RSS

Dressed For Christmas

25 Dec

This afternoon when we arrived at my brother’s home for Christmas the first thing I saw as we walked through the gate into his backyard was this Crab Apple tree.  It looked like someone had hung red bulbs all over it for Christmas.  I was distracted and kept looking out the window at the tree wanting to take out my camera and get some pictures of the tree before it got dark.

I ended up going back into the house to get a step stool to stand on to get a few pictures from the angle I wanted.

After our Christmas celebration we drove back home and I sat down to write this post.  In view from my computer was our Christmas tree and I couldn’t help but contrast it with the Crab Apple tree and how naked it looked with all the presents absent from under the tree.  I prefer the dressed trees for Christmas both inside and out.

Merry Christmas to All

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2010 in Holidays, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Dressed For Christmas

  1. Carol Ann Hoel

    December 26, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Dressed for Christmas, indeed! Beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you…

     
    • flyinggma

      December 26, 2010 at 1:09 am

      The tree had me as a captive audience this afternoon. It was more beautiful than any decorated Christmas tree I have seen this season. I love how God displays his creation all around us on a daily basis in all seasons.

       
  2. writerwoman61

    December 26, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Beautiful photos…we have a crabapple tree too, but all the apples fell off a long time ago…

    Sounds like you’re having a lovely Christmas!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      December 26, 2010 at 9:49 am

      We have had crabapple trees before but none that held their fruit all winter. My brother said that in the spring the robins descend on this tree and usually in a day’s time clear it of its fruit. I plan on doing some research about this type of tree for our yard.

      We are having a wonderful Christmas. I’m enjoying spending time away from work with my kids. All four have all been home since Thursday.

       

Leave a Reply

 
