RSS

Dear Ann Landers, If I were a guest I’d be better behaved!

29 Dec

Dear Ann Landers,

If I were a guest I’d be better behaved.  This past week I had a guest arrive at my home unannounced.  My Momma always told me to call ahead so that your hostess would be able to prepare for your arrival.  My guest did not.  I don’t even know when he arrived.  Perhaps even in the early morning hours while we were sleeping.  I knew that he was here because I saw signs of his arrival.

When I went to the pantry he had been there and chewed through the corner of the chocolate chip bag that I intended to make cookies for my children.  Really if he had only asked for some chips I would have given them for sure.  I’m big on hospitality. 

Last evening I put some peanut butter out for him to dine on if he desired.  He did ,but he left such a mess on my kitchen counters that I feel it necessary to sanitize it before it can be used again.  Really, is that how a guest is to behave?  My Momma told me to always clean up after yourself when you were visiting.  It’s only polite not to make your hostess work more because you are there.

 Last evening while we were sleeping he kept such late hours as to keep the house awake with his chewing.  He must have known that I was displeased for each time I climbed from my bed to tell him to leave he quieted down but only long enough for me to crawl back into my bed.  It wouldn’t have been too bad but I think he invited some friends over as well for the amount of peanut butter he ate was surely more than one could consume.  My Momma would be appalled if I invited my friends over to another’s home without asking.

Just one more thing.  I find it particularly rude that my guest investigates every corner of my home.  There are places that I wouldn’t even show my Momma that he has been!  Momma said that you should only go to the places in another’s home to which you have been invited and by no means should you investigate another’s bathroom drawers or medicine cabinet.  That’s just plain rude.  Maybe he didn’t have as good of Momma as I do but really some things just make perfect sense. 

My Momma says that if you don’t have the answer no one does.  I would be eternally grateful for your suggestions for the removal of my unwanted guest.  It’s time for him to leave but I don’t want to be rude. 

Sincerely,

FlyingGma

 
16 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2010 in Humor, Life Happens, New Challenges

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Dear Ann Landers, If I were a guest I’d be better behaved!

  1. Linda Anderson

    December 29, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Reminds me of a poem I wrote once after such a time as you have had!

    They ate my house, my chair, my bed;
    they ate the hat right off my head;

    They ate my shoes, my socks, my shirt,
    and left me with a pile of dirt!

    Someday I’ll have a better place,
    you’ll see a smile upon my face.

    I’ll have new shoes and a brand new hat;
    and a new mouse-catching
    son-of-a-cat!

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 29, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Love this poem. Thank you for sharing Linda. You have such a gift.

     
  3. Carol Ann Hoel

    December 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Ha! I love the poem, too. It’s been so many years since I’ve had a mouse problem that I don’r remember for sure how we got rid of them. I know we tried traps first, but you’ve already done that. I think there is such a thing as rodent poison, but I’ve always been a little afraid of it. I had a landlord at the time we had the mice, and I think he solved it with poison, but I don’t know how to do it. You have my sympathy. Blessings to you…

     
  4. flyinggma

    December 29, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I thought that we had the problem licked last year because we did some more insulating in the basement. We must have missed a spot. Time to start searching again. I used to blame the problem on the kids leaving a door open in the basement but that hasn’t happened a long time.

     
  5. planejaner

    December 29, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    we recently had rats. Under our house.
    It was the ickness…and now they are gone.
    Raptured, my husband tells me.
    Whatever.
    🙂
    blessings
    jane

     
  6. flyinggma

    December 29, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Rats??? You have my sympathy for sure. I had a friend who was greeted by a possum in a milk replacer bag one morning when she went out to the barn. Ugly looking things…I’d like to know how to get my mice raptured soon. Jeanne

     
  7. Shady

    December 29, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    LOL – Love the “Letter to Ann Landers”! 🙂 I feel your pain towards your inconsiderate “guest”!! I have 1 of my own every now and then (field mice) that will sneak in throught the airducts that run under the house…at least until the “guest” comes face-to-face with one of the “gaurdcats” who are overjoyed to have such a visitor in their midst!! 🙂 Keeping them (mice) out of the garage is the worst since they think I have a “mousy-door” instead of a “doggie-door” in there! LOL.
    Traps baited with peanut butter (in the garage) are what I use too – sometimes it takes a day or two, but the trap usually wins. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      December 30, 2010 at 2:24 am

      Glad you enjoyed the letter. I was thinking about you and your Christmas tree and decorations after I found I had mice in the house. No guardcats here. My dear Frankie is no longer with us. He was named for his beautiful blue eyes after Frank Sinatra. I plan on setting the traps again tonight hopefully I will get at least one mouse.

       
  8. Todd Pack

    December 29, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    I don’t know which is worse: Having a mouse crawling through the pantry or dealing with a used mouse trap like the one in the picture. You have my sympathy!

     
  9. flyinggma

    December 30, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Every time I think of mice in the pantry I think of Anne of Green Gables . At one point in the story a mouse ends up in some pudding ( I think) because Anne forgot to put the lid on it and the pudding is being served to guests.

     
  10. sunshineinlondon

    December 30, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    If only mice could read, then your guest could read this post and know that he or she is not welcome in your home… I hope he takes the hint soon enough.
    Sunshine xx

     
  11. flyinggma

    December 30, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Today when I was driving to the upholstery shop my daughter sent me a picture of a mouse that she caught at lunchtime. So one mouse is gone for sure. Jeanne

     
  12. writerwoman61

    December 30, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I feel your pain, Jeanne…we have voles in our house…they are particularly fond of chewing into bags of brown sugar…

    Fun way to do your post!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      December 30, 2010 at 10:26 pm

      The mice chewed into and ate some almonds I had in the pantry. I’m not sure I would know what to do with a vole. Do you trap them like mice?

      Since the conventional traps didn’t work well I bought some sticky traps that I absolutely hate to use but I just can’t stand the thought of mice in my house. Tonight I am doing battle and plan on using both kinds.

      I was inspired by your post using the Jeopardy theme when I started on this post. I thought it was the best post ever!

       
  13. Thomas Stazyk

    December 31, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Having had a few unwanted visitors recently I sympathize! Was it just the one or are there others still around?

     
  14. flyinggma

    December 31, 2010 at 7:55 am

    I can imagine after being gone for a month that some unwelcome guests may have moved in during your absence.

    This morning I woke to the second mouse caught. Yeah! I’m on a mission here to rid the house of the pesty rodentia. I’m usually pretty good about sharing but I do have my standards.

     

Leave a Reply

 
