RSS

Work of His Hands

26 Dec

In my recent post on December 17, 2010 “No Assembly Required”  I shared the fact that my Dad and Mom over the years have made homemade gifts for Christmas.  Each gift has been truly a labor of love.  This year’s gift to my grandson was no different.

One of my favorite memories I have heard told by my husband was as a child how his Dad would help him wash his hands for dinner.  His Dad was not a hug and kiss type of guy but for my husband his Dad’s hands soaping up his little hands and rinsing them under the water when he was a child was a form of a hug for him, something he will always remember fondly as an act of love for a child from his father.

This is picture of Jack checking out his gift on his Great Grandpa’s lap.

(This is the whole gang gathered at my brother-in-laws on Christmas Eve.  The whole family made the trip with my nephew traveling from San Diego and my niece from Chicago.  We have one extra in the picture, Kevin.  He is my niece Kelsey’s boyfriend.  My mother-in-law’s cousin Marlys took this wonderful picture.  She is a regular guest at our Christmas Eve gathering.

Front Row: Anna, Julia, Olivia, Christy holding Jack

Second Row: Kevin, Grandpa, Grandpa, Matt, Curt

Third Row: Cody, Tirzah, Ryan, Emily, Janna, Hayley, Big Jack, Tim

Back Row: Mike, Mary Jo, Kelsey, Aaron, Laura, Jeanne, Dean, Deb, Dan 

My family’s names are in bold print. 

I wish that I had a picture for my side of the family like this picture.  We were only missing my brother-in-law who was out driving truck on Christmas.  Otherwise we would have been 27 in all.

 Family is truly the work of His Hands (Ephesians 2:10) this Christmas season.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2010 in Family, Holidays, Reflections

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Work of His Hands

  1. duke1959

    December 26, 2010 at 10:48 am

    What great times to cherish.

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 26, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Thanks for stopping by today. I hope that you are finding times to cherish as well with your family and friends this Christmas season.

     
  3. Carol Ann Hoel

    December 26, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    What a beautiful gathering of family! And how nice to have the photo to look back on. Blessings to you…

     
  4. flyinggma

    December 26, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Thanks Carol! I wish I had a picture of my side of the family. It’s not often we get just about everyone together at one time.

     
  5. writerwoman61

    December 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Love the bulldozer! Beautiful shot of the family…it’s hard to get that many people in a good shot! Looks like you’re having a wonderful time!

    Wendy

     
  6. flyinggma

    December 26, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    We had a great time on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. It’s been great to be home today and the shop is closed tomorrow as well. Hope you are having a wonderful Christmas with friends and family too!

    The kids least favorite time of the whole Christmas get together is trying to get the annual photo done. This year went better than most.

     
  7. Joe Clark

    December 27, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    All of y’all (y’all being Southern-speak for an important word in the South, “you all”) look great. What a very fine family indeed!

     
    • flyinggma

      December 27, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      It was a fun gathering with way too much food. If we eat that much daily for the next year we will need more room for our picture. Jeanne 🙂

       
  8. sunshineinlondon

    December 28, 2010 at 6:18 am

    How special, Jeanne, thanks so much for sharing this gorgeous account of your family Christmas! And what a wonderful gathering.
    The photo of your Dad and grandson is just priceless – what a wonderful gift. In so many ways.
    Blessings to you all
    Sunshine xx

     
  9. flyinggma

    December 28, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Thanks Sunshine. It was a wonderful Christmas. I was truly surprised that Dad had made the bulldozer. He kept his project a secret. Usually you have some idea what he is up to but not this year. Hope your Christmas in London was special this year. I can’t wait to hear how you celebrated it. Blessings, Jeanne

     

Leave a Reply

 
