!

    I am old enough to recall carbon paper and white out. Ugh.

    When I got a typewriter with a built in correction ribbon . . . and MEMORY (!!!) so I could just press back space to erase a mistake. Heaven.

    When I could copy a “perfect” paper on a copy machine, rather than keeping a smeared carbon copy . . . WOW!

    Enjoy your new technological advance!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 3, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      When I worked for a real estate company in college I hated typing up purchase agreements with carbon paper…the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of section…. and so on and so forth…It was a job, but not my favorite.

      My next least favorite job was transcribing oral history tapes for the MN Historical Society all summer long and then typing them up with carbon paper between copies. The oral histories were interesting, the typing not so much.

       
  5. Patricia

    January 3, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I,too,remember typewriters and carbon paper. I also remember having to count change back to a customer because the cash register did not tell me how much change to give!

     
    • flyinggma

      January 3, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      I used to cashier at several different places over the years. I love it when you give a cashier $20.15 for a $5.15 bill and they hand the .15 back and tell you they don’t need it and I hand it back to them and say that’s why I gave it to you in the first place. I just want bills back no change. The puzzled looks they give me are priceless.

       
  6. Thomas Stazyk

    January 3, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Enjoy the new computer! You hit on a really important point–older technologies like manual typewrites were designed to do one thing–type. These new technologies and I’m including phones, cameras, computers and televisions, are designed to do so much more than the reason we buy them. And for what we pay they better help us jump higher and run faster! Fun post.

     
    • flyinggma

      January 3, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      Thanks Thomas. I still don’t know all the different things my cell phone can do and my daughters tease me about my phone being “old school”. It works for everything I need it to do.

      I would love to give them each a typewriter and tell them they have to use it to type just one paper.

       

Leave a Reply

 
